We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, comfortable B&B with gracious hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta do Scoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quinta do Scoto
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable B&B with gracious hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We loved staying at the quinto. Penny and Tony understand hospitality, and go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast buffet is expansive. My husband and I stayed in the Doña Maria room. It was incredibly spacious, well decorated, and comfortable. We used the near by train station to make trips into Sintra. The trains are clean and run on time. For a reasonable fee you can have your laundry done.

We highly recommend Quinta do scoto.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise09_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    29
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
218
203
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

From the moment we arrived, Tony and Penny were such wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt well looked after, especially while it was our baby's first holiday abroad! The selection, quality and freshness of the continental breakfast was outstanding, especially the bread.... and endless coffee! The standard of the accomodation was lovely, roomy and individual. The grounds were tranquil and spacious with the wonderful homely touch of friendly animals. Ideal setting for peaceful relaxation and getting away from the hussle and bussle with good local restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 36ellier75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent value for money! Superb accommodation - spacious room and bathroom in beautifully restored farmhouse. The room refrigerator was well stocked with (free) beer, water, soft drinks and there is a complimentary bottle of local wine. Wonderful outdoor pool, with good selection of sunny and shady seating areas. Tony and Penny, the host British couple, couldn't be more welcoming and, having lived in Portugal for a while, have an extensive experience of the area and life in Portugal as a whole.Their information packs and literature are second to none! The Quinta is ideally placed to visit Sintra and other parts west of Lisbon as well as Lisbon itself. Good and tasty continental breakfast. The locality has a good selection of cafes and restaurants all within walking distance. There is even a very welcoming 'locals' bar on nearby allotments!! This b&b is very difficult to beat and I couldn't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have good access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroTotnes_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The accommodation. location, food, and friendliness were just perfect for our special birthday holiday. Penny and Tony, and Charlotte were very helpful and could not do enough to assist us - with maps, directions, locations of good restaurants and bars, and simple travel details. Everything was just as we could have wished for. A big Thank You

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_B332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Honestly this has been the most charming and wonderful B&B experience I've ever had. Tony and Penny were so friendly and helpful. The grounds and rooms were incredibly renovated to their original state dating back to the 1700's. Such a charming environment that has me already dying to come back to. They were so helpful in giving local pointers about the area. I'm so glad we discovered this place and hope to one day return. Thank you so much Tony and Penny for an incredible and charming experience in Portugal!!!
-Shelby Groves

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Tony and Penny are amazing, friendly hosts! I have never stayed in a place where I felt more welcome. The rooms are perfectly clean and authentic to the time period. The only problem is we couldn't stay longer. I would suggest this place to anyone who is looking for a perfect cap to their vacation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Austin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Thank You Penny and Tony for two memorable days/nights !
What a delightful and home-like hotel you have created. Stylish, rural and personal at the same time.
We felt very welcome and important when we arrived.
We liked our room very much. Lot of space, beautifully set with portuguese furniture etc.
Great pool area. Wonderful continental breakfast with love.
Horses, greenery, rooster in the morning. It was like we were in a movie.
Also locationwise it is very good, close to everything but still very secluded.
We are so happy we found you at internet.
We hope to see you soon again. Good luck with your wonderful quinta. Ulf and Carl from Sweden

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ulf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algueirao - Mem Martins
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 229 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Scoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Scoto

Property: Quinta do Scoto
Address: Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18, | Melcas, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Algueirao - Mem Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algueirao - Mem Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Scoto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Scoto is a very different concept in Bed & Breakfast located close to both Sintra and Lisbon with 8 spacious luxury suites most sleeping up to 6, with en suite bathrooms. Some with separate sitting rooms/2nd bedrooms; furnished with antiques; set around a pool and sun terrace or in the traditional 1746 Manor House. Good access to local typical Portuguese restaurants and public transport; local railway station is a 10 minute walk away with access to Lisbon, Sintra, Obidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Quinta do Scoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Scoto Portugal/Algueirao - Mem Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing