We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and relaxing spot with perfect hosts”
Review of Aldeia da Pedralva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aldeia da Pedralva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2011

My wife and I travelled to Pedralva after reading a review in a newspaper. We weren't aware of just how isolated the area is, and just how necessary a car is to get around... fortunately, after laughing at our slight lack of preparation (neither of us can drive so a hire car was out of the question as well) the staff at Aldeia da Pedralva were incredibly helpful at helping us plan our stay

The morning after our arrival we were given a tour of the area including the nearby beaches, and dropped off at a nearby town complete with the phone number of a local, english-speaking taxi driver in our pocket so we could get back easily. Nothing was too much for the staff, and they were so friendly it actually made us feel a little guilty for being so ill prepared.

The village itself is beautiful, incredibly peaceful, hidden away in green countryside and lovingly restored (not at all touristy). The houses are very clean, spacious and have everything you need. The village shop is great for those everyday things like bread, snacks, drinks etc and the pizza restaurant is very handy if you don't want to travel away from the village for something to eat.

The beaches are very close by and we had a great day of surfing lessons after were we personally driven to the school and introduced to the teachers by Antonio.

To top it all off, the village is home to a huge and lovable dog who is even friendlier than the staff!

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Hell, I'd probably live there given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJHinchcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Aldeia da Pedralva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed for a week last summer at Aldeia da Pedralva. The weather was perfect (we were worried it would be too hot in August), the village was welcoming - a lovely hidden away spot in the hills of the western algarve. It has a a very traditional feel and we were lucky to be staying in one of the houses neighbouring two elderly, original residents of the village - a nice change from only meeting other tourists. The owners made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful with our baggage, local area advice, booking trips etc.
Once inside the house it had everything you would need (not a TV if that is high on your list though I think you can rent them). A very comfortable bed and really nice finishings. You can tell they made an effort to source interesting antiques combined with practical modern furnishings.
The local area - mainly the beaches - were a real pleasure to explore, you could stay for a month and try a new one every day I reckon. Great if you like surfing - sometimes the waves were too big for anything else. Perfect for us though with a small toddler - pottering on the beach all day was plenty to amuse him.
If you're on a bit of a budget like we were you can save money buy shopping in the local supermarket - we had a lot of nice beach picnics with portuguese bread rolls and ham + cold beers! For the evening, theres a great cafe/ bar and restaurant close to the reception in the village, plus a packed out pizzeria just opposite. Filipa runs a very handy grocery store in the village too. Plenty on your doorstep! The only thing I would maybe add is a swimming pool for the guests.
A wonderful holiday. We'd love to return. Thank you Antonio and Filipa (and the kids!).
Lucy, Tris and Bailey.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyw720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This place was great, a fantastic old village away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy areas, but still only 10 minutes drive from lots of beaches, towns and other attractions. There is a small shop and a couple of restaurant options in the village, but several other towns and villages are not far away. The village is almost completely free of cars, so the kids could roam around and explore. The village has been restored beautifully, it is a great place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieW074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed here as a result of an article in the papers. We were delighted with out holiday. The owners made us feel very welcome and could not have been more helpful in suggesting trips locally. The house we stayed in was comfortable and it felt as if we were staying in a real village as locals were tending their gardens. The pizzeria in the village is wonderful . A restaurant was just opening too.
The locality was beautiful with a coastline crammed with fantastic beaches. It is not however spoilt as it is in a protected natural park. Inland there are hills and spas. A great place to stay and to tour from - but a car is essential.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Firstly we have been coming to Portugal for the last 10 years, I also speak Portuguese. After reading about Pedralva in various magazines we thought this sounds great we really must experience this. It was rather Like a film set where it was made to look authentic but lacked any substance. Traditional Portuguese villages like Cachopo, Estoi or Alcoutim have variety , chaos, real life and mainly Portuguese people. Here was a scrubbed down floodlit tourist complex. Whilst waiting for an hour for a burnt pizza we didn't hear any Portuguese, the staff were mainly German. It was a far cry from the wild rugged unspoilt beauty of this west coast area. Alot of investment and alot of hype all in all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ronsonjonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuralHotelPedralva, Owner at Aldeia da Pedralva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Hi Mr. Hi Ronson Jonson. Thank you for your opinion, but Imust inform you that you arn´t in our client´s list in 2010. Perhaps you went to the village only to eat a pizza, in fact a kind of food not typical from Portugal (it´s italian food). In a next time, if you can stay with us, please try our restaurant and taste a very nice typical portuguese food. This village was rebuilted after we searched more than 200 owners and heritors. This was the begining of this Unique Touristic Project. Now we are giving a sepcial life to this village, with some artisans ateliers, events.......... and of course, a fantastic comfort in our cottages. We hope to see you soon.
António Ferreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Almeia de Pedralva
Almeia de Pedralva was pretty easy to get to from Faro once we got onto the correct road out of the airport. Approx. 90-120 minutes drive and we were in Vila Do Bispo and then turned towards Aljezur before taking a right turn to the village of Pedralva. We were welcomed by Sonia at reception and showed to our cottage which was called casa do tonel. It was a nice quaint cottage with sufficient amenities to self cater. They were mostly south European families staying in the village with some English families and some couples. While there we basically went to bed earlyish most nights after either eating in local towns or the two restaurants in the village. Both restaurants in the village are excellent but early booking is essential. As the residents of the village and wider locality seem to use the restaurants and bar also. Pedralva was a nice blend of being in a Portugese village atmosphere whilst also having enough privacy and the ability to get a good nights rest should you wish. Everyday we got up and walked all of 30 feet to the local gourmet shop to visit Phillipa! Where we bought lovely local pastries and bread from her and any other items we needed for our breakfast or to make our lunch. There we also got excellent advice as to which beach we should visit based on how windy it was on the day. The wind can be fairly strong in this area of the Algarve and can be a little bit annoying if one is not properly prepared or on certain beaches. We visited almost two beaches a day, one in the morning and then moving to another in the afternoon, every beach was almost more beautiful than the next. Beliche, Zaival, Amado (dangerous riptide on one side of beach!!!!), Cordoama, Castelejo, Martinhal and Tonel and there was still a couple locally we did not have time to visit. For couples it may not be so economic but for families it seems like an excellent choice as it has that blend of being isolated so safe for children to run around and the properties were large enough for large families or groups of friends to stay. Phillipa and Sonia were very nice and welcoming and all the beaches that are mentioned range from being 10-20minutes drive away so was perfect. I believe also that they are planning on building a saltwater pool for everyones use in the village which would be nice. We would consider going back with kids or with a group of friends, but there may be cheaper alternatives locally for couples. However you are unlikely to get the same lovely small village experience in such a good location. Events happen here throughout the year and there was a one day arts and crafts festival while we were there which was great fun.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjjl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

A great location, beautiful traditional houses, lovely staff, interesting approach but... we are still wondering if it's worth the price. We would have at least expected napkins, coffee, internet and other small similar details.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefano90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Bispo
8.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
9.8 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,470 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
5.3 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
134 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Mira Sagres
Hotel Mira Sagres
#1 of 2 in Vila do Bispo
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldeia da Pedralva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldeia da Pedralva

Address: Rua de Baixo, Vila do Bispo 8650-401, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vila do Bispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Vila do Bispo
Price Range: £61 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aldeia da Pedralva 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than an Hotel, a typical village experience. Alojamento, Turismo de Aldeia, Turismo Activo, Restaurante, Centro de Actividades, Aluguer de Bicicletas, Aluguer de Pranchas, Aulas de Surf, Btt, Caminhada, Mergulho, Trilhos de Btt, Trilhos Caminhada, Observacao de aves, Hikking, Trekking, Tourism Village, Hiking Village, Biking Village, Bike Hotel, Surf Village, Birdwatching Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aldeia da Pedralva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldeia Da Pedralva Tourism Village Hotel Vila Do Bispo
Aldeia Da Pedralva Portugal/Algarve - Vila Do Bispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing