We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Southwell
Ranked #2 of 8 Southwell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed here while on business in the area. The staff were brilliant, really looked after me and my guide dog. Comfortable room, great breakfast, lovely people. Well worth a visit, would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sara1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Downstairs it's a great pub with really friendly and helpful staff. Upstairs could do with a little more attention. Clearly, the staff have tried - the room was spotless, towels laid out, plump pillows and inviting decor. Sadly, the bed was uncomfortable, and the windows stuck shut. The bathroom smelled a bit of mildew, but the water was lovely and hot. I was on the top floor so didn't hear too much of the wedding disco (terrible music by the way - not what I'd have chosen for my wedding!). Fantastic breakfast cooked to order. Very reasonable price, but a new mattress wouldn't go amiss!

Room Tip: Try to get en suite or go to the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katebrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Looks nice from the outside, but within it's uninspired and very chain-pub feely. Food quality is fairly run-of-the-mill. The service was friendly, and the menu was unexciting but decent value. We had a burger and a Sunday roast -- portion size for the latter was particularly epic

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bazyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Generally ok with friendly service, clean spacious room and good shower. A few issues - non-functioning TV, windows painted shut and no toiletries but overall reasonable at the price. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Get one on the second floor to avoid noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icemandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

The staff at the Crown are excellent, very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. This was highlighted by one particular member of staff who despite being off duty was extremely attentive and saw to all my needs! Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Shevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

1st time visit here..... nice bar area.....had super lunch here very good value and food very good
..staff very helpful try it ....both myself and my wife enjoyed...followed by a trip round the
minster.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

we stayed at the crown as we were attending a wedding at the Norwood and as soon as we entered the crown we were made welcome. the owners are friendly and nothing is to much trouble. This was proved when the taxi firm that we had booked had problems and couldn't pick us up John the landlord borrowed a car and took us himself which in my book is above and beyond his duty. The rooms are wll set out and clean and even though we were directly above the bar we didn't hear any noise. the break fast was well cooked and presented and the landlady (who's name i forgot to find out sorry!!!!) served us with a positively cheerful persona. I personally would stay here again and would recommend The Crown to any body who needs a hotel in the area .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BIGPAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwell
0 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
381 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
361 reviews
14.6 mi away
Travelodge Grantham A1
Travelodge Grantham A1
#4 of 7 in Grantham
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reindeer Inn
The Reindeer Inn
#4 of 8 in Southwell
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bramley Apple Inn
The Bramley Apple Inn
#7 of 8 in Southwell
102 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Staunton Arms
The Staunton Arms
#1 of 1 in Staunton in the Vale
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Southwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Southwell

Address: 11 Market Place, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Southwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Southwell
Price Range: £44 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel Southwell 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Crown Hotel Southwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwell Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing