We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Graythwaite Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Graythwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We took over both the guest house and the cottage for my parents golden wedding anniversary celebration (3 people stayed in a campsite nearby) There were 22 of us ranging from 70 years old down to 1 year old and we found it perfect for everyone. The rooms are all absolutely beautiful, as is the rest of the house and the guest cottage. The children loved running around the beautiful grounds and watching the ducks in the stream.
Amanda was incredibly helpful throughout, from planning the weekend with us, to executing the plans precisely, nothing was too much trouble.
We were greeted to a lovely welcoming fire in the stunning lounge when we arrived, the fireplace is amazing. The lounge is a very relaxing beautiful area to enjoy a nice cold beer or a bottle of prosecco which are all reasonably priced. We went to a pub nearby for a meal on the Friday night. On the Saturday we went for a lovely walk, visited Beatrix Potters house, and spent a few hours in Bowness. The anniversary meal on the Saturday evening was beautiful, Amanda had recommended the menu and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. We spent the rest of the evening/early morning dancing the night away in the lounge.
I can't stress enough how fabulous this place is, especially for an event where you can fill all the rooms and therefore have the place to yourself. My parents enjoyed a very special weekend with all their family around them.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melaniejanejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
74
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed two nights in the Grizedale bedroom. The room is a good size as is the very pleasant bathroom. Both rooms have window seats that look onto the garden. The garden with the wonderful topiary is very pleasant with plenty of seats. The house is very interesting and comfortable, especially the lounge. Attention to detail is good and Amanda and David are very welcoming. Breakfast is fine and the dining room looks out onto the garden. Dinner was unfortunately not available during our stay, but some other guests told us they had a very good meal. You can walk to the lake from the house and also to Sawrey ( we did get slightly lost but that was our fault ). Location is very peaceful, but obviously you need to drive to get to a pub. We did not visit the pool which is in the adjacent Graythwaite estate. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We took a group of work colleagues up to the Lake District for a team bonding weekend and after reading various reviews and having had personal recommendations we decided to stay at Low Graythwaite Hall and took over the entire Hall for two nights.

We were certainly not disappointed; Amanda, David and Samantha could not of done any more for us. On arrival Amanda greeted us with jugs of Pimms in the grounds which are just idealic and a perfect setting for a summers evening.

The hospitality was second to none and nothing was too much trouble; with Amanda always on hand to suggest things to do and places to go.

We dined at the Hall on both evenings, enjoyed breakfast and even had a spontaneous afternoon tea; the food was absolutely superb.

Each bedroom ouses class and the detail and care that has gone into making each room individual shone through.

I cannot recommend this venue enough and I will definitely be making a trip back in the not so distant future.

Charlotte

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We planned a family get together for three generations of the family and took all the rooms at Low Graythwaite. We were treated to a rare experience of comfort and hospitality. The meals were of a standard seldom experienced outside the 'poshest' restaurants and delivered with an informality that fit the occasion but in such elegant surroundings and with a style that could satisfy the most demanding gathering.
Amanda was the perfect hostess and created an easy atmosphere that delighted and included everyone from the youngest toddler to the oldest Grandpa. I feel that we were very fortunate to find such a wonderful venue for our celebration, and look forward to making a return visit soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancasterFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Antrim, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

With three generations of one family, ranging from Granny to a toddler, the Hall offered everything we ever imagined a true family holiday could be. 5 beautifully appointed bedrooms, spacious dining and living rooms and such an informal ambiance for us all to catch up and have some fun. The food was excellent. Amanda treated us each night to her wonderful home cooking. Good, wholesome, locally produced food which the kids (and parents) really appreciated. Afternoon tea on the lawn was the highlight of our return to the Hall each day. 15 minutes of relaxing time for the adults while the 6 children played hide & seek through the garden. It sounds idyllic and it was idyllic! We would all love to return and experience the warmth and hospitality Amanda & David offered throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Each room is different but all are furnished and appointed to a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K8M_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We took over the house for my daughters wedding at Cartmel Priory, and had our 'Drinks Reception' in the beautiful garden. Amanda ensured we had a carefree and memorable weekend, a delicious meal on the Friday evening and fantastic canapés on Saturday afternoon. We would certainly recommend this as a wedding venue, or a wonderful retreat for a quiet weekend. Amanda and her husband are the perfect hosts.
Neil and Jenny Ferrier

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

An absolutely beautiful hotel in every way! Gorgeous, well kept property and grounds. Host, Amanda, could not have been more accommodating and helpful, recommending places to go, things to do and see and phoning restaurants to make us last min bookings. Gorgeous home cooked breakfast too. We will absolutely be back, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book early for best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eppie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graythwaite
2.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
2.4 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
5.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Graythwaite Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Graythwaite Hall

Property: Low Graythwaite Hall
Address: Low Graythwaite | Nr Hawkshead, Graythwaite LA12 8AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Graythwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Graythwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Graythwaite Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 15th century hall, set in its own grounds, in the centre of the lake district near Hawkshead. Also self catering holiday cottage available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Low Graythwaite Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Graythwaite Hall Hotel Graythwaite
Low Graythwaite Hall Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing