We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emotionally luxury”
Review of Raffles Hainan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raffles Hainan
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Lingshui County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was just checked out from Raffles Hainan, thanks to all the team to made my stay so delighted, my parents indeed enjoy the stay.

It was a family reunion trip to celebrate my father's 60th birthday, so I booked raffles from its website comes with limousine transfer to ease the hassle as I read other's review that the hotel was quite away from airport. Orignial car was a Buick however was upgraded to Audi, so a easy journey from airport to hotel for them. When we reached our room, as consider our special occasion, welcome amenities was ready and room comes with a stunning ocean view of South China Sea.

We stayed total 5 nights, thus every morning we went for breakfast at desa restaurant, just amzing from 2nd day onwards, the staff already remember and greeted me by name, asked if I would like the same outdoor seat facing hotel's greenery and the sea. Breakfast spread was excellent, healthy yet delicious, and I personal favorate is the Gugelhupf bread and the chinese counter for the boiled vegetable goes with chicken broth. Dinner then we went for Baiwei Chinese restautant, thanks to the chef go for the extra mile to cook the dish which off the menu for us.

As travelled to China, at first, I'm not really expect to much from the Sapori Italian restaurant, had only one dinner, however proved my thought was wrong, Chef Zotto made superb authentic intalian and Mediterranean cuisine.

For hotel physically facility wise, nothing to fault at all, as a new property in clearwater bay, from its out architectual beauty to room interior design to the tropical greenery. Even small detail such as slippers or Shanghai Tang's Toiletry, all reflect the tip top quality.

To make hotel named Raffles, it's the people made the difference, great appreciation for the constantly personal touch through out my stay. I have to mention the team member Mr Kent Si, Ms Zara Geng, Chef Zotto, Mr Andrew Hu, Ms Marilyn, Ms Ella and many more, I can't remember every one.

A well said that a Raffles hotel is something beyond its location, its decor & its amenities, it's emotionally luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raffles Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles H, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Hainan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Raffles Hainan!
We sincerely appreciate that you have taken your valuable time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are grateful for your gracious comments about your positive experience with us and remarks on the hotel product are also well noted. Our colleagues will be delighted to hear about your comments on Rooms, Restaurants and etc, this will certainly encourage us to continue providing an “oasis for the well travelled” for all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming back to Raffles Hainan, hopefully not too far in the future and we remain at your disposal should you require any further assistance.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Great service. Excellent hospitality. Impeccable service. Just great experience. Italian restaurant best in Hainan. Maybe a titbit expensive. The wine selection is good but maybe could be further developed for meeting real wine connoisseurs. Rooms are just great and warm of style and high class

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jfjlawai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles H, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Hainan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate that you have taken your valuable time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are grateful for your gracious comments about Italian Restaurant and remarks on the hotel product are also well noted.
We look forward to welcoming back to Raffles Hainan, hopefully not too far in the future and we remain at your disposal should you require any further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Me and my wife spent 5 nights at the Raffles Hainan in May 2014.

As we travelled in Chinese low season (following the holiday season beginning of May, in which the hotel was fully booked according to management), the hotel was only partly booked, which made our stay absolutely unique in terms of service and tranquility.

Raffles Hainan opened its doors in October 2013 so that everything is brand new.

ROOMS: On our approach we were very warmly welcomed by the service staff and upgraded to one of the deluxe ocean view rooms. Room was equipped with everything you expect in a hotel of this category (incl. movies-on-demand for free) and was very spacious. Views are incredible!

POOL / BEACH: During the day there were only very few other guests occupying the pool and the beach area so that we had these areas more or less just for us.The pool area is very nice with lots of palms, trees etc. and offers lots of space to relax. The beach area is very clean and equipped with luxurious and comfortable beach loungers. Room for improvement: luxurious hotels like the Raffles should not bother guests by playing loud disco music (with Lady Gaga infinitely looping) at the pool area. However, once we complained about this, music was immediately stopped by pool staff.

RESTAURANTS: As a guest you have the choice between several different restaurants (Chinese, Indonesian, Italian, ...). As the hotel was not very well booked during our stay and due to the fact that we were obviously the only non-Chinese guests, we received full attention by the very friendly and hearty staff. Quality of the food is outstanding - no matter which restaurants you choose. Our special thanks go to the Indian head of the Deza and breakfast restaurant, who made each of our meals unique thanks to his superb service attitude and friendliness.

SPA: Though been to many spas in leading hotels of the world, the spa area of Raffles Hainan is a place of its own with separated villas for treatments and a level of professionalism which is remarkable.

All in all, we highly appreciated our stay at Raffles Hainan and we'll keep it in very good memories!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skydumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles H, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Hainan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Raffles Hainan!
We sincerely appreciate that you have taken your valuable time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are grateful for your gracious comments about your positive experience with us and remarks on the hotel product are also well noted. Our colleagues will be delighted to hear about your comments on Rooms, Pool, Restaurants and Spa, this will certainly encourage us to continue providing an “oasis for the well travelled” for all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming back to Raffles Hainan, hopefully not too far in the future and we remain at your disposal should you require any further assistance.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The new Raffles resort is amazing and gorgeous with nice views. The resort has 3 separate very spacious jacuzzi's, a long twisty pool with wooden bridges to get you across the island style lounge areas, and of course there's the beach. They spa services are wonderful and take place in your own spa suite and the fitness center is nice with new equipment. Spend a half day at monkey island where the monkeys are used to humans and friendly. Go early as the line gets long.
The reason I didn't rate excellent: This trip is not for visitors with little patience - few of the staff speak English well and they often have to come back to you after finding a staff member who does speak English. You must have patience. Also, when you leave the resort, you are reminded that you are in a developing country (China) as there is a lot of construction and dirt due to the constant developing. In 2-3 years this island really will be the Hawaii of China.
Avoid going during Chinese New Year and the Moon festival holidays as the place is packed with visitors from mainland China.

Room Tip: I recommend reserving a suite. The rates are very fair and you have your own Butler dedicated to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyM96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles H, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Hainan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Shelley,
Warm greetiing from Raffles Hainan
We wish to thank you for having spent some of your valuable time to write to us during your visit.
We feel that it is due to guests like your kind self that assist us in becoming market leaders by telling us what we need to do better and how to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Hainan time and time again, in our modest way, your “Home away from Home”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed at the Raffles Hainan for a long weekend. The hotel itself is beautiful. The lobby, open spaces, pool area are all wonderful. We were in a suite and the room was huge and lovely. Also enjoyed the spa for a massage and facial. While the prices at the spa were more Raffles than China, it was a great experience. I especially enjoyed the pool area and staff from the pool bar. The pool meanders around and they managed to make our time there perfect without wanting anything.

Location: The resort is new and in a heavily developing area so there were lots of workers around and some areas under maintenance.
Restaurants: We felt that the restaurants are just okay. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and the food good. We ate in all but the Italian restaurant there and while they were good, given the prices and they Raffles name, at least one should have been excellent. We especially thought the Chinese restaurant left more to be desired. Still, we were coming from Shanghai where it is easy to find exceptional.

They need to work on some of the little things to get to perfect. Silly examples, we had a 6 cup nespresso maker that I was very excited about but only 1 creamer.

Still, overall a lovely experience and the staff works hard to fix any issues. We would go again just to enjoy the pool and beautiful beach view.

As a helpful tourist comment, we visited monkey island which was worth the trip. It is close to the resort but beware the wait. It was not high season when we visited but we waited an hour to board the gondola. Not certain when it opens but we left the hotel just after 9am and the wait was long. During the high season (Chinese new year and fall golden week) we were told the wait could be 4 hours.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles H, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Hainan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest, warm greeting from Raffles Hainan to you.
We wish to thank you for having spent some of your valuable time to write to us. We wish to apologize for the shortcomings regarding the creamer, please rest-assured that we take your displeasure extremely seriously, our entire Management Team will ensure that these issues are rectified soonest. We truly value your suggestions, and will do our utmost to ensure we continually find ways to better ourselves. Once again, our sincere apologies and thank you for your valuable time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Hainan time and time again and experience more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A beautiful paradise in China. Spectacular beach, wonderful restaurants, spa, pools and rooms. My stay here was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel for those taking a holiday in Sanya. Service was excellent! Rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelToLiveYes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles H, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Hainan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Warm greeting from Raffles Hainan.
We wish to thank you for having spent some of your valuable time to write to us. After few months running the beach get better and better now, and you can really enjoy the swimming in the ocean and comfortable beach bed there. We look forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Hainan time and time again, in our modest way, your “Home away from Home”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Raffles Hainan and it was a great experience. The suite was gorgeous and amenities were top-notch. Ben Wang (Concierge) and Karen (Reception) were very helpful and polite. The view of the beach was really beautiful and the pool was well-maintained. Definitely a good choice for a simple, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles H, Public Relations Manager at Raffles Hainan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Warm greeting from sunny Hainan:)
We wish to thank you for having spent some of your valuable time to write to us during your visit.
It will be my pleasure to share your gracious comments with the management team, especially two colleagues your mentioned who exemplified the standard of caring, personal services to our Guests to ensure they “feel relaxed and comfortable like home”.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Hainan time and time again and enjoy the real relax holiday here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lingshui County
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
#30 of 1,373 in Sanya
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Narada Resort & Spa Perfume Bay
#5 of 63 in Lingshui County
30 reviews
The Sanya EDITION
#1 of 1,373 in Sanya
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hainan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hainan

Address: Clearwater Bay Avenue, Yingzhou Town, Lingshui County 572427, China
Region: China > Hainan > Lingshui County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lingshui County
#2 Spa Hotel in Lingshui County
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lingshui County
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lingshui County
Price Range: £119 - £582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hainan 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views that stretch out forever across crystalline Clearwater Bay, and a superb championship golf course just next door, Raffles Hainan is the perfect escape for those looking for an energetic escapade, or just simple, perfect rest and relaxation. Majestically positioned on this magical bay, this exquisitely appointed hotel combines light, open Balinese style architecture with an authentic local feel. Delivering relaxed luxury, and impeccable service, it is a worthy addition to the legacy that is Raffles. For those devoted to the gentle art of doing nothing, Raffles Hainan has the best beach on the island - some say in the whole of China. Crystal clear water, a gentle sandy crescent and a glorious climate mean that the prayers of sun worshippers are answered daily. For those more devoted to the art of golf, our championship course is challenging enough for experts, yet forgiving enough for those who are more relaxed in their technique. Literally on your doorstep, the beautifully designed fairways and greens offer more than enough distraction for many.For those after a little adventure, the local area is diverse and well worth exploring. This 'Hawaii of the East' hosts an idyllic climate, and an exceptional coastline. Inland, Hainan's ethnic mix delivers diversity and contrast, arts and crafts, and cultural events unique to the island. A marina, water sport hub and a retail village nearby add to the mix. Meanwhile, after a day of relaxation or exploration, the hotel's facilities are an oasis of luxurious comfort and style appreciated by the well travelled: generous 80 square metre rooms, all with a view across the glittering bay, 7 restaurants and bars, and a spectacular spa all mean that, should you wish, you never have to leave the hotel. Our spa experience is second to none, a signature element of all Raffles hotels and resorts around the world. Deep, soothing massages and therapeutic treatments are designed to revive and relax, rejuvenate and replenish, soothe and salve. Gastronomically, guests have seven restaurants and bars to choose from, including a Chinese restaurant, all-day dining restaurant, pastry cafe, pool bar and grill, lobby lounge and, of course, a bar in which to enjoy the famous Singapore Sling. At Raffles we have always been proud of our food, and Hainan is no exception.For the ultimate Hainan resort experience, combining heart and soul, mind and body, rest and a testing golf course, Raffles Hainan has no equal. Infused with the generous attentiveness of traditional Raffles service, and beautifully located to the far, warm south of China, this is an exceptional addition to the family that is Raffles, legendary purveyors of luxury to the well travelled for nearly a century.The story continues ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raffles Hainan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hainan Lingshui County, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing