We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Gasthof Sonne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weyregg am Attersee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gasthof Sonne
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We travelled with Travelsphere. The hotel was immaculately clean and the staff were very pleasant indeed. Breakfasts were good but just a choice of two meals for evenings. The location is perfect right on the lake but unfortunately we were unable to go on the boat trips because of the recent floods.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here as part of a Travelsphere holiday. Good base but very few amenities locally. Very near the lake which will be good for boat trips (they weren't running during our stay as the water levels were too high due to unusually excessive rains). We had a very good size room which was clean and comfortable. Choice of food was limited (two choices for dinner which needed to be decided at breakfast every day) and they do not cater for special diets. Buffet breakfast with good choice of cereals, hams, cheeses and boiled eggs as well as various breads. The dining room is run with usually just one waiter who also works the bar, so getting meals out is done without ceremony and if you haven't finished your previous course then the next will be put in front of you in any case! With around 40 in our party and other guests too the poor lad was rushed off his feet. No safe in room and keys are left behind an unstaffed reception so guests can just help themselves, so presumably can anyone else, so I would not advise leaving any valuables in your room. Wi-Fi did not work and the owner was completely disinterested when I pointed this out on two occasions, he just suggested I use another bar down the road. Not a bad hotel but not one I would use again. Adequate I would say.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed here with my family for a week in June, We were part of a travelsphere coach tour. I shared a room with my sister and we had a twin bed and and also a single in the reasonably sized clean room.
Food was good, buffet breakfast, and a planned evening meal, which you chose at breakfast.
The location was good and you get views of the mountains and lake, the village is mall with not very many amnities but a great base if you are touring.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank sexykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I cannot praise this hotel enough. Myself and 3 friends stayed at the Gasthof Sonne from 20th to 27th June 2012 - we were on a trip with Travelsphere. On first arriving, the first thing you notice are the beautiful flowers on every balcony. The second thing you notice is how clean it is - the rooms are immaculate. We waited with baited breath to see what the food would be like - we needn't have worried - it was absolutely scrumptious!!!!! The location of the hotel was superb - close to the lake and wonderful views of the mountains. The owner, Brigitte was a lovely woman and staff were so helpful. What more can I say - this was perfection! I can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: We had a room at the side of the hotel - although I don't think it matters where you are - there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Sonne is a comfortable family run hotel. The bedrooms are spacious, the bed comfortable . The bathroom is dated but adequate. The is obviously no air conditioning so I assume the rooms could get hot.The staff are all friendly. We stopped as part of a tour so the meals were planned. The food was excellent. We had a choice of two evening meals.The Sonne and the Strand hotel are run by brother and sister and they have a private grassy area by the lake. If you use this area, make sure of the rules.
Wayregge is a small village with very few facilities. Most of the lakeside is private.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HampshireMidlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My friends and I have just returned from a week, which we can only describe as superb! We were with travelshpere. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was spotlessly clean, The rooms are a little dated but the views of the lakes and the mountains make up for that. The food was lovley, we didnt have any meals that we could complain about. The kitchen and dining area were immaculate. Breakfast was continental style, choice of 3 cereals, yogurt. Various breads, meats, cheeses. Home made marmalade, jams etc. Fruit. 3 course evening dinner. Very nice BBQ on our last night with entertainment from local dancers! highly entertaining! Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeltora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

We arrived at Gasthof Sonne without having a reservation close to dinnertime and we were greeted by the staff pleasantly and a room was arranged for us. Room was roomy and clean, slightly dated but who cares, you are not there to slouch in the room! Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, we also had dinner there and everything was excellent. Breakfast was included and was well sufficient. The place is a 5 minute walk from jumping in the lake so the position is excellent! The gasthof seemed to be family run and we liked it. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weyregg am Attersee hotels
0.3 mi away
Strandhotel
Strandhotel
#1 of 3 in Weyregg am Attersee
47 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gasthof Hotel Bramosen
Gasthof Hotel Bramosen
#3 of 3 in Weyregg am Attersee
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension Stallinger
Pension Stallinger
#4 of 14 in Weyregg am Attersee
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Schoeberingerhof Gasthof
Schoeberingerhof Gasthof
#7 of 14 in Weyregg am Attersee
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ferienwohnungen Kern
Ferienwohnungen Kern
#2 of 4 in Weyregg am Attersee
4 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fruhstuckspension Bauernhof Schobringerhof
Fruhstuckspension Bauernhof Scho...
#1 of 4 in Weyregg am Attersee
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Sonne

Address: Weyregger Strasse 60, Weyregg am Attersee 4852, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Weyregg am Attersee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Weyregg am Attersee
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Gasthof Sonne Austria/Weyregg Am Attersee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing