We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in”
Review of Strandhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strandhotel
Reviewed 13 July 2014

went as part of a travelsphere package and found this hotel and its owners to be one of the nicest. the food was really nice as were the rooms (luckily we had one overlooking the lake) location was great (10 mins to the very small village) just a shame that travelsphere will not be using this hotel next year, some misunderstaning with a previous rep??? I would definitely recommend this hotel and thomas works so hard rushing round after everybody. Most people on the tour also commented that it was a great hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking lake attersee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank porkypigCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I together with 2 friends stayed at the Strand Hotel in May 2014 on a Travelsphere tour
We were fortunate to have a room with a balcony overlooking Lake Attersee. The room was fine and spotlessly clean although we found the beds a bit uncomfortable.
Thomas ,the owner works very hard to please his guests and although we had to choose our evening meal main course from a choice of 2 dishes as breakfast the food was OK if not haute cuisine . My wife is vegetarian and Thomas and his wife gave her a different vegetarian dish every evening of our 7 night stay.
Weyregg is a small village with just another 2 inns/cafes to visit in the evening if you didn't want to stay at the Strand.We had good weather during our stay and had a pleasant time walking by the lake in the evenings
I would recommend this a good family run small hotel

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front overlooking the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Like the review by damac5, the week spent at the Strand was not enjoyable. Admittedly the constant rain didn't help but Thomas was unfriendly, unhelpful and critical. The food must have been straight out of the freezer, the lack of choice (soup every night), lack of lounge, anyone to serve tea or coffee on returning from days out and lack of interest by both owners, made this an unenjoyable week. If you didn't get down to the dining room just before it was unlocked at 1855 you couldn't buy a drink until after dinner as Thomas and his partner employ no staff (can they get any?) to serve you. We only found out there is a lounge halfway through the week but access to it is locked until 1900 - dinner time.

One girl's hairdryer started to melt but Thomas insisted there was nothing wrong with it!! Eventually it was replaced without a word. He constantly complained in an aggressive manner to our rep.

The garden was so overgrown and neglected and vines were invading my balcony and partially obscuring the view.

We can only assume Thomas & partner dislike the English as he was actually seen to smile and be nice to the visiting Austrian dance troup.

Why do Travelsphere/Just You keep using this guest house (no way is it a hotel)? Answer..because it's cheap to them but cost us a fortune.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeroniqueUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Just back from a week here and I would rate the experience as one of the poorest in a number of years travelling abroad in a variety of ways. The hotel was clean- the food was generally poor ( straight out of the freezer we thought) the atmosphere was non existent and although the lake views were there the access through the overgrown front garden and steps was awful. Thomas was civil to most of our group but he did clash with one or two - room cleaning was done at 4.45pm one day (strange) Overall very disappointing

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank damac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have just had a fantastic week in Austria, staying at The Strand Hotel Weyregg. This is not our first time here and it was just as good as last time. Thomas has to be the hardest working person I know, and nothing is too much trouble for him. he has a typical Austrian temperment which isn't to everyones liking but he also has a great sense of humour. We had lovely food, clean rooms and the best location in Austria.
Our tour guide was the best ever as was our driver, a great team.
Our fellow travellers were also great, some a lot better than others!!!
It is such a shame that Travelsphere are no longer doing this trip by coach as if like me you don't like flying you are denied seeing this fabulous place.
I have read some of the previous reviews and can only think that the moaners will never be satisfied wherever they stay. No Thomas does not get into conversations with guest and I know this upsets quite a few but he is a very busy man trying to run a very good buisness.

Room Tip: Always try and get a Lake View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Birmanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed a week at the Strand hotel on a Just You holiday and must say enjoyed it.
My room was large and spotless so no complains there. The food for evening meal consisted of two choices and there was always something I liked, also some nice soups as a starter followed by a tasty sweet.
Have read complaints on here about Thomas the owner but from what I saw he was very helpful and polite.
As for the hotel not having a lift, this was advertised before i booked so was aware and Thomas (and Herbert our coach driver) helped those with luggage they couldn't manage.
Its a small family run hotel which I found a delightful change from the usual chain hotels, its in a lovely small village with its own private lawn on the lake shore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank whiteroseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

the hotel location is very nice if only there is no busy road in front of it, specially when you want to admire the view by the lake, have to be very careful when crossing the road. the proprietor thomas, in my personal opinion, he can be very nice but most time he had no time for a chat to his customer. if you are this traveler who like to try every corner of the restaurant everytime you have your meal, forget it, it won't happen! ..menu were ticked in the morning at breakfast so if you change seat at dinner you may not get what you ordered! Food, we found out, well, although it was satisfactory, its just like what you get at home mostly lidl. some people may find it home from home...but i prefer to eat what the locals have on their table.

Room Tip: all rooms had veranda and nice view either garden or the lake, but top floor would be fantastic for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mekeni50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weyregg am Attersee
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aichinger
Hotel Aichinger
#2 of 2 in Nussdorf am Attersee
32 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Seegasthof Stadler
Hotel Seegasthof Stadler
#1 of 3 in Unterach am Attersee
72 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gasthof Hotel Bramosen
Gasthof Hotel Bramosen
#2 of 3 in Weyregg am Attersee
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Landgasthof Ragginger
Hotel & Landgasthof Ragginger
#1 of 2 in Nussdorf am Attersee
56 reviews
4.6 mi away
Attergauhof
Attergauhof
#3 of 6 in Sankt Georgen im Attergau
49 reviews
10.7 mi away
Seehotel Das Traunsee
Seehotel Das Traunsee
#1 of 2 in Traunkirchen
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhotel

Address: Weyregger Strasse 103, Weyregg am Attersee 4852, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Weyregg am Attersee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Weyregg am Attersee
Price Range: £62 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strandhotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Strandhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strandhotel Weyregg Hotel Weyregg Am Attersee
Strandhotel Austria/Weyregg Am Attersee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing