We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ex Nihilo has some great wines!”
Review of Ex Nihilo Winery

Ex Nihilo Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ex Nihilo has some great wines!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Make sure you drop by this beautiful spot in Lake Country. Do a tasting of their fabulous wines! The friendly staff will tell the lovely story of Ex Nihilo while pouring generous tastings in beautiful glasses. My favorites are the Pinot Gris (fresh and tangy on a hot summer day) and the Night Red blend (rich and heady). A lovely patio to relax on as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    11
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent wines, and Gourmet dinners prepared to your specs!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've visited this area since 1990, and it took neighboring friends to introduce me to this awesome boutique winery! Friends invited me to join their family dinner held at Ex Nihilo Winery. There were approximately 15 of us. We were set up outside, and if it rained, they were prepared to move us indoors. It was so beautiful outside, and luckily it did not rain.

Jeff entertained us with stories of how the winery began, and the endorsement of their ice wine by the Rolling Stones. You'll have to go to hear more.

Dinner was prepared by the Chef/Owner Jeff Kreklau of Roots Grill off Hwy 97 in Winfield, BC not far from the winery. Jeff's prepared an incredible dinner with Salmon and a mustard sauce on top. Jeff made his own mustard at his restaurant from scratch, then used it to make the mustard sauce. One fellow in our group had major allergies to several foods. Jeff worked with his wife to prepare things that he could eat. There were also vegetarians in the group, and Jeff catered to their needs as well. All ingredients used by Jeff were fresh from either their own garden, or local gardens. Dessert was a Blackberry Cobbler with ice cream. The presentation was beautiful. Jeff would have made Chef Ramsay proud! :-)

Dinner is not normally served at the winery, it is something that if you have a group of 6 or more people the owners will arrange for Jeff to cater.

The owners of Ex Nihilo served a different wine and sometimes 2 different wines with each course served, so we could taste several of their wines. There were 4 courses.

At the end of our dinner, we had the chance to purchase some of the wines we tasted during dinner. They were superb, it was difficult to choose.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sailnsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Love the wine!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

4 of us went for a tasting in July. The winery is beautiful! The owners were on site and shared some great stories and wine knowledge with us. The pours were excellent, I love a winery that serves wine in proper glasses and switches them out with your tastings, classy! Lots of great wine, good price points.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BCShel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Husband's Favourite”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband has been raving about this place since he first visited the Okanagan. This was my first trip and I'd have to say that I also found it amazing. The atmosphere and setting are beautiful and the staff member was very knowledgeable and helpful. They have some amazing red wines here and we would strongly recommend a stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank burniebison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Ex Nihilo truly stands out amongst the different wineries I have been fortunate enough to enjoy. I have never been taught or shown the true way of wine tasting and the possible "marriage" wine can have with cheese until their very knowledgable staff took the time to have some fun with us and show us the technique. It has it all! Amazingly delicious wine, a beautiful art filled winery, fun knowledgeable staff and owners that are warm and welcoming. Truly a wonderful experience and will most definitely be back, :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ex Nihilo Winery also viewed

Lake Country, Okanagan Valley
Lake Country, Okanagan Valley
 
Lake Country, Okanagan Valley
Lake Country, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Ex Nihilo Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing