We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Holiday To Remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mondschein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mondschein
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stuben
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Holiday To Remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a fabulous holiday. We have just returned from Austria having spent one of the most enjoyable holidays in a long time. The hotel cannot be faulted. From a great reception, from reception, to modern rooms with endless hot water! The food is to die for, thank goodness for skiing, it meant you could eat and keep fit!! The hotel owners are around all the time and the staff are warm and friendly and nothing is a problem for them. Who ever you are, they welcome you into their hotel like a long lost friend. It truely is a wonderful experience. Stuben is for the warm and cosy, but there are other towns with night life and shopping if you need that kind of thing, but, you won't find another hotel like 'Hotel Mondschein' because they are the best!

Room Tip: the only difference are the sizes, they are all quiet and you ca't here from above or next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chef18Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    19
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stuben is, I imagine, a throwback to ski locations of old- a small village with no shops, other than a local convenience store and a ski shop so the hotel is a place where you will spend plenty of time. The Hotel Mondschein is as good a hotel as I have stayed in for skiing, and we were three families with children aged from 8 to 14 The rooms are perfectly designed with great storage for helmets, goggles, ski clothes etc. The staff make every effort and it is only five minutes form the station at Langen so our journey back to Zurich after skiing could not have been simpler.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NN67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Como, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

My very 1st visit to the hotel Mondschein & mst impressed with the relaxed atmosphere & the friendly service. My room was very modern, clean and spacious with a stunning mountain view to the Albona. The 5 course evening menus are well designed and just as impressive as the food in the Gaststube. I particularly enjoyed sampling the Flädlesuppe and the Kaiserschmarren on Monday night. All washed down with a glass of Zweigelt.
I travelled alone with a 6 month old baby and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to fellow travelers, friends and family and I will certainly be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

A great place to stay. We were really surprised by the ease with which we were able to access the whole of the Arlberg Ski- region. We were warmly welcomed by Markus and we were shown our room before we actually got the keys - to ensure satisfaction. The view down the valley was quite stunning. The room was extremely well laid out and I loved the practicality and compactness of the bathroom. Highly efficient shower.
All the amenities - bar, log fire, dining room and pool area are just as in the brochure. In fact the pictures don't do the atmosphere of the place justice. Just a great and cosy place to stay. Oh - I nearly forgot. The food is really down-to-earth, local and tasty. No chance of hoping that the skiing would help you lose weight. The evenings make you put it all back on.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

A late and overdue review.
Went for Christmas and New Year package a couple of years ago.
Fantastic hotel - very homely and friendly. Did not feel like staying in a hotel at all.

Great location and great for families. Christmas eve was great and the night in the mountain hut.

Hope to go again in the future - highly recommend.

Room Tip: we had the room with log fire for a couple of nights - was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjbrown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We really enjoyed our week's stay at this family run cosy hotel dating back to the 1730ies. The downstairs dining rooms and comfy lounge (with open log fire) are full of character and entice you to chat with other guests. The main dining room for evening meals is extremely tastefully and efficiently furnished. All the staff were super friendly and happy to share our 'British humour'. They were most accomodating to me not eating any meat (up to the point of not adding the special bacon into a gorgeously tasting soup) and eager to supply any egg dishes for breakfast you could think of. All the food was extremely tasty and creatively put together.
Only slight disappointment was the rather chilly pool and not enough relaxation space around the sauna area. But the educational wine tasting session given by the hotel's owner certainly made up for any shortcoming. A unique hotel!

Room Tip: Worth going for the slightly bigger rooms on higher floors - super view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Luise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

After an easy short self-drive transfer from Innsbruck, received a warm welcome from Sara on reception on arrival. The luggage was taken up to the two adjacent 'Smart' rooms while we moved the car to the free parking area just down the road. Skis go into a room to the side of the hotel, accessed from outside while there is a heated boot room near to reception with full length bench seat - although it is a little narrow so gets a bit cramped at busy times.

We had kept the cost to a minimum by choosing the cosy 'Smart' style rooms. It is a bit of a squeeze, but they are attractive, clean, with good side views to the mountains and well designed, providing plenty of storage and drying areas.

Breakfasts were continental buffet style, with some variety in the pastries and cakes on offer. Service was excellent throughout the hotel, with everyone speaking very good English and getting to know you. Dinner is 5 courses and of excellent quality, healthy and fresh. You chose main course at breakfast each day. The only slight grumble was the occasional extended delay between some courses. Apres ski snacks are provided free of charge, surprisingly also offering a savoury option, you just pay for drinks.

We made use of the pool area every day, going down in the robes provided in the rooms and making use of the plentiful towels available. It was surprisingly quiet, no children allowed in the sauna and well maintained. It is a shame there isn't also a Jacuzzi and the pool was a little cool some days (26 degrees) but a sauna and a few lengths in the pool helped avoid après ski aches.

The bar is lovely and cosy and was quite lively but as this is the only area where smoking is permitted, we tended to avoid it and play cards in the comfy lounge with sofas and roaring fire (and beautifully decorated Christmas tree) or in the room next door with plenty of card tables.
Don't miss the special events, like the wine tasting with visit to the amazing cellar where a snack was provided.

It is a short walk to the local lift which is a slow 2 man chair but it connects into the whole Arlberg ski region. We also used the car sometimes to drive to other start points finding free parking in both Lech and Zurs. Ski bus, post bus and train all provide plenty of other options for transport in the area.

Stuben is very small and quiet and we didn't bother trying any of the other hotel bars. The Strolz ski hire shop is a very short walk away, great service and kit, but this seemed very expensive. We chose to drive a few kilometres to Wald and hire from Skibase which saved quite a lot. More rustic and maybe less choice but we had top of the range skis and we were happy with all the equipment and the friendly service (again very good English). Obviously not so handy if you need to go back and change anything.

We paid to use the underground parking on the last night since there was snow forecast. Being at the bottom of the pass up to Lech, we managed with just snow tyres and no snow chains.

Overall a great holiday - recommended - and a much better experience than Christmas in La Plagne, France two years ago!

Room Tip: Would go for a larger room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weej0ckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuben
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Stuben
Hotel Arlberg Stuben
#3 of 4 in Stuben
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apres Post Hotel
Apres Post Hotel
#4 of 4 in Stuben
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hubertushof
Hubertushof
#2 of 4 in Stuben
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Arlberg Hospiz Hotel
Arlberg Hospiz Hotel
#1 of 3 in St. Christoph am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.5 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.8 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondschein

Property: Hotel Mondschein
Address: Hannes-Schneider-Promenade 9, Stuben 6762, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Stuben
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stuben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Ski-Hotel Mondschein is situated at the heart of Stuben, in the Hannes-Schneider- Promenade 9. Just two minutes on foot to the ski-lifts offering access to all 83 lifts of the Arlberg. One Ski-Pass gives access to the whole Arlberg Ski-region.•Our Hotel is well known for its outstanding kitchen and our wine cellar has been nurtured and developed for decades. •Daily fresh baked bread, free of additives, air-dried speck, venison, home cured and smoked salmon, homemade preserves . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing