We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bramley Apple Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Southwell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our second visit to the Bramley Apple, again staying overnight for a local 2 day event. The hosts have changed since last year, but were just as welcoming, helpful & friendly. In fact, a handshake over the bar on arrival does make you feel like a guest, not just a customer.

All the positive features still apply, clean, comfortable, excellent range of local real ales (plus ciders for those who prefer it) and a good range of bar meals has replaced the previous tapas menu. Ours was good value, piping hot, well-presented and tasty.

Although we had the same room as last year, we did find the mattress a bit soft and squashy, but this is a matter of personal preference, and probably our backs are the problem!? The room itself is great (room 4) with a sun terrace and chairs, overlooking the quaint row of cottages next door. Despite the lack of a car park, we still managed to park outside without difficulty.

Fully recommended.

Room Tip: Room 4 has patio windows and a sun terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingdubyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed overnight here for a friends wedding. checked in early so my husband and i could get ready. lovely couple. rooms very clean comfortable and spacious. were asked what time and what we would like for breakfast. the breakfast was fantastic. a lovely friendly bed and breakfast would use again and 100% recommend

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is a really nice pub run by very pleasant couple.....the food is good value,the place is spotless,the beer is brilliant (all local real ales),breakfast good......if you're staying in Southwell give this place a try;you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed here as had a wedding at Norwood Park, which was close and easily reached by taxi (make sure to order taxi early as there is only one service in Southwell and you may get stranded at your venue!). The room and bed were very comfortable, a little plain in the decorating, but it was very clean and tidy. Even though we were right on the road, we didn't get disturbed by traffic noise. The breakfast was great and we were even catered for as vegetarians. Only one small thing was that I would have liked a choice of wholemeal bread and not white. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this place to anyone who wanted a night in Southwell - we would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed over for a wedding and I could not recommend this place any higher! Staff are warm and welcoming, accommodation is spot on and the beers & ciders are poured to perfection! Would visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorlixdotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Jim's welcome was spot on friendly and genuine without being over the top. The pub had a welcoming friendly feel and after being shown around we were left to our own devices - perfect. The room had obviously been recently redecorated and was clean bright airy and uncluttered. The bed was very comfortable. We had planned to go out in the evening but ended up having such a nice time in the bar that we stayed and had a good meal and enjoyed the excitement of the darts match!!!! We felt very welcome and at home we were sorry we were only able to stay for one night - would have loved to stay longer. Breakfast was fantastic - one of the best we've had - tasty produce and beautifully cooked. If there was one down side it was that the road was a bit noisy early in the morning, as we are not used to traffic noise it did wake me up, but not my other half he did not notice!!!! and it would certainly not put me off staying again. The Bramley is just a few minutes walk from the Minster and the high street shops so a great location. Thanks Jim we had a wonderful escape and would love to come again sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in room 3. The bed was ok, not the comfiest ever, but that would be the only very minor down side. The staff were all really helpful, friendly, cheerful and went way beyond good customer service to make our stay exactly what we needed. The food is great (cereal and full cooked breakfast are included and available till 10pm) the checkout time was really flexible so we could enjoy the area for longer, and anything we needed was done quickly and with a smile.

Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrDorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwell
0.3 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
373 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
355 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reindeer Inn
The Reindeer Inn
#3 of 8 in Southwell
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Southwell
The Crown Hotel Southwell
#4 of 8 in Southwell
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bramley Apple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bramley Apple Inn

Address: 51 Church Street, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Southwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Southwell
Price Range: £61 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently reopened and under new management, The Bramley Apple is a beautiful recently refurbished traditional pub in the heart of historic Southwell, serving the local community with a fantastic selection of Springhead beers and guest ales from other top breweries from across the UK, as well as real ciders, fine wines, and a few of the usual favourites. We also have four lovely B&B rooms available, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bramley Apple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bramley Apple Hotel Southwell
The Bramley Apple Inn Southwell, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing