We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret around Lisbon ”
Review of Penha Longa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Penha Longa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best kept secret around Lisbon ”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

What a great resort! 10 mins from Lisboa and 10 mins from Cascais.
Yet, you feel you are many miles away.
Great golf, and the food simply amazing!
The Japanese restaurant is incredible, especially on Saturday night when they have the buffet.
The gym is also top notch and so are the rooms, and pool facilities.
I truly wish all ritz Carlton properties had the same service, facilities and food selection as Penha Longa resort.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank gzaczac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenhaLonga, Director of Public Relations at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review over your stay at Penha Longa Resort!

I think you´ve found our secret and must make sure your spread the word along your family and friends!
We are really glad you´ve enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon at our property!

Warm Regards,

Penha Longa Resort Ladies & Gentlemen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    218
    81
    24
    8
See reviews for
311
530
20
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent a few days in Penha Longa Resort and it was a delight.
25 min drive from Lisbon and 15 min from the sea; the hotel is situated in the middle of a preserved nature. The room is spacious and beautifully decorated, the bed comfy, the bathroom well furnished with bathtub and shower. Everything is perfectly clean.
There are indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four restaurants and a spa in an adjacent building.
Breakfast is just grand: a lot of choice and products of quality.
Staff is very very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Be aware that tea and coffee available in the room are not free of charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secotyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenhaLonga, Director of Public Relations at Penha Longa Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review over your stay at our property!
We are glad you´ve enjoyed and took the most of our facilities either inside and outside.

Hope we can welcome you back soon at Penha Longa Resort!

Warm Regards,

Penha Longa Resort Ladies & Gentlemen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peekskill, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Where do I start...25 horse stable, delicious breakfast, included in package, indoor pool. Wonderful resturants on location. Beautiful surroundings! Excellent staff. And that's just the beginning of all the wonderful things my husband and I enjoyed at this resort. All at a great value. Highly recommend this for a relaxing pampered vacation.
Thank you Penha Longa Resort "Ritz Carlton" for living up to and exceeding my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Have just finished a very relaxing stay at this fabulous hotel and am simply looking forward to the next trip. As previously mentioned in other reviews the service and attentiveness was outstanding throughout my stay, with particular mentions for Constanza in the bar, Pedro at the golf shop and Luis, Margarita and Marcello in the management team.
I am the sort of person that enjoys member of staff recognising me (when they work in different parts on different days), it really makes you feel like you're with friends.
There was one issue, when we arrived the hotel was overbooked and with any apologises they offered to out us up in another hotel for the first night. It was late (21:30) and they offered a nice meal in their Japanese restaurant (which was delicious) for free. The other hotel was nothing by comparison, so having to stay there aside, I had a fantastic experience and would heartily recommend it to anyone. Definitely coming back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GoldeneyeWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just enjoyed a 5 night stay in an executive suite at a Penha Longa. The hotel facilities are first class and we enjoyed walking around the beautiful grounds and swimming in indoor pool. We ate at all the restaurants and the surroundings and food were exceptional. There is something here for all age groups and golfers and non golfers. Every member of staff made us feel welcome, could not do enough for us and somehow always seemed to anticipate our needs.The hotel lives up to its 5 star rating in every respect. For those requiring a relaxed and special place to stay, we would recommend the resort.

Room Tip: Resort view rooms are well appointed but the corner executive suites, although more expensive have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

My mother and I have just returned from a three night stay and we're completely blown away by the attitude, willingness, professionalism and friendliness of the staff here. I have worked for one of the UK's biggest travel companies and stayed at the many of the worlds top hotels but the warmth of the staff will remain with me forever. The resort is beautiful. The rooms are a home from home. I honestly can't fault it. I will be back. Thank you!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Simply wonderful staff at Penha Longa who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were particularly kind to our 18 month old. Food at the Italian -themed restaurant was surprising reasonably priced.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linho
2.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
5.0 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
766 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 39 in Cascais
1,181 reviews
3.9 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penha Longa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penha Longa Resort

Property: Penha Longa Resort
Address: Estrada da Lagoa Azul | Sintra, Linho 2714-511, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Linho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Linho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penha Longa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of royalty along the gorgeous Estoril coastal region of Portugal. Penha Longa Resort traces its origins back to the 16th century, includes a landmark monastery that was built on its ground and has been a frequent retreat of Portuguese royal and foreign dignitaries. The Penha Longa Resort features: 194 well-appointed guest rooms, eight exceptional dining facilities, 27-hole Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr. , a luxurious Spa with its own private gardens, pools & jacuzzi, Wellness Centre, 24-hour gym, indoor and outdoor pools, tennis and squash courts, horse riding, children’s playground, mini golf and Kids Club. Penha Longa Resort offers everything you need to ensure a relaxing, luxurious and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, LoveHolidays, Marriott, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penha Longa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penha Longa Hotel & Golf Linho
Penha Longa Hotel And Golf Resort
Ritz Carlton Linho
Penha Longa Resort Portugal/Linho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing