We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, Peaceful and Romantic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Villereglan
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Stunning, Peaceful and Romantic!

The Chateau is situated in the heart of the sleepy little Village of St Martin de Villereglan - it is a wonderful boutique hotel (only 5-6 rooms), which has been renovated with love and class. When we arrived the owners (Isabelle and Mischa) personally met us and made us feel instantly welcome. They upgraded us into a larger room ...as it was available ....and we sat down to a glass of 'Blanquette'! Our room was spacious, with a huge princess canopied bed. The large shower room contained double sinks and double showers!! We had pre-booked dinner, which was served in the beautiful ornate lounge - the quality of the food / wine and service was superb - to rival any Michelin restaurant!

I have no negative comments and would highly recommend Chateaux de Villereglan to those who appreciate quality and peace - and those who have a romantic streak!

We shall return.
(if my boyfriend is reading this - 'yes' that is a hint!)

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 1beanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Villereglan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2008

We arrived at the carcassonne Airport in the afternoon, the sun was shining nicely and we were ready for a long weekend joy!We were looking forward for nice wining and dining. Enjoying the great french cuisine, beautiful surroundings, the historic town of carcassonne.
Arriving at the chateau, Mischa and Isabelle were there to welcome us in their lovely chateau. We immediately felt like the king and queen arriving at their chateau. All rooms are decorated in style with a specific eye for detail yet in a way it makes you feel like you arrive in your own house. Well at least we wish it was our house. For this weekend, Mischa and Isabelle did everyting to have us live our dream. These people know what hospitality is! Sitting in the sun at the poolside we enjoyed the drinks they served.
After refreshing ourselves (bathrooms are excellent; double showers, clean, plenty of space for 2 persons) we were ready for the highlight of the day. Testing the chef's skills. All organic foods prepared with care. Mischa should have his own restaurant! The food tasted fantastic, together with Isabelle's recommendation for a matching wine, it made dinertime something to look forward to!
In the other days they informed us about the surroundings. What things to visit, where to go for a bite. They absolutely support us to have a memorable weekend!
Thank you for your personal care. We will be back!

Chris and Ilona

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chrisenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We have just returned from a stay at the Chateau de Villereglan. First time we stayed here but will certainly not be the last.
Very friendly welcome from the owners in a wonderfull setting.
You just feel at home at that hotel. It is run like a family pace and I mus admit , I usually stay in business hotels ( 5 star )
The bed is as good as you can get and the bedlinnen used in this hotel is absolutely of the finest quality.

Breakfast and dinner are simple but of high quality and standard.

thanks for the brillant service

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacques001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

The reviews for this luxury chambre d'hotes are fantastic - and justifiably so. Wonderfully relaxing place made extra special by the lovely couple that run the place. Well situated (although a bit difficult to find) with lots of things to do - great biking, wine tasting, beach trips, historical/cultural vists...

High points
- Great dinner
- Lovely ambiance - everyone chats with everyone else - but also very quiet and perfect for catching up on reading
- Very spacious, well-furnished rooms

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petitarcenciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Many of the existing reviews encapsulate the experience of staying at the Chateau perfectly. I’ll seek therefore to only add what made our stay unforgettable. We found the Chateau via its very polished website and booked l’Orangerie suite. Situated across the courtyard from the chateau and furnished in a delightful classic style, it enjoys the best access to the pool and outside seating. However the rooms within the chateau itself had more usable space.

My wife and I spent the second week of our honeymoon here in mid-August 2007, at just the time an unseasonal depression chose to park itself over western Europe as far south as the Pyrenees. Having suffered the wettest July on record back in the UK we had hoped for better conditions in the south of France. As it was, we arrived on a glorious Saturday, departed the following - also glorious – Saturday, yet the weather every day inbetween was gruesome!

However the mark of a true host to the unfortunate traveller, is that they ensure the enjoyment gap vacated by retreating good weather is suitably filled. Our Dutch hosts Isabelle and Mischa did so, and then some.

One particularly overcast day, my wife and I decided to go for a walk around the surrounding countryside and set out in earnest hoping the rain would hold off. About halfway through our journey the heavens opened and we took shelter under a tree. After ten minutes or so we concluded it wasn’t looking likely to stop and resigned ourselves to getting soaked. At which point Mischa pulled up in his car to drive us back! They then lent us their portable DVD player and a selection of films to help put the conditions outside behind us.

The concept of added-value pervades almost every aspect of what they do. The Regency grandeur of the dining room was as magnificent as the food we ate in it (though I suggest venturing out for a broader choice at breakfast). They recommended and made reservations for some delightful nearby restaurants. Their knowledge of the local area is remarkable.

Mischa and Isabelle have ambitious plans for the Chateau, and have invested considerable effort in restoring it. Mischa’s energy and humour is infectious. They are utterly professional and have an instinctive understanding of what it takes to keep their guests (or us at least) more than satisfied.

The chateau can be difficult to find, with confusing signage on the way into the village. I recommend identifying and heading for the next tallest building in town after the church tower.

In summary the Chateau is well worth visiting. Though I would say it’s suited to the more moneyed market. It was perfect for our honeymoon but sadly out of reach as a regular destination. That said, we felt we got every cents’ worth in value.

PS The delay in submitting this review is entirely due to my dilatoriness.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

We stayed in the Orangerie for 4 night in August 2007. The room was beautiful with a bedroom in a gallery and small living room and great bathroom.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely and we were able to sit outside every evening and sip local wine.

It's every bit as good as it looks on the website.

We ate in every night - the food was excellent and the service very good. Breakfast was great too.

The owners make it special. They are so considerate and helpful with suggestions on places to visit, eat and local wines to drink.

It was a wonderful relaxing time and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbyjSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

What a truly wonderful stay! Highly professional and friendly service in a superb accommodation discretely placed in a quiet, lovely french village, home of gorgeous champagne that added further charm to our stay. The elegant restoration of the building respected its period fetaures while still highlighting the contemporary taste of modern comodities. We had a fantastic dinner at the chateau's restaurant that was complimented by gorgeous local wine. We so enjoyed our stay that wished we could have stayed longer. We would definitely go back! Strongly recommend the charming chateau. Iris & Richard, London, UK

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank develink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martin de Villereglan
2.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#25 of 39 in Carcassonne
956 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
#16 of 39 in Carcassonne
476 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Audotel
Audotel
#13 of 39 in Carcassonne
169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montsegur
Hotel Montsegur
#26 of 39 in Carcassonne
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Villereglan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Villereglan

Address: 1 allee du Parc | Saint Martin de Villereglan, 11300 Saint Martin de Villereglan, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Saint Martin de Villereglan
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Martin de Villereglan
Price Range: £136 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you someone who adores variety, appreciates excellence and values service that's truly attentive? Then it's time for you to discover the Chateau de Villereglan. The Chateau's luxuriously appointed accommodation, private setting & extremely high attention to detail provides both the business traveler & vacationer with an experience that's memorable, gracious, gratifying & affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Villereglan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing