We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place - owner is the business”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Punta Ponto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Punta Ponto
Ranked #3 of 5 Rio Lagartos B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Place - owner is the business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this place and there was a small problem with our pre booked room, the owner immediately upgraded us, he couldn't have been more accommodating with all our wee requests, breakfast times, arranging onward travel, tours etc. Would go back. The early morning tour to mangrove well worth it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    23
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
32
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

If you are looking to get away from noise, filth, and commercialism, the Punta Ponto Hotel in Rio Lagartos is the place to go. The rooms are large and very clean. Roger, Sylvia, and everyone there will do whatever is necessary to satisfy your needs. I have been there three consecutive years, and I will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capicons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Took us 10 minutes to find anyone to check us in although when we did find the lady owner she was nice enough. The room was pretty run down, the water pressure nothing more than a trickle (I've never struggled to clean my teeth in a hotel before - and I've stayed in some pretty bad ones) and the bed was very uncomfortable. The location is ok as it is right on the waterfront although it's really at the wrong end of the malecón-everything else is the other end. Breakfast pretty poor. We've stayed in several other hotels in Mexico the same price which have been excellent so this seemed pretty poor value. Overall, if it's all there is and you're only staying 1 or 2 nights it's bearable but I'd try elsewhere first.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lingheadcrumple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Wanted a quiet, peaceful vacation out of the gringo trail but with sufficient services such as good restaurants, hotels, doctor, sightseeing trips and nearby attractions. I hit a home-run when I choose the Punta Ponto in Rio Lagartos. Our host was Sr. Roger Alcócer, a very helpful, friendly and savvy local with enough English to communicate easily, the hotel has a computer and full internet connection (and Roger does know how to operate it), the rooms are ample and well lit, beds are comfy and a hammock is provided to hang inside your room, or out at several locations. The bathrooms are modern and there is plenty of hot water. Breakfast can be Mexican (coffee, milk or juice, wraps, ranchero eggs, sweet buns) or gringo (watery coffee, milk and cereal, toast, juice, boring eggs), but choose Mexican, you are in Mexico, so BE in Mexico. All amenities are walking distance, the lagoon is right across the traffic-less seaside boulevard, full of little docks and quaint fisher boats, and you can see the open Gulf through the barrier mangrove Islands that form the lagoon. There are two porches, one upstairs and another down in the front with comfortable chairs and tables, both have wonderful views. Roger makes you feel right at home and is most helpful. He accompanied us to the nearby restored Mayan city of Ek Balaam and later to the towns of Tizimín and Valladolid for shopping and sightseeing. This last town was having its annual fair with bullfights, rodeos, dances, fireworks and displays of local arts and crafts. Don't miss it! There were other tourists, mostly Europeans, but thankfully very few and even fewer Americans in town, none at the Punta Ponto; there were, however, well heeled Mexican tourists who chose the Punta Ponto because of all the reasons described above. But regardless of what we did and where we went, coming back to the Punta Ponto felt like coming home. We had a terrific time and will be returning, hope to see you there.

Room Tip: upstairs front rooms have the best view, back rooms are more quiet but there is little noise other t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed one night in Rio Lagartos, arriving with the direct bus from Merida. We were picked up at the bus station and could arrange a trip to the Flamingos for the next day.
The hotel is very clean, nice views on the Laguna, all restaurants are in walking distance (as Rio Lagartos is really small).
The manager Sr. Massa was extremely kind and helpful the next day when giving us advice what to visit in the surroundings and arranging transporattion. We went to las salinas Las Colaradas, had a stop at the beach and spend the afternoon in San Felipe, the picturesque fishing village nearbuy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjoernK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Good location, except the front upstairs room which is noisy due to traffic 4 meters away intermittantly throughout the weekday night. Roger is friendly for the evening shift, but hasn't taken the time to learn how to turn on the internet, so If you need to use it to make plans, make sure you can log on before the day person leaves.

No experience with breakfast as we left early to go see the birds.

Room Tip: Front top room has a good sunrise view, but is noisy due to weeknight traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJ629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

A typical seaside hotel in the old Mexico tradition. Clean, airy, with an internet link, TV, and AC .... almost modern, but thankfully not quite. Lots of basic charm, a host, Roger, who cared and a hot water system that was mysterious, but finally worked. A good full breakfast which we supplemented with pan dulce from the local bakery. Super location on the bay with outrageous sun rises. Rio Lagartos is a great 2 or 3 day stay. The park and its wildlife must be seen. Also take time to Visit San Felipe for lunch or dinner and the beach at Rio Colorades for swimming, shelling and the sea salt production. All in All, somewhere between a 9.0 and a 10.0. ENJOY

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio Lagartos hotels
0.1 mi away
El Perico Marinero
El Perico Marinero
#2 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa de Pescadores
Hotel Villa de Pescadores
#1 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tabasco Rio
Hotel Tabasco Rio
#3 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercy Inns
Mercy Inns
#1 of 5 in Rio Lagartos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yuum Ha Boutique Hotel
Yuum Ha Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Rio Lagartos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Ponto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Ponto

Property: Hotel Punta Ponto
Address: Ave Malecon No. 140, Rio Lagartos 97720-98, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Rio Lagartos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rio Lagartos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Ponto, waterfront view, a/c, 2 double beds in each room, parking area, clean and private bathroom, continental breakfast. We are located in the biophera reserve Ria Lagartos. 2-1/2 hours from Cancun, airport. 2 hours from Merida, Yucatan Airport. Flamingos, flyfish, ecotours available in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Punta Ponto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Punta Ponto Rio Lagartos, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing