We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude owner!! awfull food!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saracens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southwell
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude owner!! awfull food!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Last April we held a Golden Wedding celebration at this holel for my in-laws, it has always been a favourite of theirs, on the day the food was disgusting and the service was poor, because of the occassion I did not complain but I wrote the next day.

I received a very polite and apologetic letter from the Head Cheff inviting us back for a meal on the establishment so giving benefit of doubt we booked again to celebrate my father in law's birthday this year only to be told that the Head Chef was a drunk and that he had no right to make the offer and NO! it wouldn't be honoured!

I spoke to the owner who put the phone down on me and was extremely rude.

We live in the area and I have frequented the Saracens for over 40 years, in the past it has been held in high regard and was somewhere "special" to go, with this latest debacle I have read what other people have complained about and I have to say that all of the complaints listed "terrible" are a true reflection of the establishment today. I also notice that someone has compared it to The George in Stamford, what an insult to The George! It's not in the same league!!

I won't be back! I suggest you don't waste your money

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tomtr250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    140
    52
    32
    16
See reviews for
61
178
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

After checking in we had a wonderful meal in the main resturant. Late at night we realsied that the staff had left the music on in the lounge which was directly underneath our room. the music was so loud that we couldn't sleep when we attended reception to complain we found that there was noone on duty. We had to put up with the music till 4 am where we rerturned to recption and after a while of search amanged to turn the music off ourseveles. When we spoke to the manager the following morning he became rude and aggressive.

Room Tip: chose one of the cheaper rooms ta the back away from the noisey road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fishgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I found all the staff to be extremely friendly, approachable and efficient. Our room (14) was lovely. Creaky floorboards added charm! Amazing breakfasts and though arrived late on Friday we were still able to have a delicious hot meal. So thank you everyone. Love the clocks too!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I grew up in Southwell and this was a family reunion. For most of us it has been 30 years since spending any amount of time in this special town and its iconic coaching inn/hotel. I used to see it as a peer to the highly regarded George at Stamford.

As such, we remember it being a 4* hotel which was the historic heart of the town along with the Minster. The public rooms still have that air of a smart hotel/restaurant and the decor is comfortable and relaxed.. The restaurant food was good and bar food acceptable. Very quiet though when we were there - strange for the New Year period and was at odds with our recollection of it being the social hub of the town.

Rooms in the older area were good - a little creaky in decor etc but charming and spacious for a 3*. The rooms in the "new" '70's wing are in need of refurbishment as furnishings, carpet and bathroom are at the lower end of the 3* scale. Quiet and spacious though.

Service was also mixed - some people were helpful and charming, others less so which is a shame as they were not at all busy.

Talking to local friends, this much loved hotel/restaurant is under new ownership and is making good moves forward. I wish them well and hope it continues the move back to former glory.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farnham_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We recently spent a relaxed and 'classy' weekend at this place. We took the King Charles Suite for a night and were very impressed with the accommodation, food, service and general ambiance that together made it a memorable 'getaway' for us.
The room was all we expected with a comfortable four poster, 16th century wall painting and a very nice en suite; we dined well to the sound of a baby grand in a very intimate atmosphere - despite the size of the dining room - and were very politely served throughout our stay by all the staff members we met. The hotel is very old and consequently not as well insulated against sound as modern buildings so we did hear some background noise at night but this is a very small niggle compared to the overall pleasure we had from our stay and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joncook834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Solid, historical accommodation in the heart of Southwell. Stayed here for a wedding nearby. Rooms are functional, and what I would expect for the price. Clean, nice décor, good digital TV in rooms. Hotel, including bar, is a product of its age. It seeps out in every old beam and the cosy atmosphere. However, first night, we stayed in a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the road. A little pokey, faded wallpaper, and no complimentary water, tea coffee etc. In the morning, discovered that hot water in the shower did not work due to no pressure. Moved to a slightly larger room at back of hotel in more recent addition. Given two singles as opposed to a double, shower pressure not great, but this time worked. Staff were happy to help, and required little promoting. No compensation or complimentary offer was made however. Overall happy with hotel for price paid, although would definitely ask to check out the shower before selecting a room again.

Room Tip: Ask to check out the shower before selecting a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvear24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were in Southwell for a bit of shopping, and stopped for a light lunch at the Saracens Head. Lovely atmosphere inside the bar and snug area, with an open fire. Staff were non existent, but so were other customers, so we waited a while but were duly attended to. The lunch time menu offered was a bit basic, but one of the items on the list was a 'pie of the day' What was it we wondered ? I will ask the chef came the reply from barman. It happened to be a individual pork and mushroom pie, that we were advised was made on the premises. We (3) all choose the pie and were offered a range of vegetables and different types of potatoes. I can only say that the pie was absolutely excellent. Lovely balance of meat and gravy, delicious mushrooms and the herbs used really came through. If ever you stop at this hotel for lunch, have the 'pie of the day' ....you will not regret it !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwell
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
5.8 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracens Head Hotel

Property: Saracens Head Hotel
Address: Market Place | Southwell, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Southwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Saracens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Southwell, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing