We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mauritius well kept secret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chamarel
Certificate of Excellence
Le Morne, Mauritius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mauritius well kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Spent the weekend in this absolutely beautiful and peaceful place . Great landscape good service
Lovely lodge with view on black river. Highly recommended place for those who want to chill out be away from all the noise.
Wonderful experience indeed.

Room Tip: Sea view lodge is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jovanna8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    97
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
63
490
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We spent a week at this hotel and, despite the relatively remote location, we were never bored in any way with the experience it offered. In fact, the remote location is a bonus because you are not crowded in by people and the lodges are impeccably landscaped to provide a completely private environment. The gardens in general are inexhaustible in the variety of vegetation and birdlife and the Head Gardener, the marvellous Jean-Jacques, will willingly take you round and explain the history of the property. Protection against mosquitoes is provided in the rooms and immediately outside, but even there, and in the grounds and restaurant, it is wise to use repellent. No hassle here, after all this is the tropics. The outside shower is a delight. The restaurant food is very good. Above all, the staff and management are impeccable in their service, with a special mention for Warren and Peggy, who are prepared to organise taxis, trips etc in the area, and who provide a happy atmosphere. Even the rain in February is quite spectacular. Overall, an excellent introduction to non-beach Mauritius.

Room Tip: The choice of room will depend on price but there are no disappointments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here in one of the rooms with a view onto Black River. Our room was beautiful with a lovely outdoor/indoor shower. We had a patio with a pool and views onto Black River that were stunning.

The restaurant was welcoming and delicious. The service was impeccable. The hotel common areas were lovely as well.

Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are located quite a distance from the main hotel and restaurant. You either need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have spent 6 days (mid-February 2013) at Lakaz Chamarel and absolutely loved it! We travel quite a bit all over the world and our stay at Lakaz Chamarel rates as our top vacation experience. We had the opportunity to stay in two of the individual suites (Kithnou and Piton Canot, which is their ultimate suite located on top of mountain overlooking the sea). The suites were very private within the greenery of Chamarel, had each had their private swimming pool. The decor is stunning and done with very good taste; very Mauritian and Zen style. Very romantic. Simple, yet sophiticated. The owner has designed and decorated each suite herself (in fact, she has designed and developed the entire Lakaz Chamarel concept and surroundings). Cleanliness was second to none. Service was excellent and consistently so. The food was excellent and well prepared/presented. The Chef came to say hello and inquire about our dining experince on several evenings (he stopped at every single table). The staff at Lakaz is very friendly and warm but not overbearingly so. We felt our privacy was well respected. The setting is just amazing: located in the hills of Chamarel, it is very quiet, peaceful, open-air, and Zen-like. The view of the sea (Piton Canot suite) and mountains is breathtaking. We would ( and most probably will) return to Lakaz Chamarel and have no hesitation whatsoever to recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing stay in a warm and friendly environment, within the green mountains of Chamarel. Zen style, romantic, simplicity and sophistication are good descriptors. Sincere thank you to Warren, Alexandre, Peggy and the entire staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellor111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We spent a weekend at Lakaz Chamarel. All in all, it is a little lodge in the middle of the greenery of Chamarel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The meals were very nice and the breakfast buffet was excellent.

The rooms are like little chalets with their own terrace and pool. It's a little trek to get to them but they have nice views of the verdant landscape and each one is very separate from the other so you don't actually feel like you have neighbours.

The room was very nice. Great big 4-poster bed and a fold out sofa bed for my daughter, we asked for a small mattress for our son and they both slept really well. There was a little bedtime quote in a carved wooden tube (frog) placed on our bed. There was also a personalised welcome note from management written in silver pen on a banana leaf - very nice.

Considering the price we were paying for the night, I was however a little disappointed by a few things. The toilet leaked each time we flushed it leaving a small pool of water at the base of the toilet. The outside shower didn’t drain properly so it was filled to the brim with soapy water which only drained over night. We used the shower again in the morning and did the same thing.

Both these issues should have been dealt with by maintenance before we entered the room and I feel that toilet and bath faults are some of the worst issues you can have while staying at a hotel. We mentioned it at dinner but obviously they couldn’t have both these faults fixed before the morning so we ended up with a leaking toilet & a non-draining shower for the entire time that we were there – not very “exclusive” and quite a let-down for such a short stay…

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rs08082014t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre A, Hotel & Marketing Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear valuable Guest,
Many thanks for your nice and detailed ambiance description of your stay at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge. We are all very happy to have been able to satisfy your expection in terms of wellness, services, decorated accommodation, fine authentic mauritian cuisine and friendliness of our Staff.
However, we are deeply sorry and wish to apologise for incovenience caused concerning toilet flush and shower drain that honestly never came to be known by none of evening Hotel Duty Manager and that would have been immediately easily fixed as there is a 24h Maintenance Manager on duty (living on the property) to prevent any kind of technical problem that could occur. Please would you be kind to help us preventing such unfortunate miscommunication by letting us know confidentialy who did you speak to at dinner time ?
Thanking you in advance for your help and wishing to see you come back to visit us again.
Kind regards,
Alexandre Avakumovic
Hotel & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We spontaneously went to see the place after a lunch at Le Chamarel (great food, affordable pricing, awesome view from the terrace) and fell in love instantly. The booking was smooth sailing, thanks Peggy.

The food was good (half board: breakfast and dinner), the kids loved the pool, the whole place may be a bit aged already, but everything is in mint condition, the service is impeccable.

Hiring a car at the resort was entirely hassle-free; we took a couple of trips down to Le Morne and into the national park. I liked this whole area of Mauritius far more than the northwest where we had stayed before coming here. The odd rain shower, but much more bearable temperatures, no need for AC all day long, great nature sound (birds). Especially the lower temperatures and the beautiful surrounding I consider a major plus compared to resorts right on the beach.

Even the village Chamarel is worth a visit (by foot), nothing spectacular there. But there's a playground, some food, a church, the rhumerie, nice people (as everywhere on the island).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We spent a week at the hotel. It is an amazing area with beatuiful rooms and nice atmosphere.

Anyway we were disappointed by it all together. The rooms are beautiful but cleaned very poor. The windows are dirty, the mosquito nets are dirty and the room service is mostly preparing the bed. Also we could not find out why the bed turn down service is only done on the first evening.

The service all in all is also poor. At the restaurant you can wait up to 30 minutes until you are asked what you would like to drink. The people are very friendly but do not offer the service that would be expected on the pricing. You have ants on most tables and also on the buffet!!!

Other guests told that if you have a room near the lake/pond you have to fight with frogs singing so loud you can't even close your eyes.

No missunderstanding. The hotel is nice, but the pricing ist way out of line for the service offered.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationinParadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre A, Hotel Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear valuable Guests,
Many thanks for have enjoyed the "amazing surrounding" and great area ambiance Lodge of Lakaz Chamarel 4* Exclusive, meanwhile we are deeply sorry that your couple of days stay didn't meet your personnal expectation while we cannot share your such negative description of our 4* Lodging service and wish to clarify below last days special circumstances.
Indeed, in our constant concern of your satisfaction and excellence in services provided, we deeply regret that you didn't express your room unstatisfaction as above mentionned during your stay to any of Management member even if some very unusual unconveniences had recently occured during early NYE days in Indian ocean with Tropical storm "Dumile" (first one in last 10 years) that brought strong winds and rains on the island and could have dirt your windows for a few days as well as logically disturb nature activity such as attract few tiny ants to sugar on your morning table and also perhaps (to honey or mango jam ?) on breakfast buffet that could have regretfully escape to our attention.
Concerning the Restaurant service, sorry to tell that it cannot really be possible that you have been left alone waiting quietly for 30 minutes without anyone of our "friendly" staff asking you for a drink when there is a waiter for an average of 5 tables and also always an F&B and Duty Manager caring in person for each guests at Bar or Restaurant. A little bit sorry that you do not mention delicious authentic cuisine of our popular Mauritian Chef Nicholas.
Concerning some frogs singing loud around natural pond, it's true that it happens sometimes (nature cannot be always dominate) some evening where stand around a unique Garden pool suite. Please consider from our experience that some Guests are not disturb at all (and find it even hypnotic for a good sleep) and some Guests do not like it. But please note that we always propose to move them to another suite located on the 12 acres property Lodge as soon as we are informed of unconvience caused.
Ending is on accommodation pricing that had bother you and that we find quite reasonnable (same rates for 2 years) and asking readers to chek them on our website to be compared with other 4* properties of the island.
Wishing that you shall come back one day and reconsider your opinion on our beautiful Ecological Lodge in the Nature.
Sincerely Yours,
Alexandre Avakumovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamarel
5.1 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,286 reviews
34.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
7.7 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
30.3 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
25.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge

Property: Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Address: Piton Canot, Chamarel, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Chamarel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chamarel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge is a small "boutique lodge"! Unique and refined in the heart of a splendid tropical garden of twelve hectares, surrounded by the mountains of Chamarel, Lakaz Chamarel is a pearl among the top hotels of the destination which guarantees exclusivity and serenity to nature and green tourism lovers in a warmth and harmonious decor, with a refined local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakaz Chamarel Hotel Chamarel
Lakaz Hotel Chamarel
Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing