We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Heaven...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bububu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a feast to the eye and all your senses. A week after my holiday the image captured from the veranda of Kilimanjaro II was still lingering before my eyes...

We arrived late and were welcomed by the reception manager Vera. She gave us quick tips, pre-paid mobile phones to keep in touch with her, with the hotel driver and with each other. My friends checked in the Honeymoon bungaloo and I had Kilimanjaro II.

Spacious, airy, exquisite, arranged with a lot of style and personal touch. Just check out the photo gallery on Hakuna Matata's website - it's just the same!

Staff were absolutely professional and outstanding in terms of friendliness and flair to make you feel good. The restaurant and the food - exceptional. The breakfast is plentiful, there is a daily menu for lunch and dinner and hours are fixed.

The garden is lush and beautiful, there is a small swimming pool and many secret corners to admire the view and relax. The beach isn't big but I happened to be all by myslelf in early mornings. The water was perfect for swimming. Sunset was captivating.

There is an excursion desk where you can select a number of trips or activities and they are also in charge of private transfers to Stonetown or airport.

Vera was available 24 hours a day and she turned up immediately when I called her after midnight to say I had an emergency in the bathroom and hot water came flodding in the bungalow. She and Herry resolved the issue temporarily and moved me to another bungalow the next day.

There was WIFI in the area but the coverage was not very good and there was surcharge for it. On the other hand we were allowed to check out at 5 p.m. free of charge.

We spent three days at Hakuna Matata, it brought happiness from inside and outside and staying longer would have been equal to staying in heaven...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogdana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hakuna Matata came highly recommended by a colleague and he was absolutely right. From our hibiscus cocktails(historic) on arrival to afternoon tea and cake, proceeding to superb evening meals and breakfasts we can only praise Fritz, Rose and the team for making our stay so fantastic.
We stayed in a comfort room which was well appointed with lovely views over the private beach. The estate is stunning, with amazing views/sunsets and beautifully managed gardens/swimming pools. Trips into stonetown are easy (12 kms away), either by taxi ($25 return or local transport)
All well and good, but this just isnt it. Fritz and Rose are an extraordinary couple, who have invested enormously in their staff, training them to an extremely high standard, as well as supporting them professionally with their careers by arranging for them to go abroad for further training. They retired from the venture, having built everything up themselves from scratch only to return at the insistence of the Tanzanian government when a subsequent venture failed.....Thank goodness they did!
One of the highlights of our african trip was to go to the private sandbank to go snorkelling and then have lunch. The coral garden was superb and we both thought this was one of the most special days we have ever had together.
we are not the kind of people to write gushy reviews but here it is. Hakuna Matata is one of the few places I would return to. We highly recommend you try it.

Room Tip: i am sure all the rooms are lovely. we stayed in zanzibari 1overlooking the private beach....lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaylovesWBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I booked our last night in Zanzibar at Hakuna Matata as a treat! And it did not dissapoint.
What a beautiful location and resort. Hidden away from the hussle and bussle of the main road this lodge is located on its own beach with magnificent views over the ocean from the resturant area. Hakuna Matata is not a large resort and you really get the personalised touch with the staff recognising you and attending to all your needs. As we only had one night here after a safari we really appreciated the space and comfort of the bungalow and grounds.
The bungalow was spacious, with a huge clean bathroom, private balcony, air cond. a fan and huge very comfortable bed and devine pellows. Our Bungalow was set back from the sea view, but we didnt mind as it was closer to the beautiful white washed pool.
The resturant was surperb, service brilliant and food delicious. The view was breathtaking and we spent a little longer sitting at our table just to enjoy it after a meal.
As our time was limited and I wanted to visit Prison island the tour staff were more than happy to organise a private boat tour from the lodge to the island as soon as I requested we go.
Thank you to all the staff at Hakuna Matata we had a wonderful time at this property and only wish we had longer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeH012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Hakuna Matata Lodge and had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The service was excellent and the staff just can't do enough for you which makes you feel rather special. The food here was exceptionally good, there wasn't a meal we didn't love. We decided to go in to Stonetown a couple of times for dinner but found it no better than at HML but it is definitely a great experience. One evening they did a Chakalaka Night on the private beach and it was a wonderful experience complete with a fire on the beach..........very romantic. The rooms are neat and clean and every day the cleaners put an abundance of fresh tropical flowers all around the room and the frangipani fragrance is delightful! The only down side to our stay was the bed and pillows. Our mattress was foam on top of a concrete pad and we did not find it comfortable at all. Also the pillow was very strange like a large European size pillow case with loose polyester filling in it. We overlooked all this because everything else about HML was so good. If they changed the bed and pillows to an inner spring mattress and normal comfortable pillows this place would be perfect! Loved our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bagamoyo 2 which was located in the far back corner of the property. It was peaceful an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have been working in Zanzibar for a few years and really know the resorts and operations on the Island quite well. I had the privilege to stay in Hakuna Matata a few weeks ago whilst on a business trip. First off, the staff is absolutely brilliant and they all make such an amazing team, the owners Rose and Fritz are very hands on with the guests and staff, this in not just their resort but it is their home, you feel welcome and see the passion they have for what they love. Then, I cannot express this more, pictures wont do, and you need to try it for yourself... But the food is out of this world. It is honestly the best food that I have ever had, they make each and every meal extremely special. If you are looking for a romantic, quiet get-away this is truly the place to go. Also if you are looking to get married in Zanzibar I would highly recommend Hakuna Matata. I am definitely visiting this resort again, this time dragging my husband with me!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janinesmith1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This August was my second visit to Hakuna Matata. It is private ,wonderfully positioned with most amazing views in the location creating calm and piece from busy town. The staff is extremely well trained ( suppose by Rose) the most amazing food ,which is not only innovative but using the freshest ingredients and creations of spices and flavours which are uniques. Attention to detail by creating piece in heaven . I will return back .

Room Tip: I suppose all the rooms are excellent but I old choose rooms which are front row
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed 5 wonderful days at Hakuna Matata. The Location with its private beach, colourful garden and nice different hidden places to relax, to enjoi the sundowner or afternoon tea is marvelous. We stayed in a room just a few steps from the beach, which was very tastefully decorated.The whole staff is very friendly, warm and also professional.The cuisine is excellent.
We are looking forward to our next stay at Hakuna Matata
Helmut und Petra, Berlin

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bububu
1.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
535 reviews
13.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,710 reviews
17.8 mi away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,786 reviews
25 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
14.5 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge

Address: Chuini Palace Ruins, Bububu, Tanzania (Formerly Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bububu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bububu
Price Range: £138 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuna Matata Beach Hotel Bububu
Hakuna Matata Beach Bububu
Chuini Zanzibar Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Bububu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing