We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suburban box but newness and quality touches make it OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Langford
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This hotel is way out there: just off a highway #1 interchange northwest of the city in Westshore (formerly known as Langford), a suburban sprawl that could be anywhere in North America. The best parts of Victoria – the harbour, Oak Bay, Fairfield, and James Bay -- are at least a 20-minute drive IF there is no rush hour traffic into the city.

However, if your places of interest include sights in the Metchosin/Sooke area, such as Royal Roads University, Hatley Castle, and the Galloping Goose bicycle trail, this hotel is in a convenient location. Bike riders can easily get to the Galloping Goose using the bike lanes on the very new Veteran’s Memorial Parkway that runs nearby.

The hotel itself is a new 4-floor box with parking lots on all sides. Lots of parking lots. The area is dominated by two huge shopping plazas and several big-box stores; Costco is next door. No character whatsoever. But the conveniences in these malls compensates a little for their soullessness: some good coffee shops, a few fast food places, and a high-end chain restaurant.

In the hotel everything is new and of good quality. Our king bed room on the 4th floor had a nice view of the forest and distant mountains. All the fittings were well-chosen and comfortable. The bathroom was particularly nice with its table, towel baskets, and large glass shower stall (no bath). The entry way had a wood floor and a nice long mirror. The air conditioning unit controller was easy to understand and use and the air effective (a nice change from the usual). Wireless internet was fast. Of special note were the refreshingly frank signage and tags around the room, such as (on the water bottle) “It’s water. Of course it’s free.”, (choice of door tags) “No” vs. “Clean”, and (on the toiletries) “These are for you.”

Good accommodation at a mid-range price, which is mid-range by virtue of its distance from everything. If you expect nothing from the immediate area, this hotel may be suited to car-borne visitors and business travellers or those heading west from Victoria. Good for cyclists heading for the Galloping Goose, too.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
2  Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel located about 15 minutes outside of Victoria. It is located directly behind Costco and near shopping. Neither traffic or noise were an issue. The outside of the hotel is very lodge-like. The lobby was small, but nice. Our room smelled great when we walked in. Very warm and inviting. The hard wood flooring at the entrance to our room was a pleasant surprise. The decor was warm and yet modern. There is a restaurant and bar located in the lower level which had good food and a nice selection of beer on tap. Our room was on the 3rd floor, looking out the back of the hotel. The view was amazing.

Our first impressions were all very good. Then we got into the details. The remote for the tv didn't work very well. The small fridge in the room didn't work at all. The curtins were set on the outside of the curtin rod supports so you couldn't close them without lifting the rod out, moving them and then doing the same to the other side. The room had a large, glass shower, but no tub. There was no towel rod to hang wet towels on. The bar and restaurant are open to the public but the elevators to the rooms aren't secure. And there is no breakfast in the mornings.

And then came the whopper. Around 3:00 pm, we called downstairs to let the staff know that the fridge wasn't working and asked that someone come up to fix it or replace it. The room hadn't been cleaned yet either. We returned at 11:00pm to find that somone had placed the swing arm between the door and frame, thereby leaving our door open to anyone who passed by. By some miracle, nothing was stolen.

We reported this twice. No one had us talk to the manager or offered us any compensation for this huge breach of our security. Its one thing when the remote doesn't work. Its another when the staff leaves your room open to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KLEwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for her birthday. I booked it on Aeroplan points so it didn't cost me anything. Hotel was nice and clean and the room was spacious and well-appointed. The only thing I noticed that was off was the hallways seemed a little dated and not as well kept as the rooms and lobby. The hotel is located away from the downtown core, but it was right across the street from where we'd planned to go for dinner anyways. Don't stay here if you have to be downtown early in the morning, as the highway gets backed up due to construction and commuter traffic. Otherwise, it's not bad at all.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuneman1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We spent two nights at this decently priced hotel. The location is just outside of downtown Victoria but is close to many shops, beaches and parks.

Judging from earlier reviews it appears as if the hotel has gone through it's construction growing pains and has settled into the standard expected of a Sheraton. Staff were friendly , the rooms very clean and comfortable and the large fitness facility was great. Check out the native art in the lobby.

The Pub downstairs seems to be a popular local hangout and serves good local brews. The crowd can get pretty boisterous though - so make sure you ask for a room away from the noise.

As for us, we'll be back in the Spring to play some of the well-known nearby golf courses before heading up island.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank switch_vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

I was looking for something close to the hospital that was not in downtown. We were pleasantly suprised to see that this hotel had recently opened. The staff were friendly and seemed excited to be working there. We would stay again. Keep in mind that this hotel is not in downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank snickers98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We were attracted by very reasonable rates and the assurance of a good hotel chain, although acknowledged that this hotel won't win awards for being in an area of natural beauty. It really is adjacent to the Costco car park.

Although we booked to stay at this hotel, this review reflects on our experience in dealing with this hotel. Some time after booking online via the hotels own website, we noticed that they had stopped taking bookings. Concerned as to how this positioned our booking, we contacted them directly to discover that the hotel was to be closed and we were to be relocated to a nearby hotel of the same chain (Bear Mountain Resort).

When we contacted the Bear Mountain resort they acknowledged that guests would be accommodated at the same rate, but had no record of our booking. What followed was a few phone calls between the hotels to get them communicating before our booking was confirmed. I had to eventually suggest that they should talk to each other rather than using me as an intermediary which they subsequently did.

Putting aside the fact that we got a pretty good upgrade for a bargain price and exceptional experience at the Bear Mountain, we thought the way this was handled by the Victoria Gateway Hotel was not professional enough and the outcome could have been far worse.

Firstly, we saw no evidence that the hotel intended to contact us to inform us of the closure and alternative arrangements. While the alternative was an upgrade, it is not a trivial distance away. Guests arriving via cab would not be pleased to have to arrange their own onward transport to the alternative. Also, not all guests would necesarily find the alternative acceptable for their purposes.

So this review is more about the hotel's handling of the situation and apparent lack of communication. The alternative worked well for us but this is not the point. It was a little disappointing that we were not informed and the hotel had to be prompted to honour their obligation to us.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
1  Thank North_Van_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

On the positive side, the room we were given was very nice. Comfortable bed, modern decor, quiet room. The location is about a 10 minute drive from downtown Victoria and they do have some nice shops you could walk to if you did not have a car. Although, getting to the hotel itself would be difficult.
On the negative side. Their website advertises the "Araina spa" I was looking forward to having a treatment there. When we arrived the spa is not anywhere near being completed. I believe their website should reflect this. Secondly, when I went to use the steam room, this too is not working. The sign on the door said, temporarily out of service. Thirdly, we had wanted to watch the movie channel, and once again this was out of service and was not expected to be up and running until 4 days after we left. The staff offer no apologies, no goodwill discount, nothing. Even though the room itself was very nice, I don't believe I would stay there again, simply because the customer service was lacking

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sunwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#44 of 46 in Victoria
837 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,194 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway

Address: 829 McCallum Rd, Langford, British Columbia V9B 6W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Langford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Langford
Price Range: £76 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway offers a great location just off of the Trans Canada Highway, with shopping and recreation nearby. This hotel is near downtown Victoria and Bear Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Victoria Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Victoria Gateway
Four Points By Sheraton Victoria Gateway Hotel Victoria
Four Points Victoria Gateway
Victoria Sheraton
Victoria Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing