We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel, especially for Schubertiade”

Gasthof Landhaus Schiffle
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthof Landhaus Schiffle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hohenems
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“very good hotel, especially for Schubertiade”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A very good hotel, owned and run by a hands-on, hard-working couple who care about their guests. If I had to categorize, I would call it a solid 3-star hotel, but it's more of a country inn and the citified accoutrements of minibar, safe, etc. are simply not what it's about.

On the suggestion of a Tripadvisor reviewer, I booked room 12, which is in the back and, away from street noise, very quiet. The water was hot, with good pressure. Wifi was okay but a bit sluggish. Management (second-generation of ownership!) was warm and professional.

The room had a nice view of the Schlossberg, the huge rock outcropping that glowers over the whole town. Very beautiful, swathed in fog and smoke, even in the rain. Also during the rain it was pleasant being on the room porch, looking at the mountain. I recommend taking a walk on the path at its base, easily reachable from the hotel.

The restaurant is very good. Standouts were the grilled fish, the soups, the game pate and the coffee. Less great were the schnitzel and the salted fish.

The hotel has a special relationship with the fabulous Schubertiade festival, so it is a natural choice if you are attending those concerts, even though the hotel is a 15 minute walk from the town center, most of which is along an unbeautiful highway. I am happy to recommend the Schiffle!

Room Tip: Another vote for room 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    17
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
12
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My wife and I were in Hohenems for three intense days of recording sessions. We wanted a comfortable,small, atmospheric and friendly hotel with a short walk to the concert hall: the record label suggested we stay at the Schiffle and it fit our requirements to perfection. From the friendly greeting - no one beats the Austrians for sheer charm - to the relaxed atmosphere and the surprisingly excellent kitchen. We had a lovely time.

Friendly: The desk wasn't always manned, so we were told how to generate our own codes for the free wireless. Our room was clean and pleasant - the beds perhaps were not the most comfortable I've slept in - but this was not a major deterrent to getting a good night's sleep after a long day's work. Separate toilet and bathroom is always nice to have as well. Our large window looked out toward the mountains and was perhaps more quiet for not being on the roadside. We asked for a room which the wireless internet would reach after reading that some rooms further from the lobby did not get a good signal. Perhaps next time, we will take a room on a higher floor with an even better mountain view and access the internet from the lobby. Breakfast was delicious, with the usual fruits, cheeses, yogurts and breads along with eggs on request. Dinner in the dinning room with game specialties was superb; I was delighted to find Poekl's Rosso e Nero on the wine list along with other fine Austrian wines. All in all, a delightful stay in a delightful village. If you are coming to ski or to hear concerts in the stellar Schubertiade Festival, this could be your first choice for a hotel. Hohenems turns out to be very easy to reach by Zurich - train or taxi.

Room Tip: 12 gets you an excellent internet connection and is on the back side of the hotel, so a bit more qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Finem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vihti, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed in another hotel w/out a restaurant, so walked around the town to find a place to eat.
Schiffle looked very nice, people were nice but professional.
When I came back later, they had interpreted my intention correctly and reserved a table for me (did not ask for one).
The service was near impeccable, again friendly (not overly so), professional and fast enough.
Unfortunately did not get the young girls name, but will remeber her next time when in Hohenems.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kopavogur, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I had a great 3 days at the schiffle. The restaurant offers a great selection of local food. the rooms are clean and comfortable.coming from a non german speaking country (scandinavia) the menu is only in german and the waiter who served me diod not know very much english. he tried to explain for me what it meant but with little results. The meal I ended up having was very good and satisfying. The staff is could not be more helpful.
I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adalsteinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Spent four wonderful nights at the Schiffle. The hotel is a short walk to the center of town. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel's restaurant serves tasty regional cuisine (veal, lamb, etc.) at a reasonable price. Complementary breakfast is varied and satisfying. Staff could not be more helpful, including efforts to deal with Lufthansa after it cancelled my return flight. Reception staff speak English. Owner even drove me to the train station when it was time to leave. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

This hotel is a small (under 50 rooms) family operated hotel in the town of Hohenems, Austria and is within 10 minutes walking distance of the Jewish Museum of Hohenems. The hotel has a very fine restaurant with excellent regional food. This is a good place to stay to explore the region including Lindau, Bregenz, St. Gallen, Felkirke etc. and to hike in the surrounding mountains. The owners and staff speak English and are most accommodating and welcoming.

  • Liked — The charm
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank doublfault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenems
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Panoramahaus Dornbirn
2.4 mi away
Fairmotel Betriebs
Fairmotel Betriebs
#7 of 12 in Dornbirn
47 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hirschen
Hirschen
#1 of 12 in Dornbirn
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel am Garnmarkt
Hotel am Garnmarkt
#1 of 1 in Gotzis
41 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#6 of 12 in Dornbirn
65 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sonne-Garni
Hotel Sonne-Garni
#5 of 12 in Dornbirn
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Landhaus Schiffle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Landhaus Schiffle

Property: Gasthof Landhaus Schiffle
Address: Radetzkystrasse 38, Hohenems 6845, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Hohenems
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hohenems
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Gasthof Landhaus Schiffle Hohenems, Austria - Vorarlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing