We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Gorey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maison Gorey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nick and I had a wonderful weeks' holiday in jersey staying at the Maison Gorey Hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our rooms which was spacious and had a large bathroom and was very comfortable.The hotel was very clean and had a homely and wecoming feel. There was plenty of leaftlets for attractions on the island. We had two main dinners which were very good value and a lovely menu. I wish however that I had tried their fish and chips which is apparently very popular. Nick and I would definitly recommend the hotel and hopefully we will visit again next year.

Room Tip: Not sure about other rooms but our was on the first floor and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 949tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    57
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
100
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
northern England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from a wonderful, relaxing week at this hotel. Extremely friendly hosts Martin and Stacy were very welcoming and obliging. (Especially with fans in the recent very hot weather) The meals were well cooked, extremely good value for money and very generous portions . This is an older classic hotel that was only taken over in November. It's looking good so far and it's work in progress done well. Big rooms and bathrooms, showers with lots of hot water. Absolutely spotlessly clean. Only a short stroll down to Gorey harbour where the views are gorgeous nestled below the majestic castle. Looking forward to returning ASAP.

Room Tip: Although it didn't cause us any problems what so ever, there has been building work behind the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeenorthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We originally chose this hotel as it had decent reviews and the location was good (not that location is really an issue on Jersey!). It also transpired I'd stayed in the very same hotel 28 years ago when I was 2. Needless to say I don't remember much of that!

The hotel itself was clean and airy, our room a decent size and although a little warm with the afternoon sun beating through the window, it was pleasant enough and near enough to the reception for the wifi!

Breakfasts were the highlight - cereal, fruit and yoghurt, tea and coffee on tap all followed by a full english or your choice of cooked breakfast. A great start to the day!

We ate in the restaurant twice in our week-long stay and both meals were excellent too.

Stacey was on the desk most of the time and he always greeted us with a smile and a quick chat. He suggested a few places to eat in the vicinity - Rio's in St Helier is worth a visit if you're hungry and carnivorous!

If we had any gripes about our stay, it would be that there wasn't always someone at the front desk or bar to serve you so you had to wait a little but this is only a small thing and more than made up by the rest of the hotel.

Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fenners1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just had the most enjoyable stay on the island of Jersey in this hotel, the hosts Martin & Stacey were brilliant hosts along with Matthew, Jessie and Amanda. Nothing was too much trouble, food was excellent, from the hearty breakfast to the evening meals, more people should make use of the resturaunt on an evening. Our room was clean and tidy. Hotel is situated a 10 minute stroll into Gorey harbour and a short stroll to the beach. Looking forward to returning here next time we are in Jersey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from weeks stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.
Staff were all excellent all friendly, welcoming and willing to help in any way.
Our room was large and spacious with equally large bathroom. Plenty of power points. Although situated at the front of the hotel and on the first floor, there was no noise either from traffic or pedestrians (bin lorry each morning did uplift glass).
Breakfast was well cooked and offered reasonable choice. Evening meal was also well cooked and good value for money (£15 for 3 courses).
Location was excellent for both those with own transport or using public transport. Also easy walk into village of Gorey where there are very good restaurants.
Overall, Maison Gorey excellent value for what is a no frills but honest hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for first or second floor at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank royalcaribbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just returned from a most enjoyable weeks stay at Maison Gorey,the owners Martyn and Stacey were brilliant hosts, nothing was too much trouble, the atmosphere was very friendly and homely .breakfast and evening meal we're delicious! Room was comfortable and spacious, we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the front rooms. roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenniferhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay, Gorey village was an excellent choice, as it was just a short stroll from the harbour!
And on a great bus route to St Helier should you want more shops etc!
Martin & Stacey were great hosts, and nothing was to much trouble for them, extra pillows? No problem!
Shower developed issues! No problem! Moved to another room ( Even took cases over for us!) Much better room btw! (110)
Although we only ate breakfast in the hotel, we did make good use of the hotel bar, special mention to Jessie, who after the first drink, remembered our round every time, (Fancies himself as a bit of a Tom Cruise Cocktail sort!)
Places to eat? Jade Garden Chinese 10/10
Sumars down near the pier 10/10
We pushed the boat out on Friday, as it was my birthday, and went to OrmerJersey in St Helier! 11/10 BOOM!
All in all, a great hotel, with great people!
We will defineateley be returning to recharge our batteries in the future!
These guys deserve to make this place a real success! Thank you! Dave & Sarah X

Room Tip: We had 117 to begin, a bit dated, but comfortable, shower broke, so were moved to 110, much more mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mertynabbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
0.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 31 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#12 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in StSaviour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Gorey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Gorey Hotel

Property: Maison Gorey Hotel
Address: Gorey Village Main Road, Gorey JE3 9EP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison Gorey Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison Gorey Hotel is at the heart of the quaint Gorey Village with a small array of friendly shops and the beach within two minutes walk. All rooms use finest quality bed linen and are well-proportioned and ensuite, Tea and coffee facilities are provided. The hotel boasts a great bar with pub style menu and Le Maison Bistro Restaurant.Stroll along the coastal walk to the famous Gorey harbour under the backdrop of the magnificent Mont Orgueil Caste with its array of great restaurants and bars only 10 minute walk away. of differing prices suitable for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Maison Gorey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Gorey Hotel Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing