We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's there to say...already been said!”

Salty's Fish & Chips
Ranked #9 of 36 Restaurants in Langford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What's there to say...already been said!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Don’t really know what all the hype is about. I totally have to agree with all the nay-sayers about this place. Tried the 2 piece cod and chips while my wife had 1 pc w/chips…and the waiting began. More than 15 minutes passed before we received our order. It wasn’t extremely busy at the time either. Though it was edible, really felt like the fish to chip ratio was a bit on the underside. How much does a potato cost? …must be a lot because we seemed to just get half of that potato made into fries. The fish was good, I give em that…the rest…well….you be the judge, will NOT return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst Fish and Chips ......EVER!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I don;t normally find myself in this position, but needed to pick up fish and chips in Langford BC to bring to a senior .... and they are the only place in town...
Maybe the staff don't know how long to cook the fish... the batter, though thin was slimy and under cooked... the server asked me about tarter sauce said there would be 2 packets with each serving 3 x 2 = 6 When we opened up the order there was 1 packet for 3 of us 1x1 = 1

Wife's stomach was off for a couple of days due to bad fat and slimy batter...

Acting like the only place in town ... they Need competition !! NEVER EVER AGAIN !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We waited an hour for my husband's order, mine came in 30 minutes, my husband never did get his meal. The service was absolutely terrible. I emailed a complaint to the Langford email address and after 2 weeks we still haven't had an apology. Won't be returning and have told everyone I know about the Langford's poor service. We had previously been customers for years - but no more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great Food - Fantastic Service”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We dined here last Tuesday night. It was our first time going out for fish and chips in well over 10 years. We were impressed. The place was crazy busy, but we were able to get a table right away. We both had the 2-piece cod and chips with coleslaw. The batter was light, and wasn't full of grease. The fries were slightly crispy on the outside, and had a great flavour. The coleslaw was pretty good as well. They provided a fairly basic tartar sauce. They didn't provide lemon slices with the meal, although we never asked either. Table was set with ketchup, and both white and malt vinegar. We never eat fried foods and are extremely healthy people, but we quite enjoyed this food and next time we have a craving for fish and chips, this will be the place we go. Staff was crazy busy, but still stayed positive and were more than happy to run and grab extra napkins, tartar sauce, etc. We will recommend Salty's to friends and family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoriatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best fish & chips”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The fish has the best batter nice and light....not heavy and greasy like other places.
The chips are fresh not frozen and it is one of the few place to get sweet potato fries.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salty's Fish & Chips also viewed

Langford, Victoria Capital Regional District
Langford, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Langford, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Langford, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Salty's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing