We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful escape”
Review of Quinta do Scoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta do Scoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband and I made a return visit to the Quinta in September. Having visited previously in the winter we were excited to return and experience all the area and Quinta had to offer in the sun. It was just as wonderful as we remembered - spacious rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a beautiful pool and the best breakfasts!
Tony, Penny and Charlotte were the model hosts and we felt like we were old friends returning for a visit. We hired a car from the airport and followed the directions from the website, arriving without a single wrong turn. A welcome drink was the perfect way to end our journey and then we were quickly settled into our beautiful room.
We spent the week exploring the coatsline with trips to Cascais, various beautiful beaches and Lisbon, not to mention a couple of lazy days by the pool and delicious suppers the local restaurants. Everyone should experience a steak on the stone!
Even though the Quinta was pretty much full of guests, we often had the pool to ourselves during the first part of the day. Breakfast was a great chance to find out what other guests were doing and get tips for our own itinerary and we always left too full to need lunch until well into the afternoon!
Quinta do Scoto is the ideal location for exploring Lisbon, the coastline and Sintra. We loved having a car to be able to explore wherever the mood took us, however the train was a great way to get into Lisbon with a short walk to the local station or a lift from Tony!
We loved the feeling of getting to experience local Portugal and I have no doubt we will return again and again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Qunita do Scoto was a wonderful stay for my family. The hosts provided wine upon our arrival, walking my family through the local dining options and nearby activities. The rooms were huge with high ceilings, immaculately clean, wonderfully decorated, and stocked with snacks/beer/wine/coffee/tea/tissues (it was november and we were in need). The floors were heated in the rooms and bathrooms, which was a wonderful surprise, and the bathrooms had large flow shower heads. The breakfast was delicious and abundant...breads, jams, pate, cheese rounds, fruit, cereals, yogurts, coffee, juice, muffins, cake...the works.

Our family had a wonderful experience and would recommend to anyone looking for a stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at the Quinta and were thoroughly pleased. Tony and Penny are superb hosts and extremely helpful. The Quinta itself is an old estate which they have lovingly and beautifully restored and modernized. Many of the original furnishings remain and they are magnificent! Our room was very clean, comfortable, spacious and well appointed. It was so nice after a long journey to find fresh fruit, snacks and drinks (including a good bottle of Portuguese wine!) waiting in our room. Breakfast each day was outstanding and a real treat.
We enjoyed being in a relaxed and quiet country atmosphere, while still being very accessible to Lisbon and Sintra (which we visited from the Quinta during our stay) We have nothing negative to report, all was wonderful!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome by Tony n Penny to the wonderful country-home in Sintra added to the delight of the property. Set over 7 acres of land, the main house where they live is ages old and has been beautifully restored by them. There are 5-6 rooms that they let out which are by the pool. The room we stayed in on the ground level was huge with high ceilings and was very well kept. There are a couple of restaurants within a 10 mn walk. Ideal place away from the noisy world really rejuvenates you. A must visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ManojNNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed two nights with my family (wife, and son) and the impression we had was so great.
the room was so spacious and clean. there were of cause a bottle of wine, beers, cookies, drinks for free.

The owners are so kind and the explanation about the hotel and local restaurants was far more than detailed what I expected.

My wife gave a big thumb the first moment she entered the room. it was pleasant experiences in all aspect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Beautiful ancient villa. Large and nicely decorated rooms. Very relaxed and quiet location. Lisbon and Sintra can be easily reached by train or car. Very friendly English-speaking owners which always happy to help with every bit of information. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Ditto and more is what I would say to all the reviews that have spoken so well about the Quinta and Tony and Penny. It is a beautifully restored Quinta, huge rooms with massive bathrooms, wonderful hosts and all details looked after. There is a guest kitchen too. We were here for two nights and it was lovely. It is a little difficult to find and it is good if you have a car. It was cold when we arrived here and couldn't use the pool but I am sure it will be lovely in the summer. Would love to come back and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KavitaNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algueirao - Mem Martins
Pestana Sintra Golf
#7 of 15 in Sintra
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
773 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
The Late Birds Lisbon
The Late Birds Lisbon
#6 of 262 in Lisbon
282 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#3 of 262 in Lisbon
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Scoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Scoto

Address: Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18, | Melcas, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Algueirao - Mem Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algueirao - Mem Martins
Price Range: £70 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Scoto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Scoto is a very different concept in Bed & Breakfast located close to both Sintra and Lisbon with 8 spacious luxury suites most sleeping up to 6, with en suite bathrooms. Some with separate sitting rooms/2nd bedrooms; furnished with antiques; set around a pool and sun terrace or in the traditional 1746 Manor House. Good access to local typical Portuguese restaurants and public transport; local railway station is a 10 minute walk away with access to Lisbon, Sintra, Obidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta do Scoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Scoto Portugal/Algueirao - Mem Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing