We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Quinta do Scoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta do Scoto
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Where else around Lisbon can you stop in a Quinta built in 1749 that survived the earthquake intact? The restoration is so sympathetic, keeping all original features and beautiful tiles depicting scenes from the era.

The restored furniture made for the Quinta, you get to use for the wonderful Continental breakfast.

The hosts, Tony and Penny make you so welcome and have a wealth of information on the surrounding area. They offered us lifts to the station and restaurants, using cabs for the return, about 7 euros. (In good weather the restaurants are 10 minute walk)

Excellent traditional restaurants close to the Quinta which are good value for money, we had the Fish Stew!

Don't think about driving to Lisbon, or even Sintra, such good train links, it is 25 mins to Lisbon (Rosio) the centre and all the sights.

We were unable to use the excellent outside facilities as the weather turned wet for our stay (after three months of no rain) BBQ, guest kitchen, pool, loungers and outside tables and chairs. Just look at the pics on the website!

We are looking forward to returning for more sight-seeing and maybe next time crashing out by the pool and having a bbq after a day out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burgaufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    29
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
232
212
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Quinta as we were so impressed with this beautiful place, we couldn't wait to come back again! The accommodation is stunning and we were both so well looked after, with great friendly service, food and guidance for everything to see and visit in the surrounding areas - we really were made to feel at home! The Quinta is really close by to Melecas station, which we used really easily to get to the city of Lisbon and explore the many exciting sights and attractions the city has to offer. The beautiful close by town of Sintra was also within easy reach and definitely not one to missed for its impressive, picturesque views and history. We also took a wonderful, scenic walk up in to the hills of the surrounding the village which are like the Moors and enjoyed sights of nearby historic Ruins, ancient Aquaducts, a lovely old Quinta and a stone Watchtower with views over to the coast and Sintra. After the walk we stumbled across Senor Carlos’s restaurant, the Meira Tala on the way back and really enjoyed a refreshing beer in the evening sun! Overall, we had a perfect time during our stay at the Quinta do Scoto and cannot recommend enough - fur sure, we will be booking again very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just wonderful
This is really an amazing B&B! Situated in between Lisboa and the beautiful Sierra de Sintra with its overwhelming nature and sights and also close to wonderful beaches. This is the place to be. The quinta offers beautifully appointed rooms with lots of space, a large swimming pool and a nice, quite atmosphere. On top of that you will encounter extraordinary hospitality and a fantastic breakfast. In short: a guarantee for a wonderful memory!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Quinta do Scoto is off the tourist map (thank goodness) but very handy by car or metro for Lisbon and Sintra for example. The local restaurants are real finds run primarily for the locals or other folk in the know/. The Quinta is peaceful, spacious and very very well run. Breakfasts are fab and there is a little kitchen and big barbecue. should you want to self cater/ The pool is a proper pool (salt) not some chlorine soaked over sized bath and the terrace a real sun trap.
We felt we got the best of both worlds here, zipping into Lisbon for a lively time or simply swimming and doing absolutely nothing.
You will be hard pushed to find more thoughtful, kind hosts than Penny and Tony and their glamorous housekeeper.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisc535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Tony and Penny are excellent hosts, and the Quinta is a real gem - well run, clean, and nothing is too much trouble.
We took a taxi to and from the airport - about € 32 each way - but you can do it by metro and suburban train.
The Quinta is right at the end of a suburban line from Oriente - Meleças. Weekdays there is a 15 min service, weekends a half hourly service. By changing at Caçem, the next station, you can get direct to Sintra or Rossio by train, or stay on the train to Sete Rios for the most useful Metro line. The station is about 10 minutes walk from the Quinta: it now has the zapping option for tickets so one ticket will do for train, metro, bus, tram or funicular, providing you have put enough money on it - that's the zapping bit! You can also go direct to Obidos from Meleças.
The local restaurants are Portuguese, and some have no staff who speak English. Not usually a problem. The quality does vary a lot however - so ask Penny or Tony for the latest. If you have a car, it is easier to get to some, but local taxis are about € 4.50 to 5.00, and Tony gave us a couple of lifts.
The pool is great to relax in after a day's sight seeing: there is a starter pack in the room of soft drinks, wine and beer, and top ups can be had from an honesty bar. There is a BBQ space, and a small basic kitchen if you just want to sit and use some cheese, salami etc you bought during the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihbScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It was our first trip to Portugal. Tony and Penny were extremely helpful in making our sight seeing efficient and restful. We came as a large group of 9 ( 2 families) and it was wonderful to have breakfast together with Tony helping us plan each day in a thoughtful manner. Our location was ideal, giving us a restful country ambiance, access to the major routes and great restaurants that were within walking distance for the younger members of our group. We arrived from Canada and the USA, but our transition was easy, exciting and doable thanks to Tony and Penny.
Thanks again from both of our families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

On our honey-moon-road-trip from Porto to Faro we stayed two nights in the Quinta do Scoto. Even though we planed to stay only one. We fell in love with the charming house, beautyfull garden and also with the hosts.
Penny and Tony took time to recommend restaurants, beaches and sights in the area that we probably would have missed.
Everything is clean, the beds are very comfortible, the breakfast is perfect and it is just amazing to notice all the little details in the room that do not leave any wish open.
We love to come back some time.
Valerie & Thomas

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algueirao - Mem Martins
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
833 reviews
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
729 reviews
Belem
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
#26 of 251 in Lisbon
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Scoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Scoto

Property: Quinta do Scoto
Address: Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18, | Melcas, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Algueirao - Mem Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algueirao - Mem Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Scoto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Scoto is a very different concept in Bed & Breakfast located close to both Sintra and Lisbon with 8 spacious luxury suites most sleeping up to 6, with en suite bathrooms. Some with separate sitting rooms/2nd bedrooms; furnished with antiques; set around a pool and sun terrace or in the traditional 1746 Manor House. Good access to local typical Portuguese restaurants and public transport; local railway station is a 10 minute walk away with access to Lisbon, Sintra, Obidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta do Scoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Scoto Portugal/Algueirao - Mem Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing