We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW what a lovely surprise, lovely hidden gem.”
Review of Maison Gorey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maison Gorey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a lovely hidden gem. Just returned today from a short break here. Firstly, Martin and Stacy, what fantastic hosts, they made our stay very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. Nice professional guys with a fab sense of humour too, (which we have personally found is missed in some establishments), keep it up, you are both excellent in what you offer. Not really a negative on the hotel but some rooms a little tired and dated BUT are spotlessly clean and please note this hotel is in the middle of being refurbished, so please should you decide to stay here, bear this in mind like we did. The atmosphere here is lovely, there is no snobbery or awkwardness found at this hotel, just lovely friendly genuine people and some of the guests too were so friendly. The food is excellent and cost effective, from the breakfast to the evening Dinner and we feel would suit most guests that want well presented, very tasty English food. We ate here and sadly could not finish all of it, as the food was so very, very, filling and scrumptious (be warned). This hotel is well situated and close to the prom, where a 15 min gentle stroll takes you to Gorey Pier, worth a visit and the castle too, absolutely fantastic (not for those with walking difficulties, due to the many steps up to the castle). Bus service is excellent and cost effective @ £1.80 worth every penny. Visited the war tunnels well worth the time spent there, amazing. Would we stay here again?. Most definitely and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sammy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Thought this would be too far out of the way but how wrong we were, I would go back tomorrow, helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble, everything was done with a smile, loved it !!! Clean, comfortable accommodation, not to mention fantastic food, ok, it isn't five star but I can't understand why, we are just normal people, who feel we have just been treated like VIP's and to me, that's five star !!!

Room Tip: Which ever one you are given, I'm sure will be fine !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

i have recently returned from jersey after our daughters wedding .we stayed at the maison gorey for the week and was so impressed by the service and attention to detail by mine hosts martin and stacy.The rooms were clean and tidy though a little dated,martin and stacy only took over in november 2013, so updating is work in progress.Mine hosts treat people as individuals and not a number as you get in most hotels.They go over and above what is expected of them,nothing is too much trouble.I would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and i stayed at the hotel as part of a large wedding party. Even with the large quantity of demanding wedding guests the hotel staff were friendly and fantastically helpful. The hotel is comfortable and the food hit the spot. I would recommend them to anyone who wants a short break or a long stay in this beautiful area of the island. I want to thank Stacey for making our stay memorable. See you and the team soon i hope.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our family and friends almost booked out the entire hotel for a week for our daughters wedding last week, what can I say, the owners Martin and Stacy are the most incredible people I have ever come across in the hotel business. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble, they went over and above to ensure all the guests were happy and catered for. We were made to feel very special and like one of the family. The food was always freshly cooked and Martin was very happy to make alternatives for us if we didn't want a big meal, the breakfasts were amazing. The hotel is very close to a lovely beach and a short walk to some fabulous cafe's and restaurants in the harbour. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night in April for our anniversary. The staff are what takes the hotel to a level far above the modest prices, they are all genuine and welcoming. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The food was excellent with the service to match.
The owners have recently taken over and have plans and the capability to make this the best boutique hotels in jersey.
We will definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jerseyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited the Maison Goery Hotel at the start this month (May) and were very well pleased with our time there. Apparently the present owners only took over in November last year (2013) so are still settling in. The building could best be described as "tired" (it's a nineteenth century structure) however it was clean with fresh crisp bed linen and fresh towels regularly. Everything worked and the facilities were good. and staff very helpful. Then we come to the food! This was excellent and our plan to eat out for our evening meals was quickly scraped in favour of indulging in Martin's cuisine. A couple of our party had specific dietary requirements and there was never a problem adjusting the menu to suit their wishes. All in all this was a good place to stay and the only reason for four rather than five points is due to the lack of a lift. We would perhaps like to return in a year or two to see how Martin & Stacey have improved the building to match the service and friendliness they exhibited to us. GM

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
0.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St Helier
771 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Aubin
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 32 in St Helier
1,203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.0 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Gorey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Gorey Hotel

Address: Gorey Village Main Road, Gorey JE3 9EP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorey
Price Range: £68 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison Gorey Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison Gorey Hotel is at the heart of the quaint Gorey Village with a small array of friendly shops and the beach within two minutes walk. All rooms use finest quality bed linen and are well-proportioned and ensuite, Tea and coffee facilities are provided. The hotel boasts a great bar with pub style menu and Le Maison Bistro Restaurant.Stroll along the coastal walk to the famous Gorey harbour under the backdrop of the magnificent Mont Orgueil Caste with its array of great restaurants and bars only 10 minute walk away. of differing prices suitable for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maison Gorey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Gorey Hotel Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing