We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Schwanen
Nearby Hotels
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Thurgauerhof(Weinfelden)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Falken Pub & Motel(Frauenfeld)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Blumenstein(Frauenfeld)
US$158
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gasthof Gyrenbad(Turbenthal)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Frauenfeld(Frauenfeld)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
US$241
US$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Domicil(Frauenfeld)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
19
21
2
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
21
2
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed here twice in November on business and we soon realised there are big differences in the standard of the room depending on which one you get.

We established that the best rooms are on the top floor - here you get a large double bed, very modern and newly renovated, lovely bathroom, flat screen TV.

On the lower floors there are single beds with a badly placed shelf which you will hit your head on very small and old fashioned.

To the right of reception there is a small staircase with a few rooms, these are somewhere in between the 'good' and the 'bad'.

The food however, if very good at the hotel (although perhaps a little pricey). If I were to stay in Wil again I'd choose this hotel but make sure I get a good room. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Request your room in advance
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sj272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Hotel Schwanen is probably the best you can get in WIl, because there is hardly any choice, but still I found it very dissapointing. The rooms feel like a time travel to the 70s: brownish carpet, brown furnitures, brown tiling with flowers in the bath room. Obviously no renovation has taken place then. I had booked a single room and also got a smallish single bed. The breakfast and restaurant area has been renovated and is actually quite nice. However the breakfast itself was again dissapointing. Tiny portions of cheese and sausage laying there, no fried eggs, or anything interesting. It felt as if you ended up in a small pension in East Germany where they count every roll you eat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poepinnaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I spent a night at the Hotel Schwanen in Wil in lieu of a business meeting nearby. The hotel is in the center of Wil, less than 10 minutes walk from the train station and on a pedestrian street. The hotel is typically Swiss and I mean this in the best way. Rooms are not large and not elaborate but that did nothing to lessen the charm of the hotel. The on-site restaurant was excellent and I enjoyed my late meal as well as breakfast. It is true that due to many churches nearby I enjoyed a symphony of bells from early morning but once again - not really a problem. If anyone happens upon Wil, I truly recommend the Schwanen.

Room Tip: Top floor (just watch your head)
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PharmaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We spent one night at this hotel - travelling from Germany to France. The staff were friendly. The hotel was in a great location right in the centre of town. Rooms were adequate but fine.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chambers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Booked by company. Good hotel. Better rooms. Good comfort. Next to train station, COOP and shopping arena. nice breakfast and also restaurant. I would prefer to stay here again. Internet WIfi is also included in the room rent which is good.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smehta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews