We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay run by very friendly people.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bramley Apple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bramley Apple Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Southwell B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay run by very friendly people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We booked one night here to break up the long return journey from Norfolk and only wish we could have stayed longer. Although there is no private car park we had no problem parking our car on the road outside the pub. Our room was large and spacious with doors that opened out onto a large balcony with a table and chairs where we could sit and enjoy a nice cup of tea. The pub itself is beautifully decorated and we stayed up late chatting to Annette and Phil who really are the perfect hosts and so friendly. The bed is very comfortable and after a good night's sleep we were given a lovely well cooked full english breakfast before having to say a sad farewell to Annette and Phil who were so friendly we felt as if we had known them for years. The location of the pub is also ideal as it is only a couple of minutes stroll to the minster and also to the shops and market and Phil was telling us that he is going to be arranging trips for the Southwell races where you will stay at the hotel and he will provide tickets and also transport to and from the racecourse and this is something we would very much like to do in the future.

Room Tip: Large room at the back with balcony is lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    19
    5
    1
    11
See reviews for
20
43
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed at the Bramley Apple to attend the Gate to Southwell Folk Festival. The quality of the accommodation and food and the genuine freindliness and helpfulness of the owners made my stay an unforgettable experience. The location is great - close to the centre of Southwell and within easy reach of all the attractions. The room was well furnished with some tasteful touches and the meals were of a very high standard. The owners could not have done more to make my stay enjoyable. They made me feel as though I was a very welcome guest in their own home but respected my privacy. There is no on site parking but there are nearby local streets where you can park for free or a car park where a fee has to be paid. I can't wait for my next visit.

Room Tip: One of the rooms at the back of the inn has a lovely terrace with French windows from the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were at a wedding and only need accomodation for 1 night, we had booked 3 rooms for the family and the rooms were absolutely lovely. They were spacious and nicely furnished. Our family room was on the back of the pub with a lovely view of gardens and the famous Bramley Apple Tree. We had a patio area with table and chairs outside of our patio door. The ensuite was immaculate. The other families rooms were on the front, again the rooms were lovely, the only problem being the noise from the main road outside. The staff were most welcoming and obliging. The cereal and cooked breakfast in the morning was delicious, with plenty of toast and tea refills! The owner even gave us a lift back to the wedding reception to fetch our cars. Lovely place and very friendly, shame we were only there for 1 night.

Room Tip: Family room at the back has a lovely patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahstreetteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

My neice and I attended a family wedding in Southwell and stayed at the Bramley Apple Inn. We loved it. We had a room that had a little terrace off of it and that was very nice. The bed and the futon my neice slept on were both comfortable. The bathroom was small but adequate. Phil is very friendly and he was our connection with all things English. Very nice man. Annette was very friendly as well and her cooking was amazing. I would recommend this place to anyone. It's close to everything and we just loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed one night at the Bramley Apple Inn while we attended a friend's wedding.

We stayed in room 3 which looked out over the front of the property. The room was very clean, nicely decorated with a small modern bathroom with a great shower. The breakfast was superb. The best part of the stay was the friendly owners and their family, they are obviously very proud of their lovely Inn and sought to make us as welcome as possible. We were grateful for the free lift to collect our car in the morning - an unexpected and most welcome additional service. Our only regret was not spending more time at the Inn itself, we would have loved to have a few drinks at the bar and tried their food, sadly not enough time. There was a little bit of traffic noise, but we did have our window open due to the warm weather and it did not affect our fantastic night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCrebbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Arrived 2 hours before our check in time and room was ready so no problem with us having the room straight away. The room was very clean, as was the rest of the pub/inn. All the staff were very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome, particularly the proprietors who always had time to chat to you. We had our evening meal there and was great value for money and the breakfast was superb. We will definitely go back and intend to take some friends there to sample the Sunday carvery lunch.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MammaMia19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwell
0.3 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
6.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
5.5 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bramley Apple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bramley Apple Inn

Property: The Bramley Apple Inn
Address: 51 Church Street, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Southwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently reopened and under new management, The Bramley Apple is a beautiful recently refurbished traditional pub in the heart of historic Southwell, serving the local community with a fantastic selection of Springhead beers and guest ales from other top breweries from across the UK, as well as real ciders, fine wines, and a few of the usual favourites. We also have four lovely B&B rooms available, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bramley Apple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bramley Apple Hotel Southwell
The Bramley Apple Inn Southwell, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing