We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have to stay somewhere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Punta Ponto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Punta Ponto
Ranked #2 of 4 Rio Lagartos B&B and Inns
Antwerp
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You have to stay somewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The owner and his team are very welcoming and friendly. But the place needs a lot of love too. In the pitures of this place you can not see the broken floortiles, the riped shower curtain, the over sized fridge, the old paint, which all might need some touch ups. The place needs a make over to fit the colorful people.
Rio Lagartos is a very quiet village, but that is the charm of it. Life just goes by here, no need to rush, just sit on your balcony, watch the boats, the pelicans, the people, and do nothing but enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    23
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
31
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Diego Nunez, our tour guide for our bird watching boat trip for photographers recommended this small hotel. It was a good recommendation, a great location away from the busy part of the shoreline and the closest to the Mangrove park. My husband and I stayed two nights. Our room was very large for just the two double, firm mattress beds. Simple and clean. It has air conditioning and a mini fridge, hotel size soap and shampoo. The room had a nice size bottle of water when we arrived and a new bottle the next day. Breakfast was served each morning. It was great as we left for our boat trip at 6am and was able to have something to eat before we the trip. The staff was very nice. We had a room with a large patio in front. See the photo of the deck overlooking the street. These are simple, clean lodgings. See the other photos too. If this info is helpful, please mark it/like it as such. I hop to go back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nancy-Strahinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This little hotel is a gem and a hidden treasure in the middle of nowhere. The room was huge, but simple. White washed walls, a telly, a fridge, two big beds and two bedside tables. Our room was overlooking the lagoon and we enjoyed the most beautiful sunrise from the balkony. The owner was extremely friendly and he organised a most memorable boat trip out to see the flamingos. Foodwise it was a bit tricky. There was no food in the hotel and all but one of the hotels in the town were closed. My husband had the last fish in town and i went on a 12 hour diet. The breakfast was fruit and a piece of toast.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the lagoon. Any of the other rooms will do too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobweblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Proprietor very friendly and helpful. Had a room overlooking the sea, large and very clean, the American breakfast was great. Why more people don't visit this area, it has so much more than the Cancun/Tulum coast has to offer unless you just want to be in a hotel which could be anywhere else in the World. Excellent place to walk,fish,bird watch and visit the nearby villages, also the salt works.

Room Tip: The ones overlooking the sea if possible, lovely breeze and don't need air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jvmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Large, comfortable, spotless rooms with air conditioning and television.
Enjoy the beautiful view of the lagoon while relaxing.
Roger and his staff went out of their way to make my stay unforgettable.
When I return to Rio Lagartos, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capicons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had booked by phone and a muchacho met us at the bus stop to guide us to the hotel, even though it was just up the end of the road and turn right! The host, Senor Roger, was a welcoming and relaxed man. As very light sleepers we had one small issue with aircon noise and he readily went around other rooms to find us a very quiet one, excellent!. Great view from the balcony as we ate breakfast (with binoculars). I would definately stay here again for the standard, cleanliness and value. A tip for birders, further along the road to the right (towards chel-ha bar) is a great place to watch roosting birds come in for the night.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Three of us rented a room for two nights in November. We checked rates and this was the best and we got a continental breakfast. We were birding and got breakfast at 6am. Very helpful staff, clean rooms, air conditioned and we bargained for a reduced rate because of the second night. Highly recommend this place. We had a veranda overlooking the water too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpaulanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio Lagartos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa de Pescadores
Hotel Villa de Pescadores
#1 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Perico Marinero
El Perico Marinero
#2 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tabasco Rio
Hotel Tabasco Rio
#3 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercy Inns
Mercy Inns
#1 of 4 in Rio Lagartos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Ponto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Ponto

Property: Hotel Punta Ponto
Address: Ave Malecon No. 140, Rio Lagartos 97720-98, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Rio Lagartos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rio Lagartos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Ponto, waterfront view, a/c, 2 double beds in each room, parking area, clean and private bathroom, continental breakfast. We are located in the biophera reserve Ria Lagartos. 2-1/2 hours from Cancun, airport. 2 hours from Merida, Yucatan Airport. Flamingos, flyfish, ecotours available in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Punta Ponto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Punta Ponto Rio Lagartos, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing