We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, lovely welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa de Pescadores
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio Lagartos
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely welcome”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed at five different hotels in the Yucatan peninsula on a bird-watching trip in May / June 2014. This was the best hotel I stayed in - not necessarily because of the facilities but because of the location and the welcome from the manager and staff.
I stayed in the Pelican room which has a balcony overlooking the estuary. As I arrived I watched Brown Pelicans and Frigatebirds glide past me within metres. My view was of a beautiful blue sea, ringed by forest and beach.
After some of the other busier places around the Yucatan, Rio Lagartos is a lovely calm antidote, with a much more relaxed attitude to visitors and profit. It is worth a few days exploration to see the flamingos, spoonbills and other birdlife around.
The hotel, at this time of year, does not provide lunch or dinner although this is no problem as it sits in a block with a number of restaurants. The breakfast is generous and tasty - it was much appreciated after an early morning start to have the staff ready to make me a fresh breakfast at 11.00 am when I arrived back later than expected. Great service all round.
Wi-fi is fast and reliable and available throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an upstairs room with a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    89
    36
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
104
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This is a very affordable and good option for Rio Lagartos. We stayed here two nights and enjoyed ourselves. The owner is nice and accommodating. Breakfast was included in our price. Ask for recommendations for lunch. No problems with anything and the cleaning staff was friendly too!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stacybryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
315 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Nice place facing the estuary waters. Clean. Within walking distance to the 5 eateries in town.

Room was large with attached balcony.

Free parking available, though during hi-season, if all the rooms are booked, then some cars might have to park roadside.

Didn't mind staying longer due to the laid back atmosphere.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrJohnWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had top floor king room, with great balcony. Loved to sit out there in the morning and watch the sun come up and listen to the birds and the fishermen get ready to go out. It is not a fancy place- but comfortable- and I think it is one of the best options for the town. Room was immaculate- not sure how they can get those floors so clean given that it is near the sea- but they do. Owner and staff are friendly- some Spanish will help here. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Very convenient to book tours of flamingos by the way- everyone will take you. We stayed two nights - and are glad we didn't rush into and out of this charming little town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

First time for us in Rio Lagartos. Small hotel right on the water front with great views from the upper balconies. The owner brought up a hammock for us to use which made the balcony even better. Room was very clean, continental breakfast included in the am. The down side-used a credit card to book and paid the deposit in USD. On departure the "line was not working" so I was unable to pay with a credit card. I wanted then to pay in USD as I did with the deposit. The exchange rate that was offered was ridiculous. I finally paid in pesos. The woman at the desk said they often have trouble with the line not working. I noted the line worked just fine taking the deposit. So even though they say they take credit cards I recommend coming prepared to pay in cash with pesos. It seems to be a frequent problem. To get you into a business signs say credit cards accepted but when it is time to pay "the line" isn't working. Translation-the owner does not want to pay the transaction fee

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancunfriend069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
130 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed three nights here over the Easter weekend. The hotel and the town were full, however we had booked in advance and reserved one of the king-size bed rooms on the top floor.

The good: The room was spotlessly clean, and the view from the balcony was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable; the mattress was one of the nicest we have ever slept on. Our pre-booked online rate included continental breakfast, which consisted of fruit, toast, and coffee, which was an adequate start to the day. Internet was functional, although the signal was not very strong. Well functioning air-conditioning.

The not so good: Curtains work to block anyone from seeing in, but that is all they do. They are way too thin and light weight, and do nothing whatsoever to block any light, consequently we were awakened by the sun by 6.30am each day - not exactly great when on vacation and wanting to sleep in. Water flow in the shower was poor - the shower head could use a de-scaling. Doors are wooden and clunky, and hard to close without banging - meaning we could hear our neighbors closing their doors. Pillows were awful and lumpy. Bed had no night tables on either side.

I'd probably stay here again, although would check other options first.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice little hotel right by the laguna. The owners are very nice and helpful in arranging a flamingo tour with the local fishermen. Only the owners´ daughter(s) don´t seem very friendly or motivated. Maybe they are simply fed up with living in this remote place. They don´t speak English.
Rooms are functional and clean and have balconies overlooking the laguna. Make sure to have a look from the roof top.

We had booked with booking.com which incl. breakfast. This was not worth it though with a few slices of white toast and pre-packed jam. Nothing else.
Dinner was good with fresh fish and vegetables.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Lagartos
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tabasco Rio
Hotel Tabasco Rio
#3 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Perico Marinero
El Perico Marinero
#2 of 3 in Rio Lagartos
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Punta Ponto
Hotel Punta Ponto
#3 of 4 in Rio Lagartos
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercy Inns
Mercy Inns
#1 of 4 in Rio Lagartos
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada y Restaurante Macumba
Posada y Restaurante Macumba
#1 of 4 in Rio Lagartos
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa de las Lunas
La Casa de las Lunas
#1 of 1 in Chichen Itza
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa de Pescadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa de Pescadores

Property: Hotel Villa de Pescadores
Address: Calle 14 x Av. Malecon, Rio Lagartos, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Rio Lagartos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio Lagartos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa de Pescadores 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Villa de Pescadores Hotel all our rooms have the same services: furnished front balcony terrace overlooking the sea, private bathroom w/hot-cold water, air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, mosquito netting. Standard rooms have either 2 full size or 1 full + 1 individual beds. Superior rooms are on the top floor and have 1 king size bed.The hotel has a restaurant -for guests only- overlooking the sea, that serves outstanding "catch of the day" fish specialties, seafood & vegetarian dishes, and one of the best tasting coffee's you will find in Mexico. Upon request from our guests, the restaurant may open before dawn to provide coffee and coast to the early rising birding enthusiasts. Villa de Pescadores provides with no additional charge private parking and WiFi Internet access in the restaurant area. The hotel can arrange for its guests guided boat tours to visit the Ria Lagartos Biosphere Reserve, boat trips to enjoy the sunset from the Ria, guided bird watching excursions and sport fishing trips for fly or bottom fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa de Pescadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa De Pescadores Rio Lagartos, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing