We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Villereglan
Reviewed 19 February 2008

We stayed in the Orangerie for 4 night in August 2007. The room was beautiful with a bedroom in a gallery and small living room and great bathroom.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely and we were able to sit outside every evening and sip local wine.

It's every bit as good as it looks on the website.

We ate in every night - the food was excellent and the service very good. Breakfast was great too.

The owners make it special. They are so considerate and helpful with suggestions on places to visit, eat and local wines to drink.

It was a wonderful relaxing time and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbyjSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2007

What a truly wonderful stay! Highly professional and friendly service in a superb accommodation discretely placed in a quiet, lovely french village, home of gorgeous champagne that added further charm to our stay. The elegant restoration of the building respected its period fetaures while still highlighting the contemporary taste of modern comodities. We had a fantastic dinner at the chateau's restaurant that was complimented by gorgeous local wine. We so enjoyed our stay that wished we could have stayed longer. We would definitely go back! Strongly recommend the charming chateau. Iris & Richard, London, UK

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank develink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

A superb little find - once I found it! (this was more due to my failure to read the directions properly than any problem with them) The room was fantastic, (Suite du Parc) one of the larger that I have had the pleasure of staying in with a superb bathroom. Pictures on their website if anything do not do the room justice. Dinner was served at 8pm for all the guests with one menu, the meal on both nights was delicious and the
hosptiality shown by your Dutch hosts, Isabella and Michael was superb. Breakfast was equally splendid - all in all a very confortable and tranquil stay

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Clutz7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

also booked this hotel through the comments on tripadvisor. This was the greatest experience we had in a long time. What a lovely night. We just booked this for a one night stopover but when we opened the door we immediately regretted it was only for one night. It was just so nice. The Dutch owners of the hotel are doing there upmost to give you a wonderful time. We booked the smallest room as they said but it was unbelievable huge with a two person shower in it. We also booked dinner and it was lovely, very very good food and a really nice atmosphere. Mischa the owner told us that he wanted to give his guests a night of romance and that is just exactly what it was. Everything was just perfect. Loved it and even my husband said he could not imagine anyone who would not just love it. We would strongly recommend this to anyone. Cannot wait to come back here!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mykingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

What a wonderful, romantic, peaceful place to stay! Isabelle & Mischa have done a great job to restore the the buildings and garden without losing any of the beauty or originality of the chateau. We stayed for a week in l'Orangerie, which is a loft style annexe suite, beautifully fitted out in the old mediterranean style....(with a lovely contemporary ensuite!) and an outside patio area. Isabelle & Mischa are excellent hosts...the food is great, and they are very flexible with any special requirements. It's really nice to combine eating in with eating out for the week, and although there is no pub or restaurant in the village, Limoux is a short drive away with a lovely square for sitting out in the evening and enjoying the atmosphere. The countryside surrounding the chateau, is stunning...and there are lovely walks to explore the area, which they recommended to us. It's also a good base for day trips to the different villages and mountains in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie-elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

This was our second visit to Mischa and Isabelle's beautifully renovated chateau. We stayed for one night last year and knew we had to return so we planned our trip to France this year to include three nights at the Chateau de Villereglan.

On both occasions we stayed in a really tastefully decorated, comfortable room ( a suite this year!) with a great bathroom. Isabelle has a real talent when it comes to decorating the rooms.

Mischa and Isabelle are wonderful hosts, attentive without being intrusive and we enjoyed our chats with them. As we ate in the restaurant we had Mischa's conversation as well as his lovely food!

Our stay took in 14th July and we went to see the firework display at the Cite in Carcassonne. This is not to be missed if you are there at that time.

We also took advantage of Misha's suggestions for trips around the area and enjoyed visiting Lagrasse and Renne le Chateau among other places.

We have told our friends about this gem we have found in the Languedoc region of France and cannot recommend it highly enough.

If you decide to visit, we are sure you will receive as warm a welcome to the chateau as we did and have a lovely time with really lovely, genuine hosts.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenontravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

We stayed at the Chateau for 6 nights on a bed and breakfast basis, dinner was optional, and had dinner on 4 nights.

Our accommodation comprised of a bedroom with large seating area, complete with LCD screen, a separate dressing room and a large en suite shower room.

The suite was beautifully presented, very clean and tidy and was maintained that way throughout.

The garden area was very private and well laid out with a swimming pool, sunbeds, various patio areas, and a selection of seating areas both in and out of shade.

The owners Mischa and Isabel were extremely attentive, but at the same time gave you your own space.

The food was very good, with Mischa catering for ones individual tastes and there was a good selection of local wines, at very reasonable cost.

Away from the Chateau there are some lovely towns, mountain drives, beaches etc and the hosts were only too happy to recommend sites to visit and scenic routes.

As far as I am concerned the Chateau was a perfect way to spend a holiday with good accommodation, good food and drink, good surroudings, excellent hosts and all at a very reasonable price.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank concavious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau de Villereglan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Villereglan

Address: 1 allee du Parc | Saint Martin de Villereglan, 11300 Saint Martin de Villereglan, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Saint Martin de Villereglan
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Martin de Villereglan
Price Range: £136 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you someone who adores variety, appreciates excellence and values service that's truly attentive? Then it's time for you to discover the Chateau de Villereglan. The Chateau's luxuriously appointed accommodation, private setting & extremely high attention to detail provides both the business traveler & vacationer with an experience that's memorable, gracious, gratifying & affordable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing