We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful modern design but cozy hotel in Alentejo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'AND Vineyards

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'AND Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montemor-o-Novo
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“beautiful modern design but cozy hotel in Alentejo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Beautiful modern design luxury boutique hotel in the countryside, 1h from Lisbon, 35 from Evora and 1h from Comporta.
Loved the main building architecture, beautiful lounge with fireplace. the breakfast/restaurant room has a beautiful view over the lake/pool/garden.
There are two terraces next to the restaurant with outdoor fireplaces and comfortable chairs and sofas.
All suites are independent from the main building. Large suites have lots of light and a tasteful interior design, they also have private terrace, sunbath area and outdoor fireplace.
The rooms are very quiet, we haven't heard any neighbors during our stay.
The outdoor pool is nice and big with view over the artificial lake.
The spa indoor pool has a fair size too. The Caudalie SPA proposes good treatments and massages in large wooden rooms, prices are high but quality of service was great. The Duo Divine massage for 2 was strong and good.
The restaurant proposes a very good tasting menu at night. It's a gastronomic Portuguese culinary experience.
The staff is friendly and speak a good English, but needs a bit more training, knowledge of the hotel services and coordination.
The hotel was a little countryside luxury heaven but few things can be improved (not such a big deal to give a bad reviews but I hope the management will take it into account)
- The breakfast buffet is a bit poor, and the food goes fast as they put small quantities and they don't refill fast enough. good point: they had soy milk. Eggs or pancakes can be ordered. We were not aware nor informed but we were lucky enough to see a plate passing by...
- Lack of hotel service knowledge:
They proposed us yoga classes on Saturday at 18h30, but finally there were not.
At night we requested at the reception to be delivered two yoga mats in the room the following day at 8h30. On the day after we called at 8h40 as they didn't arrived, they told us that the maintenance would bring them at 9h when they start working. but at 9h10 they called us saying that they didn't have any yoga mats at the hotel... I woke up early for nothing.
- in a SLH hotel with SPA you expect a gym
- lack of laundry bag in the room

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    122
    52
    22
    9
See reviews for
72
279
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent the weekend , room was everything you would expect, clean, spacious lot's of natural light.
Smaller details weren't so good, internet almost never worked and LCD setup looks clumsy and not well positioned, but, if you go there to watch tv and be online you might want to reconsider and go somewhere else, this place has a lot more to offer.
Lights could be improved, almost impossible to sit outside and read at night.
Pool area could have some more chairs to lay down.
Bar service by the pool is very good with surprising variety on the menu.
Restaurant is awesome (deserves a separate review, 1 Michelin Star)
The whole place is very very quiet , just what I was looking for.
Wine tasting event was a very good plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuigiLx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon - Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I just returned from a three night stay ay this country side hotel. Its location is quite unique, at least for me, as it was built around a vineyard.
First impression upon arriving was good. Front desk staff was very polite and efficient and accompanied us to our “sky suite” and explained everything we needed to know regarding all the features of the suite.
The overall area of our suite was impressive, with a very roomy leaving room, bed room and a huge bathroom. Either from the bathroom or leaving room we could access our private patio with a plunge pool (takes two hours to fill with water, so we were told). It had also a sort of retracting (and noisy while being operated) panel just above the comfortable king size bed that allowed us to see the stars. However bare in mind that even with a cloudless sky you will see very few stars if you happen to be here during full moon nights. All the amenities stated on their webpage were in fact at our disposal inside the room. The pictures on their webpage are not misleading. By the way, during our stay we encountered very high air temperatures, close to 40 Celsius during the day and 30 at night. The air conditioning in the room was very efficient and completely silent. As in every luxury hotel the room was serviced twice a day. Unfortunately in the afternoon they came always at the very moment when we were taking a shower or preparing for dinner, that is to say around 7:45 PM.
They always asked politely whether they could quickly prepare our beds or if it was necessary for them to come later. I’m an accommodating kind of person, so I always said that they could do it right away. Anyway as the entrance is a glass door, one can see from outside if there is movement or light inside the room and refrain from knocking in case guests are still in. My suit had also a different entrance that can only be opened from the outside and is reserved for staff since guests have no key to open it. However this feature was poorly conceived because just in front of this glass door there is a railing with a curtain that would be ripped apart should they push the door against it. They should have installed pull door.
There are two swimming pools, one is covered and located in the SPA area. Around the outdoor swimming pool there are loungers and parasols. However during the weekend when there is much more people staying in the hotel, there was not sufficient place to lay down. There is ground for improvement around this area. They provide two rattan baskets at one of the corners of the pool. One is covered and has cleaned folded towels and the other is for used towels to be drooped after use. Two days in a row just when we arrived to the pool there were no cleaned towels at all in the basket, prompting me to walk to the SPA and ask for them. I think someone ought to check this more often when there are more guests staying at the hotel. Guests are not advised against leaving used towels on the loungers when they leave the swimming pool. The consequence is that leaving the towels on the loungers, makes them look as if they were reserved and they do not free up space for other people. Why is it so difficult for the hotel staff to leave a note near the baskets asking people to bring them back after use? Many hotels also provide towels for the swimming pool inside the rooms, which is also a good option, since in this case people tend not to “forget” them.
There is a bar service around the pool and one can order snacks and drinks. As in every other hotel and to discourage consumption, prices are quite high. They charge 4,50 euro for an orange juice and 7,00 euro for a vodka orange juice. The server had a humble and very polite attitude.
I also noticed that the quality of the water was checked regularly by the staff. On one occasion my daughter tossed away her swimming goggles while inside the pool but she missed the throw and they ended up sucked in a water pipe. The pool boy was very accommodating and just went out of his way to retrieve them from inside a pipe that links the pool to a compensation tank.
I cannot rate the SPA. Prices are extremely high as it is usual in luxury hotels.
Breakfast consists of a buffet in the main dining room. Omelettes and other fried or hot items have to be ordered. Everything was tasty and well presented. Tables are laid for two, so if you are three or more in your party, they have to set the table the moment you arrive. That is what happened to me since me and my partner came along with our five years old daughter. And so was the case with other families during the weekend not to mention other couples wanting to stay together at the same table. At that moment the servers around the room had to push tables one against the other distracting them from what should be their duties such as tacking orders and replenish the trays in the buffet. Having said that and given the notorious habit of the Portuguese clientele to show up for breakfast exactly ten minutes before the service is due to end, one can expect havoc in the restaurant around 10:00 AM on weekends. Why is it so difficult to prepare beforehand a few tables for larger families or parties?
A few days before my check-in in the hotel, they sent me an email with information about the facilities and the SPA menu. They also prompted us to make reservations for dinner in their restaurant during our stay. I was very impressed with the efficiency conveyed with this communication. However dinner in the restaurant did not meet my expectations. See separate review on that.
All in all I think I paid a fair price for our suit and we had a pleasant stay. On the last day and on my prompting, they agreed to concede us a late check-out at 4:00PM at no extra cost even if I had asked and was willing to pay for it. A nice touch from front desk staff.
As in every business, what this hotel needs is internal auditing to pinpoint incorrect procedures. A more efficient management is needed

Room Tip: Ask for help to carry your luggage from the main building to the room. Avoid this hotel in rainy sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank José S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
409 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was the second stop of our Portuguese Wine tour (1st Herdade da Malhadinha Nova) and when I booked last October the restaurant didn't have a Mitchelin Star.

Check in was swift and we were quickly shown to our room - Sky suite. It has a large Patio with fire and a couple of chairs and a smaller patio assessed from either the bathroom (our door didn't work) or the lounge. The smaller patio had not furniture just a plunge bath which hadn't been cleaned before our arrival and wasn't cleaned during our visit. It takes 1 1/2 to 2 hrs to fill. It is a strange addition that I think someone thought was good at the concept stage but in reality isn't really working. A jacuzzi or cedar hot tub would work better.

The lounge is large and so is the bathroom which is decorated in dark slate. The bedroom has a great bed with a sky light over so you can lay and look at the stars - unfortunately the weather wasn't kind on our visit so we saw cloudys. The bed was comfy but I don't like feather pillows so we asked for a foam pillow and were told there was nothing else available. There are candles in the room but never get lit and matches are not provided. If you want the fire lit you have to ask reception for someone to come do it.

The bar/ reception area is very dark and uninviting.

The restaurant is bright and airy, with views towards the lake and town beyond. We ate 2 breakfasts, 1 lunch and 2 dinners and enjoyed them all. Breakfast has a selection of hot dishes and the usual cold buffet. We had a taster menu with wine on one evening and the chef catered well for my husband who is fussy about cheese/ vinegar/ sauces e.t.c. The wine selection was good and plenty of it!

The prices are cheap for a Mitchelin Star restaurant but the star has put a lot of pressure on the hotel, evidently they get more complaints now as people have higher expectations!

We did a wine tasting session with the Food & Beverage Manager who was very informative. It was interesting to try the wines and then try them again with 5 different foods.

The weather wasn't great when we stayed so tried to book spa treatments everyone had the same idea so there was no availability. The pool area looked good but we didn't have the weather to us it.

We had a good stay and I'd recommend it to friends. The only worrying point is that at present there are 22 rooms but L'and are building holiday/residential homes - don't know how this will effect the ambiance of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Me and my partner stayed at L'And Vineyards for a wedding at the beginning of May and all I have to say is WOW!!!!

To start with, the wedding party (a group of about 50/60 people) arrived to the resort and we were welcomed in a very friendly and warm manner by a few members of staff which redirected us to the reception. There, we were given clear instructions on how the check in process worked and once that was dealt with in a prompt manner we were accompanied to our room and showed where all the facilities are. The whole resort looks very modern and has a luxury feeling to it, the weather was fabulous too and we couldn't wait to jump into the pool!!

Once we got to the room, there was not a single thing we were unhappy about! Everything was perfect!! Modern room, clean, all the facilities we required and even more!

The whole party was extremely well looked after throughout our stay, especially during the main wedding day, and members of staff went way out of their way to accomodate our needs and make sure every single guest was happy - even staying up past 2am to serve us wine on the first night and until almost 5am on the wedding day! All of them were genuinely friendly, spoke really good English and although I was trying to practice my broken Portuguese they would still reply in English out of respect to the other guests.

Food doesn't even need mentioning! Out of the whole menu - especially on wedding day - I cannot choose which one was my favourite course! Every single dish, whether it be fish or meat, was cooked to perfection and presented in a very elegant but not overdone way. Well deserved Michelin Star!

All and all, we had a fabulous stay and we will certainly be back to L'And Vineyard in the future!

The only comment I have to make has to do with pool service which we all found was a bit slow, but that didn't spoil our stay in any way!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We were in room 15 and it was all absolutely gorgeous!! Some of our friends had a skylight view in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v-curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just stayed here for four nights. Weather great but agree with others that in the rain the walk from rooms to main building would be a pain. Modern decor, which works well in the suites but fails miserably in the lobby lounge which is like an old people's home, dark and chairs in lines. However, suites are great, facilities good. Could be cleaner, though. Food was superb, best we have had in Portugal by a long way. Location is good, very quiet but lots of places around to go to.
Would be nice to visit in the winter with underfloor heating in suites and open fires on patios, providing it was dry, of course! Would go again but they do need to pull their socks up and pay more attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in landview suite. Great view to the town and castle, very quiet. Big terrace with fireplace, sheltered from the wind (and view from other suites/ parking lot). Good size suite, modern interior design. Underfloor heating under concrete floor. Aircon in all rooms (working!), coffee/tea making facilities, ipod docking station, ipad, fast internet connection. Very comfortable bed. Staff friendly (and speak English), react fast to any issues. Not so good: reception very difficult to find. Suite was far away from main complex and just walking from the suite to the car park and again from another car park to the main entrance in the rain will get you soaked. Room was dusty on arrival, the sofa cover dirty, the ipod docking station missing, outdoor areas full of dead leaves and in need of some paint. Lawn not cut. Wallpaper in bathroom peeling off. No fruit, no flowers, no pictures in the suite. Suite is really a 2-bedroom suite, but since we had only booked 1 bedroom the 2nd room and the kitchenette were locked. Big dining room table felt misplaced. Full view on all cables and electrical plugs from the sofa. Not enough outlets for all electrical equipment provided. Staff in breakfast area didn’t really speak English. Ordered a boiled egg, got a fried egg. Ordered English Breakfast Tea, got Darjeeling. Asked for a 2nd teabag since 1 teabag for 1 teapot resulted in bit too weak tea, got English Breakfast Tea as 2nd bag! No homemade pastry. All in all, interesting hotel, but management lacks eye for details. The buildings appear run down, not as new as they actually are. Definitely not (yet?) a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montemor-o-Novo
19.6 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
18.9 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
18.6 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
M'Ar De Ar Aqueduto
#4 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
18.8 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
19.0 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'AND Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'AND Vineyards

Property: L'AND Vineyards
Address: Estrada Nacional 4 | Herdade das Valadas, Montemor-o-Novo 7050, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Montemor-o-Novo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montemor-o-Novo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — L'AND Vineyards 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your L'AND Vineyards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`And Vineyards Hotel Montemor-o-Novo
L'AND Vineyards Portugal/Montemor-o-Novo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing