We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rural gem, what a find!”
Review of Quinta do Scoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta do Scoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I first visited Quinta in December 2012 for a weekend. i was so pleased, the location, the beautiful properties on the land that have been renovated, the peacefulness and above all the welcome that I received from Tony, Penny and Charlotte.

The location was peaceful yet close by to a few good local restaurants and also the train line providing access into Lisbon. Sintra was also relatively close by, a picturesque village, well worth a visit.

The accommodation was absolutely lovely, gorgeous decor and very spacious and clean. The rooms were very well equiped with tea/coffee facilities and some nice finishing touches to include fresh milk and soft drinks/beer in the fridge along with a welcome bottle of wine to help you unwind. I was fortunate to have one of the rooms/suites which looked out over the swimming pool, but unfortunately it was December, therefore not the weather for swimming. The room/suite was lovely and warm with a heated floor. The bathroom was great, the shower had a large flow shower head.

Personally, as a guest on my own I couldn't have asked for more. The hosting from Tony & Penny was outstanding. They were so welcoming and were genuinely interested in getting to know a bit about me (as opposed to being handed a room key at check-in which is quite often the norm), they couldn't do enough to help me with regard to information that I may need to include taxi's, resaturants etc. a lovely kind family. The breakfast was plentyful with a huge range of food to set you up for your day.

Subsequently, I visited Portugal in December 2013, and with the location being so perfect for me, I stayed once again at Quinta and had an equally and enjoyable stay albeit just not long enough and once again, too cold for the swimming pool.

I definately plan to bring my family to Quinta in the Summer months and really look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: The rooms that look out over the swimming pool are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed 5-6 nights at the Quinta in September of last year and had a wonderful time. The location of the Quinta between Lisbon and Sintra is ideal. We arrived by car, but did most of our local exploring using the local trains which are both cheap and efficient. And after the hustle and bustle of Lisbon or a day trip to Sintra or Cascais/Estoril, it was nice to back to the peace and quiet of the Quinta. One day we spent the entire day at the Quinta by the pool just doing nothing.

The area around the Quinta is quite rural and the small village just across the tracks is nice for lunch or a evening meal out. Almost walking distance is Rio de Mouro which is basically a Lisbon/Sintra suburb has more to offer if you looking for more than just a village tavern. The seafood restaurant Victor is definitely worth a visit. We loved the fresh seafood rice (one order would have served 3-4).

Tony and Penny are excellent hosts and can offer you information regarding just about anything you might want to do during your stay in Portugal. Breakfast is very good and it is wonderful way to start your day getting to know the other guests and swapping experiences gleaned from recent excursions.

Highly recommended rural hotel. I can´t say enough about how much I enjoyed the pool. When we go back, we will definitely book a ground floor room with a door that opens out on to pool. Well done Tony and Penny.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are more convenient for the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickCer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband and I made a return visit to the Quinta in September. Having visited previously in the winter we were excited to return and experience all the area and Quinta had to offer in the sun. It was just as wonderful as we remembered - spacious rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a beautiful pool and the best breakfasts!
Tony, Penny and Charlotte were the model hosts and we felt like we were old friends returning for a visit. We hired a car from the airport and followed the directions from the website, arriving without a single wrong turn. A welcome drink was the perfect way to end our journey and then we were quickly settled into our beautiful room.
We spent the week exploring the coatsline with trips to Cascais, various beautiful beaches and Lisbon, not to mention a couple of lazy days by the pool and delicious suppers the local restaurants. Everyone should experience a steak on the stone!
Even though the Quinta was pretty much full of guests, we often had the pool to ourselves during the first part of the day. Breakfast was a great chance to find out what other guests were doing and get tips for our own itinerary and we always left too full to need lunch until well into the afternoon!
Quinta do Scoto is the ideal location for exploring Lisbon, the coastline and Sintra. We loved having a car to be able to explore wherever the mood took us, however the train was a great way to get into Lisbon with a short walk to the local station or a lift from Tony!
We loved the feeling of getting to experience local Portugal and I have no doubt we will return again and again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Qunita do Scoto was a wonderful stay for my family. The hosts provided wine upon our arrival, walking my family through the local dining options and nearby activities. The rooms were huge with high ceilings, immaculately clean, wonderfully decorated, and stocked with snacks/beer/wine/coffee/tea/tissues (it was november and we were in need). The floors were heated in the rooms and bathrooms, which was a wonderful surprise, and the bathrooms had large flow shower heads. The breakfast was delicious and abundant...breads, jams, pate, cheese rounds, fruit, cereals, yogurts, coffee, juice, muffins, cake...the works.

Our family had a wonderful experience and would recommend to anyone looking for a stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at the Quinta and were thoroughly pleased. Tony and Penny are superb hosts and extremely helpful. The Quinta itself is an old estate which they have lovingly and beautifully restored and modernized. Many of the original furnishings remain and they are magnificent! Our room was very clean, comfortable, spacious and well appointed. It was so nice after a long journey to find fresh fruit, snacks and drinks (including a good bottle of Portuguese wine!) waiting in our room. Breakfast each day was outstanding and a real treat.
We enjoyed being in a relaxed and quiet country atmosphere, while still being very accessible to Lisbon and Sintra (which we visited from the Quinta during our stay) We have nothing negative to report, all was wonderful!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome by Tony n Penny to the wonderful country-home in Sintra added to the delight of the property. Set over 7 acres of land, the main house where they live is ages old and has been beautifully restored by them. There are 5-6 rooms that they let out which are by the pool. The room we stayed in on the ground level was huge with high ceilings and was very well kept. There are a couple of restaurants within a 10 mn walk. Ideal place away from the noisy world really rejuvenates you. A must visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ManojNNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed two nights with my family (wife, and son) and the impression we had was so great.
the room was so spacious and clean. there were of cause a bottle of wine, beers, cookies, drinks for free.

The owners are so kind and the explanation about the hotel and local restaurants was far more than detailed what I expected.

My wife gave a big thumb the first moment she entered the room. it was pleasant experiences in all aspect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algueirao - Mem Martins
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
786 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
The Late Birds Lisbon
The Late Birds Lisbon
#6 of 265 in Lisbon
294 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#3 of 265 in Lisbon
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pergola House
#2 of 42 in Cascais
335 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Scoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Scoto

Address: Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18, | Melcas, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Algueirao - Mem Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algueirao - Mem Martins
Price Range: £70 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Scoto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Scoto is a very different concept in Bed & Breakfast located close to both Sintra and Lisbon with 8 spacious luxury suites most sleeping up to 6, with en suite bathrooms. Some with separate sitting rooms/2nd bedrooms; furnished with antiques; set around a pool and sun terrace or in the traditional 1746 Manor House. Good access to local typical Portuguese restaurants and public transport; local railway station is a 10 minute walk away with access to Lisbon, Sintra, Obidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta do Scoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Scoto Portugal/Algueirao - Mem Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing