We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mondschein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mondschein
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stuben
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We really enjoyed our week's stay at this family run cosy hotel dating back to the 1730ies. The downstairs dining rooms and comfy lounge (with open log fire) are full of character and entice you to chat with other guests. The main dining room for evening meals is extremely tastefully and efficiently furnished. All the staff were super friendly and happy to share our 'British humour'. They were most accomodating to me not eating any meat (up to the point of not adding the special bacon into a gorgeously tasting soup) and eager to supply any egg dishes for breakfast you could think of. All the food was extremely tasty and creatively put together.
Only slight disappointment was the rather chilly pool and not enough relaxation space around the sauna area. But the educational wine tasting session given by the hotel's owner certainly made up for any shortcoming. A unique hotel!

Room Tip: Worth going for the slightly bigger rooms on higher floors - super view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Luise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    19
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

After an easy short self-drive transfer from Innsbruck, received a warm welcome from Sara on reception on arrival. The luggage was taken up to the two adjacent 'Smart' rooms while we moved the car to the free parking area just down the road. Skis go into a room to the side of the hotel, accessed from outside while there is a heated boot room near to reception with full length bench seat - although it is a little narrow so gets a bit cramped at busy times.

We had kept the cost to a minimum by choosing the cosy 'Smart' style rooms. It is a bit of a squeeze, but they are attractive, clean, with good side views to the mountains and well designed, providing plenty of storage and drying areas.

Breakfasts were continental buffet style, with some variety in the pastries and cakes on offer. Service was excellent throughout the hotel, with everyone speaking very good English and getting to know you. Dinner is 5 courses and of excellent quality, healthy and fresh. You chose main course at breakfast each day. The only slight grumble was the occasional extended delay between some courses. Apres ski snacks are provided free of charge, surprisingly also offering a savoury option, you just pay for drinks.

We made use of the pool area every day, going down in the robes provided in the rooms and making use of the plentiful towels available. It was surprisingly quiet, no children allowed in the sauna and well maintained. It is a shame there isn't also a Jacuzzi and the pool was a little cool some days (26 degrees) but a sauna and a few lengths in the pool helped avoid après ski aches.

The bar is lovely and cosy and was quite lively but as this is the only area where smoking is permitted, we tended to avoid it and play cards in the comfy lounge with sofas and roaring fire (and beautifully decorated Christmas tree) or in the room next door with plenty of card tables.
Don't miss the special events, like the wine tasting with visit to the amazing cellar where a snack was provided.

It is a short walk to the local lift which is a slow 2 man chair but it connects into the whole Arlberg ski region. We also used the car sometimes to drive to other start points finding free parking in both Lech and Zurs. Ski bus, post bus and train all provide plenty of other options for transport in the area.

Stuben is very small and quiet and we didn't bother trying any of the other hotel bars. The Strolz ski hire shop is a very short walk away, great service and kit, but this seemed very expensive. We chose to drive a few kilometres to Wald and hire from Skibase which saved quite a lot. More rustic and maybe less choice but we had top of the range skis and we were happy with all the equipment and the friendly service (again very good English). Obviously not so handy if you need to go back and change anything.

We paid to use the underground parking on the last night since there was snow forecast. Being at the bottom of the pass up to Lech, we managed with just snow tyres and no snow chains.

Overall a great holiday - recommended - and a much better experience than Christmas in La Plagne, France two years ago!

Room Tip: Would go for a larger room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weej0ckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We really enjoyed this friendly, family run hotel - have booked for next year already. Staff are so friendly, caring and helpful, especially Sarah, Isobel and Marcus. Food is fabulous - five courses each night, which you can justify after all that skiing. There are log fires and plump sofas in the candlelit sitting room, and a seperate bar with the 'nail game' - our children loved it, The location is great for accessing lifts to St Anton and St. Chrisophe, and everything is soooo efficient. Fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecookesathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Having frequented the old Mondschein quite often (before the building of the new appendix and the rise to four stars) I was rather curious, how it would feel: quite simply - great. I arranged my trip on rather short notice; since the hotel was rather booked out I 've ende up in the student room close to the staff quarter. Having been told in advance to expect a rather basic room (at a corresponding rate) my expectations were low. Surprisingly, the room was more charming than expected - so far so good (fyi: private shower, but shared toilet - not to everyones liking and certainly not my first choice, but I rather have a basic room and..). So here it comes: the quality of the food and drinks (excellent wines out if the remarkable wine cellar) is excellent. Top notch. The cat's pyjamas. Staff is very friendly and competent, simply great. A short walk from the lift makes it a convenient location, but this is Stuben, so most places are close to the lift. If you like skiing, good food and (particularly Austrian) wines - there's your place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DanielB2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe, CA
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This was the fifth year in a row I have stayed at the Mondschein and every year it gets better. It was great 5 years ago and doesn't seem possible to get better every year, but Eva Maria and Markus continue to refine their hotel experience with small details that make the experience stand out. A nice fire is always burning in the cozy sitting room and the heated towel racks in the bathroom make a shower an exhilarating experience. The food is fresh and tastes great, I had a traditional Austrian knoedel dish that was completely satisfying after a long day on the sunny slopes of Stuben. It has become a tradition to visit Stuben and the Mondschein. I could stay at any hotel in Stuben, but the Mondschein is definitely a place I look forward to visiting again and again. The pillows are filled with a mix of organic material designed to help with a better sleep. Every morning I woke up refreshed and ready for another killer day on the mountain. The breakfast buffet is awesome and they have a coffee machine that you can drink any variety of coffee drink or hot chocolate. The bar is also a great place to party, if you feel in the mood. It's easy to go that direction because the whole town of Stuben seems to be in a relaxed, party style atmosphere. I would definitely recommend the Mondschein. It is a great 4 star hotel with the best service and comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Albona. The view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamBK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto,Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Can't comment on then hotel's a accommodation , but after skiing fromSt Anton to the village of Stuben , which we've done on two previous trips ,we decided to try a new place for lunch .
Entering the hotel's restaurant , we immediately warmed to the traditional look , we're warmly welcomed, and sat down to a beer and light lunch .
There were seven of us that day , and five chose the goulash , two the Hirsch (deer) sausage , with pickled onions dill pickle and horse radish and mustard.
All meals were accompanied by excellent breads.
We can recommend the ski trip from S t Anton to Stuben , and when you arrive , DO treat yourself to lunch at the Mondschein ; we'd go back in a heartbeat!,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Mondschein in Feb and had a great time. Excellent skiing and access to all the Arlberg resorts via local chairlift or bus. Food was great with really good service from the owners and the dining room staff. Stayed in a comfort room which is recommended for the week long stay. Stuben is quiet but slopes are uncrowded and short bus ride to Lech and Zurs which have excellent skiing. Try and book lunches ahead of time if you are going to places like the Rud Alpe in Lech which has great food and views. Recommended for those who want to ski/snowboard full on for a week. If the snows good.......do it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuben
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Stuben
Hotel Arlberg Stuben
#3 of 4 in Stuben
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apres Post Hotel
Apres Post Hotel
#4 of 4 in Stuben
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hubertushof
Hubertushof
#2 of 4 in Stuben
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Arlberg Hospiz Hotel
Arlberg Hospiz Hotel
#1 of 3 in St. Christoph am Arlberg
199 reviews
4.5 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
281 reviews
4.8 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondschein

Property: Hotel Mondschein
Address: Hannes-Schneider-Promenade 9, Stuben 6762, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Stuben
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stuben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Ski-Hotel Mondschein is situated at the heart of Stuben, in the Hannes-Schneider- Promenade 9. Just two minutes on foot to the ski-lifts offering access to all 83 lifts of the Arlberg. One Ski-Pass gives access to the whole Arlberg Ski-region.•Our Hotel is well known for its outstanding kitchen and our wine cellar has been nurtured and developed for decades. •Daily fresh baked bread, free of additives, air-dried speck, venison, home cured and smoked salmon, homemade preserves . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing