We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Low Graythwaite Hall Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Graythwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The B&B is in a lovely old hall in stunning grounds. The room was immaculately furnished with a luxurious feel to it. Our room overlooked the lawns at the front of the hall and was very peaceful. Great breakfast! Only downside is that all pubs/restaurants are a short drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_Sea_And_Ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The hall has been tastefully redecorated and our room had great window seats and plenty of room. Owner Amanda really friendly and breakfast good with lots of fresh fruit as well as traditional breakfast. The pool is located a short drive away and you need your own towels. There is a small changing area but no hair dryer. Would visit again as the facilities and friendliness of the hall are great.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank TortgirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for a long weekend. Amanda was most welcoming, and although we had the smallest room in the house, it was incredibly clean, very cosy and had a lovely bathroom. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and just what we needed before a long day of walking. The house is very conveniently located for all the local attractions and walks. Although we didn't eat here in the evening, the dinners that Amanda was making smelt delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chlfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I have just spent two nights at the B&B and it is a lovely place to stay. The building is full of character, especially the lounge which is cosy with a big log fire. Amanda was very friendly, welcoming and helpful and the B&B was clean and the room comfortable.

We didn't want to travel to restaurants on this stay and so decided to eat at the B&B and the food on both nights was delicious. It was relaxing to do a big walk and then just stay in the B&B. There is a nice wine list and several different local bottled beers available. The cooked breakfast was also great.

Overall, this is the perfect place for a break in beautiful surroundings. We have stayed in many places that are of similar price (or more) but of a far lower standard than Low Graythwaite Hall and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Who else would think to provide a portable doggy bowl for our walk in the Langdales? Only Amanda! That sums up the experience at Low Graythwaite Hall where David and Amanda run what must be one of the best places to stay in the Lakes. Nothing is too much trouble, great food and lovely rooms with incredibly comfy beds. This was our third visit and we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was looking for a peaceful & luxery b&b for my stay. I was not disappointed. The breakfast was amazing and they have the comfiest beds I have ever slept in. Everything was just as I wanted. Amanda the owner was lovely and helpful. I would definatly stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Maximus165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We returned yesterday from a family get together to celebrate my Mum's 70th birthday. The property easily accommodated 6 adults and 3 kids, with a perfect annex to the main part of the house which incorporated a large bedroom and smaller one next door for our 2 year old daughter (helped keep the early morning noise down for the rest of the family!).

The whole house is beautifully decorated and fittings etc are very high standard. Amanda is a fabulous host and catered for all of our needs, including making separate meals for the kids etc.

A great location close to lots of lakes, walks and tourist attractions.

The best thing for me was sitting in the main lounge with its enormous hearth and fireplace, sipping fizz and basking in the considerable warmth from the open fire. Doesn't get much better than that for me!

We will return again...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattandZara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Low Graythwaite Hall Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Graythwaite Hall Country House

Address: Low Graythwaite | Nr Hawkshead, Graythwaite LA12 8AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Graythwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Graythwaite
Price Range: £90 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Graythwaite Hall Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 5,000 acres of Private Estate on Lake Windermere, and within close proximity of Hawkshead and Beatrix Potter's Home, Low Graythwaite Hall Country House offers free In-House Concierge Service, free WiFi access and free on-site parking. This magnificent 17th Century Country House offers a large Guest Lounge with feature open fire and a Breakfast Room with garden views. Individually decorated, each room features a modern en suite bathroom, Flat Screen TV, Toiletries and Hairdryer. In-House Concierge offers activities such as 4x4 Off Road Driving, Bike Hire, Kayak Hire, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Clay Pigeon Shooting, Archery, Guided Walks. Each morning, a traditional full Cumberland breakfast using locally farmed produce is served. For something lighter, a range of produce is available on the breakfast buffet. Vegetarians and guests with special dietary needs can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Low Graythwaite Hall Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Graythwaite Hall Hotel Graythwaite
Low Graythwaite Hall Country House Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing