We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jersey has more than potatoes!”
Review of Maison Gorey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison Gorey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Jersey has more than potatoes!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our first time in Jersey, and after checking on Trip Advisor, decided on Maison Gorey. We arrived after an easy flight from Glasgow, and were given room 109, on first floor. View wasn't great, onto a part of the roof. The hotel is a bit dated, but the room was well sized, with a good size bath (shower over the bath too). There was a small flat screen tv, a good sized wardrobe and a dressing table with stool, lots of drawers for your clothes. The bed was huge (two beds together, but you wouldn't have known) and the room was clean, with fluffy white towels, soaps and shampoo provided. Free wifi is available up and downstairs. There's no lift so not suitable for disabled folk. Stacey & Martin who own the hotel were so friendly, anything you wanted they would get you. Matt and Jesse were on hand at the bar for tea, drinks etc. Amanda served us at breakfast many times, lovely lady. We ate at the hotel too - £15 for 3 course set dinner, with great choices - good food and plenty of it. We struggled to eat it all, and my husband can shift his grub. Sunday lunch is served 12-4pm and is £12.95 for 3 courses. Breakfast was excellent - there were fruits, yoghurt, pastries, toast then a full English which hubby will miss! We had a great overall stay, and you were a 2 minute walk from a lovely beach. If you want modern 5 star luxury, air-conditioning, snooty staff & posh nosh then look elsewhere. If you want a good, clean hotel with friendly, caring staff, great food for the money you can't do better. When we left, we felt like we'd been staying with friends. You can't say fairer than that!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sheri3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    59
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
104
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nick and I had a wonderful weeks' holiday in jersey staying at the Maison Gorey Hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our rooms which was spacious and had a large bathroom and was very comfortable.The hotel was very clean and had a homely and wecoming feel. There was plenty of leaftlets for attractions on the island. We had two main dinners which were very good value and a lovely menu. I wish however that I had tried their fish and chips which is apparently very popular. Nick and I would definitly recommend the hotel and hopefully we will visit again next year.

Room Tip: Not sure about other rooms but our was on the first floor and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 949tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from a wonderful, relaxing week at this hotel. Extremely friendly hosts Martin and Stacy were very welcoming and obliging. (Especially with fans in the recent very hot weather) The meals were well cooked, extremely good value for money and very generous portions . This is an older classic hotel that was only taken over in November. It's looking good so far and it's work in progress done well. Big rooms and bathrooms, showers with lots of hot water. Absolutely spotlessly clean. Only a short stroll down to Gorey harbour where the views are gorgeous nestled below the majestic castle. Looking forward to returning ASAP.

Room Tip: Although it didn't cause us any problems what so ever, there has been building work behind the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeenorthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We originally chose this hotel as it had decent reviews and the location was good (not that location is really an issue on Jersey!). It also transpired I'd stayed in the very same hotel 28 years ago when I was 2. Needless to say I don't remember much of that!

The hotel itself was clean and airy, our room a decent size and although a little warm with the afternoon sun beating through the window, it was pleasant enough and near enough to the reception for the wifi!

Breakfasts were the highlight - cereal, fruit and yoghurt, tea and coffee on tap all followed by a full english or your choice of cooked breakfast. A great start to the day!

We ate in the restaurant twice in our week-long stay and both meals were excellent too.

Stacey was on the desk most of the time and he always greeted us with a smile and a quick chat. He suggested a few places to eat in the vicinity - Rio's in St Helier is worth a visit if you're hungry and carnivorous!

If we had any gripes about our stay, it would be that there wasn't always someone at the front desk or bar to serve you so you had to wait a little but this is only a small thing and more than made up by the rest of the hotel.

Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fenners1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just had the most enjoyable stay on the island of Jersey in this hotel, the hosts Martin & Stacey were brilliant hosts along with Matthew, Jessie and Amanda. Nothing was too much trouble, food was excellent, from the hearty breakfast to the evening meals, more people should make use of the resturaunt on an evening. Our room was clean and tidy. Hotel is situated a 10 minute stroll into Gorey harbour and a short stroll to the beach. Looking forward to returning here next time we are in Jersey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from weeks stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.
Staff were all excellent all friendly, welcoming and willing to help in any way.
Our room was large and spacious with equally large bathroom. Plenty of power points. Although situated at the front of the hotel and on the first floor, there was no noise either from traffic or pedestrians (bin lorry each morning did uplift glass).
Breakfast was well cooked and offered reasonable choice. Evening meal was also well cooked and good value for money (£15 for 3 courses).
Location was excellent for both those with own transport or using public transport. Also easy walk into village of Gorey where there are very good restaurants.
Overall, Maison Gorey excellent value for what is a no frills but honest hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for first or second floor at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank royalcaribbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just returned from a most enjoyable weeks stay at Maison Gorey,the owners Martyn and Stacey were brilliant hosts, nothing was too much trouble, the atmosphere was very friendly and homely .breakfast and evening meal we're delicious! Room was comfortable and spacious, we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the front rooms. roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenniferhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorey
0.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
750 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#22 of 32 in St Helier
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beausite Hotel
Beausite Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grouville
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#3 of 5 in StSaviour
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grouville
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Gorey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Gorey Hotel

Property: Maison Gorey Hotel
Address: Gorey Village Main Road, Gorey JE3 9EP
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Gorey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison Gorey Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison Gorey Hotel is at the heart of the quaint Gorey Village with a small array of friendly shops and the beach within two minutes walk. All rooms use finest quality bed linen and are well-proportioned and ensuite, Tea and coffee facilities are provided. The hotel boasts a great bar with pub style menu and Le Maison Bistro Restaurant.Stroll along the coastal walk to the famous Gorey harbour under the backdrop of the magnificent Mont Orgueil Caste with its array of great restaurants and bars only 10 minute walk away. of differing prices suitable for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Maison Gorey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Gorey Hotel Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing