We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A ROOM WITH A VIEW” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goldenes Kreuz - Grell

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Goldenes Kreuz - Grell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grein
Brazil
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“A ROOM WITH A VIEW”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Grein is a pretty village on the Danube. Waking up in the morning to watch the beautiful river from your window is an unforgettable experience. We got a large double room at The Goldenes Kreuz with a Danube view for 90E. The room with a private bathroom, had a flat screen TV and good mattresses. They have a covered and locked garage both for bikes and cars. The breakfast buffet had a lot of options and you can even indulge in a glass of Sekt.!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    20
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
4
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have just had 2 nights here in grein. The hotel was very nice my single room good. bathroom. Yes very very small but ok for me only got a small bar of soap on the first night. Dinner. Was very good first night had one of the set dinners. Soup beef and pud all good cooked by Tomas second night had the hot stone rump.
Grein is a nice place on the river took a boat trip round trip 11 euros there a very good cake shop to yum. I will be back

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Arrived soaking wet as a family of 5 after a day of continuous rain on our bike holiday. Immediately told rooms ready and shown to the boiler room to hang up wet clothes and stuff shoes with newspaper.Rooms excellent agree bathrooms small ,spotlessly clean.
Really good evening meal , lovely breakfast room .Grein really interesting with lovely cake shop nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaHelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is full of charm, is in a great position and is run by a nice couple, The husband speaks excellent English. The restaurant is very good, and showcases local produce - when we were there, the asparagus.

Our room was simple and the plumbing a little idiosyncratic, but the ovrall experience was excellent. The provision for bicycles in the old courtyard was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed here for one night on a Danube cycling tour. I have to echo the comments of other reviewers about the small bedrooms and tiny bathrooms.

We found our room quite hot and opening the window exposed us to a lot of traffic noise. Also as its right on the main town square be prepared for hourly chimes from the town clock tower.

There is a nice outdoor seating area in the corner of the town square, good for relaxing and drinks. They have an interior courtyard for dinner. I had the Danube menu which I thought was quite disappointing, but at least the menu included a vegetarian option.

Breakfast was OK, but like a lot of these small hotels you have to be there at the start of service to have any real choice.

In summary a quaint rather dated establishment, saved by the good service of the lady owner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This family run establishment was very welcoming and the husband was a self taught chef who uses local produce whenever he can. Our group of 6 enjoyed the delicious on the terrace and the chef/owner made us feel at home.

The shower in our room was a challenge to get into and out.

Room Tip: If you like old furniture and softer beds this is a great place for you.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeGee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

The hotel is in a great location on the main square and looks beautiful from the outside. Unfortunately our room did not match the outside; it was clean and well kept but was quite small with the bathroom facilities very small and cramped. The beakfast was adequate but no more.

Compared to similar hotels we had stayed on this trip we were expecting more for our money and so we were disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wcroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grein
11.9 mi away
RelaxResort Kothmuehle
RelaxResort Kothmuehle
#1 of 1 in Neuhofen an der Ybbs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Auhmuehle
Hotel Auhmuehle
#2 of 8 in Grein
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Martha Garni
Pension Martha Garni
#1 of 8 in Grein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Landgasthof Zur Traube
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
3.4 mi away
Gasthof Alpenblick
Gasthof Alpenblick
#1 of 1 in Kollmitzberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldenes Kreuz - Grell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldenes Kreuz - Grell

Property: Hotel Goldenes Kreuz - Grell
Address: Stadtplatz 8, Grein 4360, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Grein
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldenes Kreuz - Grell 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Goldenes Kreuz - Grell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing