We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small village great place”
Review of Aldeia da Pedralva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aldeia da Pedralva
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small village great place”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely place for your holiday. Surf beaches nearby. Good service and great barman Carlos this year. Try his mojito or Sangria! In comparison of last year the restaurant improved the quality good of the dishes. Good to see

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    49
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
46
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stumbled across this village by chance: we'd heard about it, been recommended to visit it but could never find it. To cut a long story short, turn off the 125 at Budens & take the first exit off the little roundabout. After about 1,000 metres, the road runs out & you're left to negotiate a dirt road which, after about two miles, deposits you in Pedralva. We thought we'd taken the wrong road but had been told to persevere no matter what & were rewarded when we turned a corner and there it was ! It's a quaint village that's been beautifully restored. It's got a lovely restaurant, a wonderful bar and a Pizza Restaurant that serves super pizzas on the thinnest, crispiest bases you've ever imagined. Just the way I like them. The place might be a bit too quiet to stay more than a few days but appears to cater for hikers & bicyclers and those seeking a bit of nature and tranquility. I fell in love with the place and will definitely be back for another visit...........this time to eat in the restaurant which has got great write-ups from fellow reviewers. I've attached a few photo's of our journey just to prove we got to the end of the dirt track !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Yes it's a beutiful place and it can be very relaxing and provide a really pleasant stay. But being such as small village may turn it into a nightmare. We've been told about the children running around during the day but we never could guess and be prepared for a group of mature individuals doing a party in the only street of the village, way past midnight in a week day. And after being told to cool it down they simple continued the party, helped by the total inaction of the village staff. Maybe because they've reserved the entire restaurant for that night (with less than half of the tables used by them) or maybe because they're german or russian, could not tell, noisy they were.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank World S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were tipped off to this property by an article in the NYT. We only had a night to stay in Algarve and it wasn't yet beach resort season, so this off-the-beaten-path 'village' seemed like an ideal spot to see something new. And indeed it was. Our cottage was spotless and very tastefully decorated. While the location seemed a bit remote at first, it was perfectly situated for a half day spent at the beach, which was thoughtfully recommended by the staff and just a short drive. The big surprise - the food. Although I had low expectations for the hotel restaurant, our meal was amazing. We would happily return. I'm sorry we didn't have more time to spend. Only one complaint: a weak wifi signal, which was not a hardship.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a rather unusual location for a holiday. Described as a 'forgotten village' Pedralva has been restored and the little houses are now used as a holiday accommodation. The peace and quiet is wonderful and there are many walks straight out from the village plus many other lovely places to visit not far away. The wildflowers in April were fantastic and every morning you wake to the sound of birdsong. The staff are very friendly and welcoming but at times it is a bit chaotic. Mobile and WiFi reception is limited and there is no TV so this can be a real escape.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice though some are bigger than others. Comfortable beds and it is so quiet that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavender20186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I visited Portugal in October 2012 and have been meaning to review Pedralva ever since. We spent 3 nights in one of the villas with a big terrace and BBQ.

We found Pedralva to be amazing for the size of space you get, the quality of the villa inside, and the peace & quiet you get from it being quite remote.

If you aren't driving it would be a problem as its a fair drive from anywhere. There's also minimal services on site but the restaurant is good and you can get some basics from a small store. We're pretty self sufficient and bought groceries from Vila do Bispo back to Pedralva, it worked well for us.

We liked the place so much that I proposed to Caroline here. It's a special place, and we'll definitely be back for another visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuralHotelPedralva, Owner at Aldeia da Pedralva, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
It´s a big pleasure for us to read your coments.
Is becuase of coments like this one that we keep to work harder to give the best to our guests.
We are glad that Pedralva was a so importante place to your future life.
Cheers.
António Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We picked this place based on all the high recommendations on trip advisor but were extremely disappointed by it. The only thing we loved in this place was the restaurant and the great staff at the restaurant. First off we had booked a "room with courtyard" but that is certainly not what we got unless I am misunderstanding the definition of a courtyard! Our room was not too far from the car parking but it was still not close enough to comfortably drag our luggage from the car to the room. I saw a golf cart making rounds of the property, they could atleast offer visitors use of the cart to lug the luggage to/from car! Its not too much to ask and would be extremely convenient. We were travelling with our twin boys and had requested cribs for them. The crib we had was horrible!!! In my opinion that should be dumped and never used by a child again.. it was not even flat in the bottom and looked extremely uncomfortable! The guy at the front desk also wasn't very welcoming in my opinion.
The only silver lining for us was the restaurant on-site. All the staff there (specially Nunu) were extremely pleasant and welcoming, dinners were great. They even came and delivered dinner to our rooms when requested. Overall it wasn't a great experience and we were thankful when we checked out and headed to our next destination which was a beautiful/awesome B&B near Tavira! I will never recommend this to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Bispo
9.8 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
5.3 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
96 reviews
8.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
4.8 mi away
Hotel Mira Sagres
Hotel Mira Sagres
#1 of 2 in Vila do Bispo
83 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldeia da Pedralva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldeia da Pedralva

Property: Aldeia da Pedralva
Address: Rua de Baixo, Vila do Bispo 8650-401, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vila do Bispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Vila do Bispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aldeia da Pedralva 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than an Hotel, a typical village experience. Alojamento, Turismo de Aldeia, Turismo Activo, Restaurante, Centro de Actividades, Aluguer de Bicicletas, Aluguer de Pranchas, Aulas de Surf, Btt, Caminhada, Mergulho, Trilhos de Btt, Trilhos Caminhada, Observacao de aves, Hikking, Trekking, Tourism Village, Hiking Village, Biking Village, Bike Hotel, Surf Village, Birdwatching Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldeia da Pedralva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldeia Da Pedralva Tourism Village Hotel Vila Do Bispo
Aldeia Da Pedralva Portugal/Algarve - Vila Do Bispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing