We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant little B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reindeer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Reindeer Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Southwell B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant little B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after being recommended by someone from Southwell and couldn't fault it. Rama (the landlord) was very nice and served up one of the nicest curries I've had! Rooms clean and good price, will definitely be staying here on my next visit!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rama N, Owner at The Reindeer Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks very much for your review. Hope we will see you in near future:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    24
    5
    9
    14
See reviews for
31
37
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I went to a friends wedding in Southwell last month & stayed at The Reindeer - I chose this place for 2 reasons, one because it was near to the wedding venue & two, because of the price! I didn't want to spend a lot of money as I wasn't going to be in the room for long! From doing my research, The Reindeer was by far the cheapest place to stay in Southwell.
I was greeted by the landlord who was extremely welcoming & he showed me to my room. The room was just what I wanted - clean, fresh & nicely decorated. I left my bags & headed off to the wedding. When I returned back to my room after the wedding, there was no issues getting back late etc. The next morning I got up & had my breakfast (yes, it was inside the pub but this did not matter at all - don't all pub b&b's serve breakfast in the pub?! Not sure why this was an issue for a previous customer!) the breakfast was delicious - just what I needed after a night on the booze!!
I would also like to mention that I was speaking to some of the "locals" while I was at the wedding & I mentioned where I was staying - they all said to me how fantastic the curry is at The Reindeer - unfortunately I didn't get to try is as it was home time for me but from what they were saying it sounds like I could be coming back for a tasting session!!
I really cannot understand the negative reviews previously posted which is why I felt the need to write this. I couldn't fault the pub or the landlord (and rest of the staff!!) I don't really know what people expect for £50 per night in an expensive little village??!!
If you are thinking of visiting Southwell then please pay the Reindeer a visit, ignore the negative reviews. I will be returning on my next visit!! Thank you!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ninajo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rama N, Owner at The Reindeer Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks very much for your review. Nice to hear all these compliments. Hope we will see you in near future:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here on a recent trip home to visit friends and family from overseas.

A traditional pub in the heart of a traditional market town, you get exactly what you would want & expect. The pub is lovely - with a real open fire, clean and a great supply of beers and drinks! The room was very comfortable and clean (as was the bathroom). The breakfast was lovely and Rama and his team could not have been more accommodating. If there are any requests you have, if you let Rama know asap, he will do his very best and go out of his way to make sure they are met - always with a smile!

Located within a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Southwell you are ideally situated as well. Compared with other hotels/B&B's in and around the area it is excellent value for money.

I can & will highly recommend The Reindeer to anyone I know travelling through the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rama N, Owner at The Reindeer Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks very much for your review. Hope we will see you in near future:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here for one night as we were going to a wedding nearby. The people are nice enough but the rooms and the breakfasts are terrible. The worst I’ve ever been to. Our room was tiny, damp and smelt of onions (probably from the kitchen below). Our breakfast (served in the main pub area) was the worst I've ever had. The cheapest white sliced thin bread with cheap margarine and beans with a fried egg.

If it was a cheap place then I wouldn’t mind but it cost us over £50! If you’re just desperate for a room to sleep in then it’s fine and the people are perfectly nice.

But if you want a nice clean decent room with a nice breakfast then don’t go here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzyop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I booked this hotel through a hotel booking website and didn't read the reviews. On that level I only have myself to blame. My room smelt of cat blankets and fish paste.

The manager was helpful to his credit but the whole place needed a deep clean and freshen up. The wifi didn't work and the state of the shower and toilet were beyond words.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBandmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Reindeer Inn on our way North. It was a traditional pub and despite not having a car park we managed to park outside the pub. Our room was clean and bright with en suite and two windows. The pub did not offer food so we went out for Sunday Lunch where there were two or three good choices. Southwell was a lovely village with a very impressive cathedral and a nice selection of shops.

Room Tip: Go for the en suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rama N, Manager at The Reindeer Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks very much for staying with us and for your kind review. Hope we will see you in near future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury,Lancs.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Overnight stay on business. The boss - Rama made me feel welcome and provided a reasonably sized room with a double bed and ensuite. Keeps a few real ales very well,especiaaly the John Smiths Cask. No food served during the week, but good choice of restaurants closeby. A hearty cooked breakfast set me up for the day

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rama N, Owner at The Reindeer Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for your review. We will try our best to improve and next time you will feel more comfortable:-) Thanks very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwell
0.2 mi away
Saracens Head Hotel
Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
5.9 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bramley Apple Inn
The Bramley Apple Inn
#7 of 9 in Southwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reindeer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reindeer Inn

Property: The Reindeer Inn
Address: 26 Westgate, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Southwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As well as the normal pub activities the Reindeer offers Bed and Breakfast with 4 rooms and a function room. The Reindeer is a family-run guest house located in the heart of Southwell, Nottinghamshire, just next door to famous Minsters Church.We have been offering our guests comfortable, well-appointed accommodation for over many years. We offer clean, warm, stylish bedrooms, a great choice of breakfast's at affordable prices, here in the heart of Southwell.Each room has a choice of quality tea and coffee, yummy biscuits, bath and hand towels with toiletries, and good quality bed linen.We have double, twin and family rooms, all with wall mounted flat screen TV's with multiple channels. All rooms have their own hair driers and wash basin with mirrors, and for those travelling from abroad we have plug adapters.With only 4 B&B rooms we aim to provide the personal touch that all our guests love.We also have a wonderful minsters lounge Bar with an original Victorian fireplace which adds to the warmth of The Reindeer Inn that everyone seem to notice...Wi-Fi is available throughout the building with no extra cost.Accompanying our rooms, we offer a range of services and facilities for our guests. Free Wi-Fi Access available throughout (including bedrooms). Friendly dogs are welcome free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Reindeer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reindeer Inn Southwell, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing