We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Historical Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southwell
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Historical Accomodation”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Solid, historical accommodation in the heart of Southwell. Stayed here for a wedding nearby. Rooms are functional, and what I would expect for the price. Clean, nice décor, good digital TV in rooms. Hotel, including bar, is a product of its age. It seeps out in every old beam and the cosy atmosphere. However, first night, we stayed in a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the road. A little pokey, faded wallpaper, and no complimentary water, tea coffee etc. In the morning, discovered that hot water in the shower did not work due to no pressure. Moved to a slightly larger room at back of hotel in more recent addition. Given two singles as opposed to a double, shower pressure not great, but this time worked. Staff were happy to help, and required little promoting. No compensation or complimentary offer was made however. Overall happy with hotel for price paid, although would definitely ask to check out the shower before selecting a room again.

Room Tip: Ask to check out the shower before selecting a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvear24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    149
    55
    35
    17
See reviews for
69
186
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were in Southwell for a bit of shopping, and stopped for a light lunch at the Saracens Head. Lovely atmosphere inside the bar and snug area, with an open fire. Staff were non existent, but so were other customers, so we waited a while but were duly attended to. The lunch time menu offered was a bit basic, but one of the items on the list was a 'pie of the day' What was it we wondered ? I will ask the chef came the reply from barman. It happened to be a individual pork and mushroom pie, that we were advised was made on the premises. We (3) all choose the pie and were offered a range of vegetables and different types of potatoes. I can only say that the pie was absolutely excellent. Lovely balance of meat and gravy, delicious mushrooms and the herbs used really came through. If ever you stop at this hotel for lunch, have the 'pie of the day' ....you will not regret it !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed for one night on business on my own in a twin room. Facilities in the room were adequate at best, with tea and coffee making items, but no tray or biscuits, and no bottled water. There was no reading material in the room, and the card folder of hotel information was worn with the sheets inside tatty. Bed was comfortable, but didn't look too inviting as the bottom sheet actually looked as it ad been slept in. Bathroom was clean, but dilapidated in parts. Restaurant food was OK at best, with weak coffee. Breakfast was the usual full English, but arrived while I was still eating fruit...and left on the table despite my clearly not being ready for it. Overall, an adequate stay in a comfortable and historically interesting hotel, and if I had to stay again I would...just.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianWWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Returning to where I had grown up I wanted to stay at the Saracen's Head if only for its historical links and its central location. It is seconds from other lovely pubs and cafes, minutes from the Minster, and so a great location to explore this extraordinary city-village. The car parking almost requires you to have been before (seek out the Methodist Church and avoid Sacrista Prepend car park) but is worth the effort - a ticket from reception ensures a free use. The rooms at the back of the hotel are business class (perfectly adequate but could be in a motel by a bypass) and breakfast was quick and just what I needed to start the day. I will return with my better half when the weather is less trying.

Room Tip: If on your own and you don't fancy eating alone in the restaurant there are a wide range of pubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordSteve49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Booked an overnight stay October 2013 with wife and upgraded to a 4 poster room.

After a bit of a struggle finding the carpark we checked in. Staff were friendly and first impressions were of an old England coaching inn with a lot of character. Our room was lovely, clean and spacious with loads of character. There was a free standing cast iron bath which looked great but turned out totally impractical to shower in as the circular shower curtain didn't offer much room, clung as you showered, and left me feeling like I had just showered in a plastic bag.

Spent the afternoon taking photos of the lovely village and magnificent Minster before heading for our evening meal.

There is a nice little bar which is heated to a temperature approaching boiling point.

The dining room was spacious with plenty of staff. Service was good. Our meal was great apart from me having to send my steak back to be cooked. Chefs - when your customers order well done steaks it's cos they don't want bloody food on their plates. You may have been trained on what a steak should be like but I am the customer and want it well done. That means cooked through. Not just here but 3 out of my last 4 steaks have been sent back to be cooked through.

We had a good nights sleep and went down to breakfast. Again good service but both cooked breakfasts were sent back as the wrong items were on the wrong plates. When we eventually got our correct meals they were good.

Overall a very nice hotel, lots of character, friendly staff but a couple of niggling issues in the kitchen. I would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie999_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice and comfortable room with a very historical feel if you like history.

No lifts and no Wi-Fi in the room. Reception was very friendly. Breakfast was average but not busy around 7 am.

It was an enjoyable night's stay but don't expect frills - just soak in the history (where King's Charles I has his last day of freedom before his surrender to the Scottish Commission.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The welcome was lousy, the wifi connection was "temporarily" not working, the windows are so in need of refurbishing that chilly drafts made us company the whole night, the bathtub is cramped and slippery and finally at the checkout a never-heard-in-the-UK commission of £2.50 was charged for paying with a credit card. This appears to be one of the best hotels of the area but probably it's only resting on its past laurels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lilandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwell
6.2 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
347 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
#1 of 1 in North Muskham
143 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracens Head Hotel

Property: Saracens Head Hotel
Address: Market Place | Southwell, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Southwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saracens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Southwell, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing