We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel in middle of the nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Szent Orban Erdei Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kospallag
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A very good hotel in middle of the nature”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

With my wife we were here for two times and we do recommend it.
We spent our honeymoon here last year and 5 days in this year.

Internet: free wifi but not so fast.

Mobile coverage is very rarely because this is in middle of the hills.

Room are clean. Not all rooms has balcony. If you prefer balcony you must tell it when you book the hotel.
There are two types of rooms: wooden and normal brick. If you are a not good sleeper then choose the brick one because the wooden rooms are not very insulated. Wooden rooms are very romantic. Brick rooms are very quiet.
Best rooms are number 140-143.

What to do: you can book bicycles, there is chariot. And hiking in the hills...a lot. Most of the hiking tracks goes across of this hotel territory. Visit the city of Zebegeny. You can buy maps at the reception.
For the children the hotel has a small playground in the front garden.

Food: not expect fresh style food. They give you traditional Hungarian country side dishes. The foods made by wild animals like boar, deer, roe, etc. I liked it very much. Unfortunately the vegetarian menu is very poor so you must eat meat.
But for the dinner the quantity of the food is a lot.
Breakfast: all you can eat (open food/drink) from 8:00 AM till 10:00 AM.

Wellness: they a small wellness area inside the hotel. And there is an open air 25 meter pool outside with deckchairs and sun umbrellas.

Staff: they are so nice and helpful. But maybe not everybody speaks English so ask help the reception in such a case.

This hotel recommended for such persons whom like nature very much with a pinch of luxury.

Nota bene!!! Officially this hotel is a 4 stars one but maybe it is not the equivalent level what you experienced in a Western European 4 starts hotel.

If you do not like flies/mosquitoes do not be afraid. There are not many in the Hotel because there are a lot of swallows living in the roof. They fly around the hotel all the time (spring and summer time) and catch these insects. Also you can have nice birdsong in the daylight. Nighttime they are sleeping in their nest. You can check them above the windows and in the roof.

Summary: It is close to the nature.

Room Tip: Chose the brick rooms with balcony. Room 140-143 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    13
    23
    9
See reviews for
27
48
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice wooden building, good wellness facility.
The service was great, staff is helpful and kind.
We really liked the restaurant.
Beautiful surroundings, amazing wildlife in the forest. The train in the forest is unique!

Room Tip: Wooden building is romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gábor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stay there in 2012 October for 3 nights.
It's in a very beautiful forest, the hotel is amazing and beautiful, foods are very quality and tasty. Nice services, we loved the sauna and the pool, which is inside and its beautiful, and also the jakuzzi outside. Got some massage and mud mask for free. Good prices and good values. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuss, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for one night on September 13. The room in the block house is cosy enough but the bathroom is very small. The price was too high for what we got and worst of all was the evening meal (expensive, very badly prepared and no other choice nearby) The location in the woods is great but certainly does not justify the detour.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kospallag hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samorin, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Some minor things in the room are prepared for a change. The rooms under the roof in the wooden building are NOT equipedd with climatization. Stuff was very friendly and helpfull. The food was great with lot of wild meat to experience. The bikes are in a no good shape.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamás Ü
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is located in one of the most beautiful place of Hungary. Great possibility to walk in the forest, hike, take the small train in the forest, relax, etc.
A bit expensiv, the food is good.
Ideal for families, we also plan to go back with our son.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agiccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I'm writing my review based on the huge hype around this hotel and its 4 starts.

We stayed at this hotel on business one night and as we have heard some much good about it before we decided to pay for an extra night.
This was not such a good idea and I'm especially disappointed as we gave a stay at this hotel as a wedding anniversary previously - I hope the newly weds will be far too pre-occupied to notice the faux pas.

Good
Location: 20 minutes after you no longer have phone reception. In the middle of a forest, the trip here itself is an experience, ideal for a getaway. (less ideal for business)
The main wooden building has a great feeling to it, unlucky we got our rooms in the concrete wing. We peeked inside the rooms in the wooden part and they were cosy with nice looking furniture.
External pool allows some serious swimming, but we were not brave enough to try at the end of September.
The internal area of the wellness center was clean, offered various options for relaxation, I especially liked the calm room with its heated beds.
Breakfast: decent, especially freshly made omelet.
Service in the restaurant.

Not so good
The feeling of the concrete (they call it "stone") wing. It feels like an alien in this beautiful setup, especially after getting a glimpse on how else it could have been.
Service. Hotel personnel kept disturbing our training sessions by entering the room to freshen up our food supply. Only rating service average because of excellent restaurant staff.
The first room - double bed, normal size, nice balcony was fine, but the "apartment" we had for the second night lacked any kind of "cosy", the room was spacious and felt empty, three single beds, disturbingly harsh green walls.
Problem with hot water on the first night: well, firstly there was hardly any, secondly whatever was there was brown. Yuck.
Fire alarm went off many times during the day disturbing our training. However I'm not sure I would even remember this if it hadn't gone off during the night too. It gives me the chills to imagine the consequences of not taking the alarm seriously when we should have.
The little details, especially in the room like the slightly broken shower that was only disturbing to the eye, some worn-off pieces of furniture, the jacuzzi where the water was not hot enough and we had to hold the hose to fill it up.
The food. Simple, traditional Hungarian dishes were quite good, but once you are at a place like this you would wanna try something more exotic. Well, don't. They overcomplicate it. I had goose liver with dates sauce, spanish onions jam, mashed potatoes and salad - with garlic dressing. The sauce tastes good at first but is too sweet to enjoy after a few bites. Spanish onions jam is a great accomplice to goose liver - unless dates sauce overwhelms it. But how the garlic dressing got there remains a mistery. Foodies - beware, go for goulash soup, wild boar "porkolt", consume, those were decent.

All in all, for me this is not 4 starts and is definitely overpriced.

Room Tip: Definitely the wooden building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kospallag
8.8 mi away
Silvanus Hotel Visegrad
Silvanus Hotel Visegrad
#1 of 6 in Visegrad
620 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bellevue Hotel
Bellevue Hotel
#3 of 6 in Esztergom
101 reviews
10.0 mi away
Thermal Hotel Visegrad
Thermal Hotel Visegrad
#3 of 6 in Visegrad
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Royal Club Hotel
Royal Club Hotel
#4 of 6 in Visegrad
77 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Honti
Hotel Honti
#5 of 6 in Visegrad
29 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Panzio 100
Hotel Panzio 100
#2 of 6 in Szentendre
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Szent Orban Erdei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Szent Orban Erdei Hotel

Property: Szent Orban Erdei Hotel
Address: Nagyrtaspuszta, Kospallag 2625, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Pest County > Kospallag
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kospallag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Szent Orban Erdei Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Szent Orbán Erdei Hotel**** is in the middle of a natural preserve - a forest in the Börzsöny mountains. Our hotel offers an excellent location for rest and relaxation and an ideal place to organize effective outdoor trainings or seminars. Open all year, the hotel, only an hour from Budapest, is a paradise for nature lovers and hunters, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Szent Orban Erdei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing