We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best 5 days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle Nook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eagle Nook Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barkley Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Orting, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best 5 days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I just spent the best 5 days of my life fishing, watching whales, enjoying the peace and quite, and having my every need catered too. The fishing was great, the food was 5 star, the staff friendly and knowledgeable, and the views unbelievable. Dan took us fishing 20 miles offshore and we spent the entire day catching Kings, silvers, ling cod and halibut. I will return every year I can as it doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
29
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Eagle Nook Lodge Resort is a little gem in Barley Sound. You go for the nonstop fishing action with professional guides, but the experience offers so much more. The food is incredible, the service impeccable and personal, and the natural beauty abounds in every direction. The Lodge is so picturesque with hanging baskets of flowers nestled between two waterways. Just watching the boats, seaplanes and helicopters come and go is entertaining, but the hummingbirds, bald eagles, blue herons, seals, humpback whales, eagles and bear make it a paradise for those seeking mother nature. Fresh oysters on the BBQ are a treat! A spa, hot tub, comfortable lounge area, game room, library, along with bocce ball, horseshoes, hiking, paddle boards, kayaks and nature tours give everyone a variety of fun options when not out fishing. Eagle Nook Lodge is great for the whole family, friends, business or even solo. Everyone is so friendly, and when you come home with a freezer full of fish, it can't be beat!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view and are similar. I would choose the marina views first. The water views on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan C, Company Secretary/Shareholder at Eagle Nook Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Lynne D,
We were delighted to hear that you went home with a lot of fish...fishing is excellent this season. Appreciate your staying with us and for your kind comments, I will be sure to share with our team. jc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

There is no better place to experience the wonders of the Broken Islands wilderness than the luxury Eagle Nook Resort. The Staff are friendly and offer first class service. Fishing for Salmon or Halibut is great in Sea worthy Boats and knowledgeable Guides. I have been back 5 times in 2 Years and i still marvel the beauty of Nature in that Region. It is ideal for a Family that wants to experience Nature or serious Fishing and still come back to Luxury accommodation and Michelin-star quality cuisine.
Jason

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan C, Company secretary/Shareholder at Eagle Nook Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Jason,
Thanks so much for staying with us again and again....and for taking time to let us know of your latest experience. We appreciate your business and kind comments and I will be sure to share them with our team. jc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Eagle Nook Resort and Spa was a great vacation get-away. First class accommodations with comfy beds and water views from all rooms. Chef James was amazing from homemade breakfast pastries to elegant dinner entrees. We all loved his signature Halibut and creme brulee! The entire staff were friendly and attentive to our every need which made it feel like a relaxing vacation.
Various hiking trails rated easy to strenuous. Spa, (I had the massage which was wonderful after reeling in fish all day) paddle boarding, kayaking, hot tubing, one target golf green or relaxing on the sunny deck with a book, there were activities for everyone. For the nature lover, we saw several eagles and a black bear.
Oh, the reason we booked in the first place...Great fishing! Friendly and hard working guides and dock hands! I liked the fishing boats because they each had a head.
We would definitely go back to Eagle Nook Resort and Spa.

Room Tip: A fishing lodge fit for a king but your wives, girlfriends and kids would love it too. All rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCH425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan C, Company Secretary/Shareholder at Eagle Nook Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear DCH425,

We are delighted you had such a relaxing vacation and that everything met or exceed your expectations. We are very proud of all our team members both in the Lodge and the Fishing Guides. The fishing is exceptionally good this season.Looking forward to seeing you again soon. jc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Eagle Nook facilities, management, service, staff, dining, and local wild life (eagles, bears, crows, herons, whales, hummingbirds, etc.) all contribute one to the best experiences that you will remember for life. And then there’s the salmon fishing – you will not find a better place than Barkley Sound, nor will you find a better fishing crew to guide you than the folks at Lucky Sportfishing. Eagle Nook, appropriately named I might add, is a very special place with a most professional staff. Don’t miss it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan C, Company Secretary/Shareholder at Eagle Nook Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Harry M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent experience at Eagle Nook Resort. We agree and feel very privileged to offer our guest' such a pristine and beautiful location. The fishing is exceptionally good this season. We hope to see you again. jc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

After perfectly arranging our boat pick-up from Ucluclet, Dan and crew took us on a spactacular boat ride through the Broken Islands Group to Barclay Sound, where we wove our way through the many beautiful treed islands and rocky outcrops. We rounded the corner to see the most amazing lodge you could imagine, with super friendly staff waiting to take our bags for us. Everything continued first-class from there - the crackling fireplace, the gourmet meals, the beautiful views, and Tim - our fishing guide - who took exceptional care of a teenager and his grandfather who wanted to spend time fishing together. Each menu item was fresh, delicious, and unique in its own way (thanks James!). This was an experience like no other and was worth every penny. Our fish was expertly filleted and boxed up by the staff, and is now waiting in our freezer for us to enjoy for the next few months! Many thanks to each and every person at Lucky Sportfishing and the Eagle Nook Lodge for a most incredible trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The4Hannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan C, Secretary/Shareholder at Eagle Nook Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear 4Hannas,
How special for a teenager to spend time out fishing with a grandfather in such spectacular scenery. Each time you have some of the salmon I'm sure it will bring back memories and you will have lots of stories to tell. Thank you for staying with us, we hope we might see you again. jc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

World class resort, food and fishing! You cannot go wrong at Eagle Nook! The fishing guides are super competent and personable. The resort staff is very attentive without being in the way. I had an excellent time and caught a lot of fish. Their location and lodge is the best in the region for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan C, Company Secretary/Shareholder at Eagle Nook Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Wayne,
Glad to hear you caught lots of fish... there's more out there, so, we hope to see you again. jc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barkley Sound
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Nook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Nook Resort

Property: Eagle Nook Resort
Address: British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Barkley Sound
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Barkley Sound
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Barkley Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Nook Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Nook is an impressive Salmon and Halibut fishing destination. Along with kayaking and adventure whale watching tours all on the shores of the West Coast of Vancouver Island. You'll find a cozy atmosphere with double room accommodations, all with bathrooms en suite. With 23 guest rooms, all with water view, a dining room with vaulted ceilings overlooking Vernon Bay, media room and patios overlooking both Vernon and Jane Bays, Eagle Nook Resort is one of the most impressive resorts on the West Coast. After a day of adventure, enjoy a relaxing massage, unwind in the Jacuzzi, or just relax and watch the sun go down while sitting on one of our patios. The ocean view dining room and lounge are the gathering points where adventure stories can be shared at the end of a great day in the outdoors. With its splendid wilderness location, luxurious feeling, and numerous indoor and outdoor activities, a room at Eagle Nook Resort is the perfect home base for an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Eagle Nook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Nook Hotel Barkley Sound
Eagle Nook Resort And Spa
Eagle Nook Ocean Wilderness Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing