We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in the country”

Hollybeck Nurseries
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Southwell
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem in the country”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We visited the nurseries on recommendations from a neighbour , it is a must on any keen gardens list. Very friendly staff and a range of affordable plants and sundries for everyone! O and the Afternoon Tea is just lovely....we sat in the sun and enjoyed every bit of it! We will definitely be back for more plants and advice and of course an Afternoon Tea! :-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    23
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden Centre”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Beautiful surroundings. Reasonable priced. Friendly and helpful staff. Tea rooms lovely if a little expensive

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 145Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Shame about the tables”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Unable to comment about the garden centre as I'm not a gardener but the food in the cafe is superb and the staff are exceptionally pleasant and obliging.

Unfortunately, the single tables are too close to each other. Its like sharing a table with strangers.

Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was told about this nursery from my brother in law after he came to visit and was looking at the plants on my patio, I had never heard of it even though it's not that far away but needless to say I would be happy to go there whatever the distance,it has the best variety of plants I have ever seen each plant ranging from small to large ,there is a most wonderful tea shop that does tafternoon teas we didn't have one of these but saw many who did and we will definitely be going back to have one ,we did have a drink and a beautiful piece of homemade cake ,it not as huge as the big garden centres but does have a bigger variety of plants, it is a lovely place to visit can't wait to go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshrie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very inviting”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Once again we have visited Hollybeck Nurseries, this time we only had coffee after plant shopping, this time we took our little grandaughter (5) . We purchased our coffee and drink for the little one and sat outside. One of the staff came out specially to ask we the little one wanted to colour, on saying yes she produced a colouring sheet and crayons.
The cakes are amazing, the food excellent and the staff couldnt be more welcoming. A fantastic place if you want a good breakfast or just a coffee.
A must to visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hollybeck Nurseries also viewed

Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to Hollybeck Nurseries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing