We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ski week”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cappella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cappella
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Colfosco
Certificate of Excellence
north yorks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Ski week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel the last week in March and were last minute bookers to join some friends skiiing. Before I even arrived I was impressed by the prompt reply to any e mails I sent - working in the travel industry I can usually tell how good a hotel is going to be by how fast they reply to emails! I have to say La Cappella did not disappoint. The welcome was very warm and service whether in the bar or restaurant was excellent. The ski boot room was great, immaculate with individual boot and ski lockers and the big plus of course is the hotel is ski in ski out.
The standard of food was very high and presented well. Drinks at the bar were reasonable and I do not think I have been anywhere that is more generous with the nibbles & hors d'ouvres.
We had room 104 one of the art rooms which was lovely and spacious with a big wrap around balcony. My only small niggle was that anytime anyone ran water, had a shower or emptied the bath in the room above or next door you could hear the water draining away. Most of the time this was fine unless it was early in the morning or very late. I found it very irritating but that is the only critiscism I had in my stay and I certainly would go back, The Family Pizzini can be justifiably proud of their hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata P, Proprietario at Hotel Cappella, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your nice review, which we will show our whole staff.
We hope to welcome you soon again in our Hotel and wish you a nice summer.

Best regards from Colfosco
Fam. Pizzinini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    28
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
82
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed one week this Easter on this fantastic Hotel.

Beautiful site, great attention at the details, everything is well taken care and
always with a smile.
Great pool, overlooking the mountains, excellent SPA, and fantastic Ski room.
The food was amazing, a real highlight, confirming all the other reviews.

Everything was perfect and we felt very welcome.
Hopefully next year will be back
Thank you, Pizzinini Family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipe_Moura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata P, Proprietario at Hotel Cappella, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear Mr. Filipe_Moura,
it was a pleasure for us to have you here in our Hotel and thank you for the nice review.
We hope to welcome you next year in Colfosco and wish you a quit spring.
Kind regards
Fam. Pizzinini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
762 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

This lovely family run hotel was recommended to us by our Italian ski instructor friend & we had an extremely enjoyable stay. It is very well run & exceptional in the thought & generosity it shows in making a guests stay as perfect as it can be. Signora Pizzinini, the family matriarch, is a constant presence ensuring that standards are retained & that guests want for nothing. She is a wonderful, warm character who zips around at great speed with a great big smile & her 'can do' approach permeates the rest of the friendly, capable team. Initial e-mails were answered helpfully & promptly & this set the scene for the whole of our stay with everything working well throughout. The 5 course gourmet dinner is of a high standard, wonderfully presented & the service is suitably professional, yet friendly. The eclectic decor is a little busier & fussier than the usual traditional alpine style found in many ski hotels with an array of art adorning the walls but is still very cosy & comfortable. Our room was spacious, light & immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. We enjoyed the charming bar which offers a great range of cocktails & wines including plenty of reasonably priced bottles. You don't feel ripped off here, indeed it was probably the most generous hotel I have come across, the nibbles provided at the bar a continuous & veritable feast. Similarly at the weekly cocktail party the complimentary pre-dinner spread was a magnificent display of goodies including plump scallops, crevettes & sushi. The ski/boot room is fabulous, really well thought through, plus the hotel is ski-in ski-out & is particularly well placed for the excellent nursery slope. This is a feel good hotel as the staff & family are dedicated to & go out of their way to facilitate guests enjoyment, I liked the place more with every passing day. You would struggle not to have a lovely time here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata P, Inhaber at Hotel Cappella, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Mrs. and Mr.,

thank you very much for your wonderful review. You gave us a great joy and we thank you heartily.

We are very happy that you had a good time in Colfosco and hope to have the possibility to welcome you soon again.

We wish you a good summer with many beautiful and exciting moments.

With best regards from our mountains

Bepi and Renata Pizzinini with their whole staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at Cappella during Christmas and New Year's Eve 2012/2013. Everything was perfect! The hotel is located on the slope, what is very convenient. During the day you can go back to the hotel, eat lunch there or take your dog for a walk- like we did- and then continue skiing! The staff of Capella organised a dog-sitter for us, but finally we prefered to take our dog for a walk by ourselves and we didn't use the dog-sitter. About the food:Not only dinners but also breakfasts were delicious and spectacular! They served champagne already for breakfast! What I liked the most is that there was always a lot of fresh fruit like all kinds of berries and and the salad buffet was also extensive. If you don't like something from the menu- no problem! They will preper for you something else instead of it-you just tell them what you'd like to eat. I also loved that they served really a lot of fish, which was always great! They gave also oysters,crabs,prawns, cavior, fois gras, truffles etc. Really gourmet couisine. And the desserts were magnificent! Even ice-cream (amaretto) was home-made! Delicious! The room was warm and convenient, and the SPA area has got a bis swimming pool, 2 saunas and solarium. During Christmas the atmosphere was very special and the whole hotel was beautifully decorated. I recommend Cappella and I hope to spend my next skiing-holidays there!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ania___2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata P, Inhaber at Hotel Cappella, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte, liebe Frau Ania,

vielen Dank für die schöne Bewertung und für die Fotos.
Es hat uns sehr gefreut, dass Sie mit Ihrer Familie und Jacky die Weihnachtsferien in unserem Haus verbracht haben.

Wir hoffen Sie bald wiederzusehen und verbleiben

mit romantischen Grüßen aus Colfosco
Fam. Pizzinini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietrasanta, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

My fiance, myself and another couple (in total 3 Italians and a well-travelled New Zealander) spent 4 nights at the Hotel Cappella just before Christmas and fell in love with it. Yes, it is a 4-star Superior hotel with all the comforts that implies, but the magic lay in the less tangible aspects such as the thought that you could see had gone into making it easy and practical to come and go with your snowy outdoor gear, with lockers in which to place these when you changed into more elegant footwear for dinner, for example. The staff were wonderful, from the receptionists who always seemed to remember us even though there were probably 100 guests to the attentive waiters and the ever-present Signora Pizzinini. At 8am in the morning I saw her plumping up cushions in the lounge, she was there throughout the afternoon and in the evening was to be see discreetly supervising the dining room. Her attention to detail as an owner made itself felt in many ways and I mean this only in a positive sense.

The only major fault I found relates to a particular bugbear of mine which is the presence of those wall-attached hairdryers that resemble a vacuum cleaner hose and are not in the least use for drying a decent mop of hair, let alone styling it. It is my personal mission to abolish these from every hotel in the world. I now always take my own hairdryer wherever I travel, however when I commented on these dryers to Signora Pizzinini she told me that they hold a few “proper” hairdryers at reception – you just need to ask for them.

We stayed in the Dependenza rather than the main hotel, but we enjoyed the 2-minute trot down the road for our meals, also choosing to go there for breakfast even though it was also available at the Dependenza. Robes and slippers in the rooms, heated floors in the bathroom and great shower pressure all helped keep this rather demanding hotel guest very happy.

I almost forgot the food – I never expect too much with hotels where the meals are included, but Hotel Cappella proved to be a wonderful exception. Wonderful breakfast spread each morning with plenty of fresh fruit, and some fabulous evening meals with unexpected taste combinations that invariably worked, to say nothing of stunning presentation. A very pleasant surprise was the wine menu which offered bottles ranging from €11 to those at the top end of the spectrum, but certainly making sure there was always an affordable option, something that is often not the case with 4-star hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

We spent a week in this lovely hotel. Wonderful service. Very friendly and helpful personel. Everything makes you feel like home. We had a HB and the food was good with lot of choises. Rooms are big enough with wonderful view on Sella mountains. Nice spa are and quite a big swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata P, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Cappella, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Mrs.,

we simply want to say THANK YOU for the nice words. We gave your pleasant comments to our staff who liked them very much.
Wishing you a sunny summer we hope to see you soon again!

Family Pizzinini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Have we finally found the perfect family-run ski hotel? Well, nearly. The Cappella is well positioned, ski-in and virtually ski-out, right on the Sella Ronda ski circuit and beside easy nursery and intermediate slopes, and so friendly, excellent value (especially compared to nearby Cortina d'Ampezzo), with comfortable rooms, delicious food and charming service. The proprietor even plays the accordion to his guests! It seems mean to carp. But there was one big drawback, namely, endless complications with Wi-fi. We were staying not in the main hotel, but 100 metres up the road in the Dependance. Here, internet was unobtainable. We had to go down to the hotel in the evenings to get our emails, but could only access them via a very complex log-in system. For one crucial evening, internet access was completely unavailable.
Two other pointers for future guests: in the early weeks of January this hotel is almost entirely occupied by Russian families. Also, Colfosco can easily become almost cut off. Getting away, we had to take a detour north to avoid snowed-up passes. And in early January the motorways become intensely crowded heading south at weekends. Our journey to the airport, that the hotel advised would take 3 hours, actually took 6. Result: we missed our flight.
Having said that, we hope to return to the Hotel Cappella next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colfosco
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
#3 of 13 in Colfosco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Ciasa
Hotel Gran Ciasa
#1 of 13 in Colfosco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mezdi
Hotel Mezdi
#2 of 13 in Colfosco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Col Alto
Hotel Col Alto
#1 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luianta
Hotel Luianta
#6 of 13 in Colfosco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cappella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cappella

Property: Hotel Cappella
Address: Strada Pecei 17, 39033 Colfosco, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Colfosco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Colfosco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cappella 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel filled with modern art in the mountains of Southern Tyrol, located directly on the ski slopes. An atmosphere that combines Alpine cosiness and contemporary architecture. You will find spacious rooms and suites, some graced by old timber panelling and furniture, others bearing the signature of Matteo Thun, the world-famous designer. This and more can be enjoyed in Colfosco, at the foot of the Dolomites. The Pizzinini family, and specially the gallery owner, photographer and globe trotter Renate Kostner-Pizzinini, have been working with great passion to create a refuge for the artistically minded, who put into first place the joy for beautiful things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cappella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing