We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arlberg Stuben
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Stuben
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel is quiet good. You can choose between a budget type of room or a more comfortable one with bathroom facilities inside the room. The staff is friendly and so are the owners! They do offer you even a wash for your bike.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForAHonestReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    24
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent a night here on our way from Belgium to Italy.
We were surprised by the size of the rooms, it was welcome as we were with the motorbike, so with a lot of equipment to dry ;-)
We did not find an elevator, but we did not really look for it.
Some staff member were speaking French or English, which helped.
Check-in and check-out took quite some time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom77450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is "just" a review of the restaurant of the "Sporthotel Arlberg". We just dropped in, not expecting any culinary delights but were completely surprised by the excellent cuisine.
Full range of classic Austrian dishes. Just try the local and/or seasonal specialties, too.
Beware: most dishes come in two sizes: small and normal, but the small version is more than enough for most guests. Check out the larger versions if you have spent hours on the slopes or if spent the day cutting wood.
Extremely tasty and well-presented food. Very attentive service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stuben is a small village with good access to the St. Anton ski area, and fantastic off-piste. The Sporthotel Arlberg is very conveniently located within a short walk (about 5 minutes) from the lift station. There are drag lifts and slopes adjacent to the hotel, but these are for beginners only.

Note that the hotel is across the road from the main part of the village, so you need to be careful crossing the road, which can be quite busy. This would be a disadvantage if travelling with children. A pedestrian crossing would be a good addition.

This was my 3rd trip to Stuben, 5th to St.Anton overall. I have stayed at the Sporthotel Arlberg for the last 2 years. The staff (especially Sandra, the proprietor) are unfailing helpful and welcoming. The food is excellent, the rooms are spacious and well equipped. The hotel is quiet at night which is great for quality sleep. The boot room is secure and heated. When checking in, you can ask reception to book your lift passes and you'll get them at breakfast the next morning. The Wellness Centre (sauna, steam-room, etc.) is very good.

One of our party had an accident, and the hotel staff were extremely helpful, offering advice, ordering taxis, providing food late at night after the kitchen had closed.

Note: if you're looking for night-life then Stuben isn't really the place to go, you're better off heading to St. Anton itself. Getting to and from St.Anton is a bit awkward by bus (you have change buses), and taxis are the only option at night.

If you use the Arlberg Express coach from Zurich, it stops right across the road from the hotel.

Overall: an excellent advertisement for Austrian hospitality. I love it, and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Sporthotel in Stuben is my choice for the Arlberg ski area because it give access to both Lech and St Anton ski area with the same ski pass. I tend to agree with all of the good comments about this hotel, especially about the excellent quality of food and the variety of choice offered for breakfast, from smoked salmon to fresh squash fruits, fresh pastries, ham salami varieties of cheese, and dozens of infusions and teas. Will go back again.

Room Tip: Send a message to the owner ms Sandra and she will do her best to satisfy your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel was great for a ski week! The rooms are large and tidy, they have a dedicated ski room with a boot dryer, breakfast is hardy, the staff is WONDERFUL, and the views are magnificent. You can buy your lift passes at the hotel (easy-peasy) and access the whole of St. Anton from the lift right in front of the hotel.

The only reason I didn't give this hotel five stars is because the location is a bit isolated. There are four or five good dinner restaurants within 5 minutes walking, but that is about it......no large bars or clubs or anything if that is what you are looking for. Bus service is good to and from Lech but not so good to and from St.Anton, especially if you want to go into the village at night after the lifts are closed. You can ski into and out of St. Anton from Stuben, but only (obviously) when the lifts are running.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will Work for Plane Tickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

MANY HOTELS NAMED “SPORTHOTEL” IN ARLBERG
This Sporthotel is located in Stuben, in the region of Arlberg, Austria and is known as the “Sportcafe” to the locals. There are apparently other "Sporthotel’s" within the Arlberg region so be sure that you are reviewing and/or booking the correct location! The village of Stuben lies within a small mountainous valley and is comprised of approximately 25 buildings, all of which are various types of accommodation or restaurants or combination thereof. Stuben does not have much of a night life but there are a handful of popular bar hang-outs, sometimes featuring live music, and a decent collection of restaurants and cafés. We typically hit the slopes at 9:00 am and were in bed by 10:00 pm so late night reveling didn’t matter to us much.

SKIING FROM THE VILLAGE OF STUBEN
We chose Stuben because it offered good value for the money while having close access to ski Zurs and Lech (more upscale and generally an older crowd) to the northeast plus St Christoph and St Anton (more urban and a generally younger crowd) to the southeast. From Stuben, you can ski to St Anton and St. Christoph but must take a 10 minute bus ride to Zurs and Lech (20 minutes), unless you take the Valluga II chair (possibly with a guide only) and ski off-piste. You could say Stuben is a good, overall mid-way point.

The Albona ski lift in Stuben is a 1 or 2 minute walk from virtually every hotel location. Very few of the hotels are absolute ski-in/ski-out. Once you ski to the Alpe Rauz chairlift, you can hop on the free bus designed for skiers that will take you to Zurs, Lech or St Anton on a regular scheduled basis - not sure about St Christoph as we didn't go, but I imagine the bus goes there too. The downside to this “seat-less” bus is that it is usually crowded and as a result, you may not be able to squeeze your way onto the first one that passes by. It’s certainly an adventure hanging on to your skis while standing, with the bus jetting along the curvy mountain passes! Alternatively, the regular bus costs 8 euro for an all-you-can-ride day pass and drops off in Stuben in front of the “Hotel Post” bus stop, which is located across the road from Sporthotel.

HOTEL LOCATION
The Sporthotel is the only hotel on the one side of the two lane, main roadway and is flanked by the beginner chairlifts of Anger and Walch – therefore if you have young children who will be spending their days on the bunny hill – this would be ideal. The remaining hotels and restaurants are across the road, as is the ski rental equipment shop, ski school and the Albona ski lift. Diagonally across the road from the Sporthotel is the well known, Hotel Post, which is also where the bus stop is located. Even so, Stuben is so small that it takes only seconds to cross the street, which is not very busy anyways, and be in the thick of things.

ROOMS
The hotel décor is traditional Austrian, extremely clean and very well kept. There are no elevators but a winding staircase up to 3 separate floors. We had a balcony off our room and were surrounded by distant mountain scenery. Bring all your own toiletries as only liquid hand soap is provided. The rooms have flat screen TV’s, phones, hairdryers, towels and bathrobes. Some rooms have been renovated but may cost a bit more per night. The bed is extremely comfortable and the white sheets, pillowcases and duvet cover are so crisp that you’d swear they are brand new. As is customary in Europe, a king size bed is actually two single beds squeezed together but it's hardly noticeable except that each person also has their own single size duvet. If you are a light or late sleeper, it might be wise to request a quiet room away from the main road to avoid the sound of folks stomping in and out of the front door with their ski boots and snow plows/snow blowing machines that rev up around 6:30 am. While you can request a smoke-free room, very late at night, I did notice a slight sense of cigarette smoke wafting up the stairwell from the bar area, but then again, I am extremely sensitive to smoke. By the next morning, it was so well aired out and fresh smelling, you would be unable to decipher that a group of people had been smoking in the bar the night before.

FOOD AND BEVERAGE
The restaurant is absolutely and completely smoke free at all times, which is tough to find in Europe. Our stay included breakfast, après ski snack between 3 and 5 pm and a prix-fixe, four course dinner. Guests of other hotels would also come to the Sporthotel to enjoy dinner and lounge in the bar. Without exaggeration, the food at Sporthotel is absolutely incredible! It can only be described as gourmet cuisine which included creative dishes featuring pork tenderloin, duck, beef roulade, lamb, cream soups, crispy warm buns, crème brûlée - the list goes on and on! The fresh quality, stunning presentation, perfect portion size and delicious taste and flavour would rival the best, high-end restaurants in Manhattan. The après ski snack varied from day-to-day and would sometimes run out before it should, but if you ask the server for more, they will replenish. A "must try" during snack time is the home-made strudel drenched in crème anglaise. Lunch or other foods and beverages can be purchased from the menu at any time. If I had to nitpick, I’d say breakfast did become a bit repetitive with boiled eggs, sliced meats and cheeses and yogurt with granola – but still, it was very fresh and flavorful. There is also a very nice looking pizza restaurant at the base of the hotel but we never had a chance to try it.

AMMENITIES
We never tried the “Wellness Centre” but it looked recently renovated and was spotlessly clean. There were 3 different types of shower rooms (rainwater etc), a sauna, a steam room etc and a small outdoor hottub. Don’t forget to bring some flip-flop type shoes to walk out on the short, snowy but shoveled path to the hottub – the robes and fluffy towels are provided. There is a boot drying room whose equipment looks pretty new and you can conveniently buy your ski pass at the reception desk and head for the slopes immediately. The ski school is across the street, below the Hotel Post but the guide will meet you at your hotel if you wish. Group and private lessons are also top notch. Next to the ski school is a modern ski rental shop with an excellent selection of high end brand names. Wireless internet is available for free within the Sporthotel by asking for a "ticket" at the reception desk however the signal strength is often fair to weak. There is a small bar, where smoking is permitted, next to the reception area with a healthy ebb and flow of patrons and good, lively conversation. We would often converge at the bar, both before and after dinner for some traditional schnapps and it was fun to engage with other international guests. The bar was well stocked but a dedicated bar staff would have made for faster service. The staff are very friendly and helpful, most speak English well and all feel like close friends just after a few days!

Overall, the atmosphere of the hotel is warm and inviting, the food was fantastic and we would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saklamaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuben
0.0 mi away
Apres Post Hotel
Apres Post Hotel
#3 of 4 in Stuben
36 reviews
12.1 mi away
Explorer Hotel Montafon
Explorer Hotel Montafon
#3 of 13 in Gaschurn
124 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sporthotel Silvretta Montafon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#11 of 52 in Lech
162 reviews
16.0 mi away
Alpinresort Damuls
Alpinresort Damuls
#1 of 7 in Damuls
41 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#3 of 52 in Lech
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arlberg Stuben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arlberg Stuben

Property: Hotel Arlberg Stuben
Address: Arlbergstrasse 50, Stuben 6762, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Arlberg)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Stuben
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Stuben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arlberg Stuben 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Hotel Arlberg Stuben is located in the small village of Stuben am Arlberg, right next to the ski lifts. It offers free Wi-Fi and free private parking.The Sporthotel features a 100 m² spa area with a Finnish sauna, a Turkish steam bath and an infrared sauna, as well as an outdoor jacuzzi with mountain views. All spa facilities can be used free of charge.The lounge has an open fireplace and a tiled stove. Hotel Arlberg Stuben also offers a sun terrace and a small library. All rooms offer views of the surrounding mountains, and most feature balconies with deck chairs. Facilities include flat-screen TVs with free pay TV (in German) and headphones. The à la carte restaurant serves an extensive breakfast buffet. Half-board includes an afternoon buffet (in winter) and a 4-course dinner.In summer, the Active Inclusive Card is included in the price for stays of more than 3 nights. It includes a wide range of free activities, benefits and reductions throughout the Arlberg region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Arlberg Stuben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing