We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm traditional family welcome”
Review of Hotel Castor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castor
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm traditional family welcome”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Having read the reviews I was apprehensive about what to expect and hadn't been to Italy for years when I didn't enjoy my previous experience.
Thankfully Hotel Castor is a great Italian family ski holiday experience.
Yes the hotel is looking a bit dated with woodwork everywhere but they are updating areas.
I had a single room which was well equipped internally with all you could need and the bonus of a balcony and a kettle!
Bed was comfortable, room warm with additional blankets if needed.
Everywhere within the hotel has a warm family feel about it from reception to the bar to the restaurant.
Breakfast is a generous buffet style with fresh cooked options available too.
Evening meal is the usual European 4 course deal with salad buffet to start.
The Tuesday night singalong is fab though crowd participation is encouraged and helps to make it!!
Overall the hotel could be described as quirky, but the owners and staff give a warm helpful friendly family welcome.
There was nothing that I could fault about the Hotel Castor.

Room Tip: Higher floors will give you a better outlook and not all rooms have balconies. Rooms above the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    59
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
50
41
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed 9 Nights
OVERVIEW
Family run -early century constrruction
Located next to the church in Champoluc
Free Bus service on the doorstep
Approximately a10 minute walk to the Champoluc gondola -can get busy -take walking boots rather than walking in ski boots
ROOM
Showing signs of wear on the floor woodwork/furniture
Temperature -OK
BED
Firm
BATHROOM
Pick n mix suite
Good supply of hot water
Bath/Shower
RESTAURANT
Breakfast -self service buffet -excellent range/choice -in addition waiter/waitress took orders for eggs/pancetta -it can get busy so allow time for service
Dinner -self service buffet -usually good selection/quality for first course-second/mains are chosen from a populated menu completed the previous evening for each table
Wine -Herman usually comes round and does the wine waiter role -seems he has quite a cellar
STAFF
Are the strong point -very courteous and welcoming -they work very hard -its pity some guests (usually English SE types) are perhaps not as respectful in reciprocation
CONCLUSION
Well located, comfortable Hotel-Recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKYLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely friendly place,rooms are nice and clean. Restaurant food is really good and service very efficient and friendly. Herman, the proprietor, runs a music night every Tuesday that can be lively. My 4th visit and hope it's not the last.
.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank abe1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel Castor. The overall atmosphere was friendly, homelike and laid-back. Family dogs Chocolate and Laika were enchanting. If you are looking for a trendy hotel, this mountain-style hotel is not the place. The rooms were practical, clean and had a comfortable temperature, which is not always guaranteed in the Alpine region. The music night on Tuesday, led by the owner Herman, offered a nice get-together and was clearly awaited by the villagers. Breakfast was abundant. The dinner not fine-dine, but good medium level. A special thanks to the local cheese selection available every night as well as the wide variety of wines.
The only thing I was really missing after a hard skiing day, was a sauna. I'm hoping to go back next skiing season.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our weekend ski trip in Champoluc. We were warmly welcomed in this family hotel which was excellent value for money. Excellent bar and lounge. Some might think it a little old fashioned in style but good atmosphere. Food was wholesome. Rooms simply appointed but clean and comfortable.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We just came back from five nights in Champoluc, where we stayed for ski vacation.
We were the first guests for the winter season, and had great fun.
The hotel is clean, and nice. We had three rooms on the third floor, two rooms clearly renovated, one possibly, though not sure. The double glazed windows are efficient in blocking the noise and in keeping the heat inside. Rooms were warm all the time.
Only problem I found was that Internet WiFi reception in the rooms at the ends of the was not that great, both in the middle on the ground was excellent.
Our 7 people party had great time at the castor hotel. Rooms were cleaned regularly, food was excellent except for one eve, that was OK. All the personnel did their best to gave us enjoy the vacation!!
The English owner and all the team, helped us as as they could. E.g. we arrived on the eve of the 6th and they helped us with anti freeze liquid for the gasoline! It is worth mentioning that the owner spent with us. At least 10 minutes out in the cold, at less than -10c ,trying to figure out how to add that oily antifreeze to the tank of the car.
If you go skiing, you can get a ride to the cable-car , we did not use it and preferred walking

To conclude, I strongly recommend this hotel for a good and relaxing vacation, and plan to go there again if in d'ayas. Valley
Hope you found this review helpful.T

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nice-advi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCastor, Proprietario at Hotel Castor, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you for your nice review about Hotel Castor, we're very pleased to know that you have appreciated our efforts to welcome our clients. I hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We didn't like much this hotel with narrow rooms, elevator where one man can hardly stand. Food ok but very simple choice. The rooms are very small and old. There are some new rooms as we discovered but you should have an Italian privilege to stay there as women who hosts the hotel doesn't smile at all only to her Italian fellows. Never recommend this hotel to spend a vacation may be 1 night during business trip..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enikolaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Champoluc hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Champoluc
Hotel de Champoluc
#13 of 17 in Champoluc
175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Genzianella
Hotel Genzianella
#7 of 17 in Champoluc
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
Le Charmant Petit Hotel
#4 of 17 in Champoluc
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#9 of 17 in Champoluc
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna Maria
Hotel Villa Anna Maria
#10 of 17 in Champoluc
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
#1 of 17 in Champoluc
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castor

Property: Hotel Castor
Address: Via Ramey 2, 11020 Champoluc, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Champoluc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Champoluc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castor 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Castor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing