We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional bed and breakfast”
Review of Moorland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mawgan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorland House
Ranked #3 of 3 St. Mawgan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Thank you Andy and Helen for a most enjoyable 5 night stay.
We arrived late Friday evening to be greeted by Andy, shown to our lovely room
with the added bonus of under floor heating.
Helen your daily supply of home made flapjacks were greatly received, as you could
tell by the empty container everyday.
The attention to detail in the rooms and dining area - the soft music playing quietly in the
background whilst enjoying a great breakfast, and the fish swimming around in the under
floor fish tank sooooo relaxing.
We agree with everything previously written (except the stronger coffee comment).
Anybody looking for a fantastic B & B need look no further.
We will be back.
Thank you both once again
Sharon and Steve Dunster

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed at this lovely B&B with my boyfriend for two nights at the end of Septemebr.

We had both had a long and stressful week and on arriving at Moorland House (late!) in Friday night, were warmly welcomed and very much made to feel at home.

The room (downstairs) was spotless, beautifully rpesented and full of lovely modern gadgets - such as underfloor heating, sensored lighting etc.

Fresh milk and home made flap jacks were provided daily, and the room was cleaned and freshened each day - new towels etc.

Our room had a little DVD player and a selection of films, and Andy recommended a great walk to Watergate Bay for us.

We were eating at 15 on the Saturday evening and without being asked Andy arranged a local taxi frim to pick us up and bring us back which was fantastic.

Breakfast was wonderful and the setting was beautiful.

Andy was an attentive but not pushy host - always around if you needed him but without being intrusive.

The only slightly negative comment I would make is that if you sleep downstairs, the room leads on to the conservatory where breakfast is served. As a positive - this means you have beautiful views of the gardens, but if you are a late sleeper, you coudl get woken by other guests having their breakfast. However, this didnt make the stay any less enjoyable, and I think we only noticed it as we are more used to stying in hotels than B&B's. If you think this could bother you - request the upstairs room.

Overall this place over exceeded my expectations for value, hospitality and location and without hesitaition I would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, and were well taken care of by our hostess. Room was great, not the usual chintzy/Laura Ashley style but modern and light, which was refreshing. Very nice garden.
Breakfast was OK, though being Swedes we prefer much stronger coffee :-)
Went to Fifteen one evening, and our hostess arranged a local taxi return-trip for us which was a big help.

Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0ll0x2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2-night stay at Moorland House and now feel completely relaxed!
The B&B is gorgeous and set in beautiful landscapes gardens. We stayed in the double room which is connected to the lovely conservatory area and the fish tank set in the floor!! :)
The room was extremely comfortable and had everything you needed and more! A lovely touch was the helium balloon for my boyfriends 30th birthday which H and Andy arranged.
Breakfast each day was very nice and we had a choice of continental and cooked all of which was made to order.
St Mawgan is a beautiful village in a perfect location to explore Cornwall.
We will definitely be going back in the future and look forward to having some more happy times in Cornwall.
A big thank you to H and Andy!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

One of the nicest B&B's we stayed in in Cornwall. The rooms are luxurious, immaculately clean, tastefully decorated. Not flashy but with nice and thoughtful touches. The owners H and Andy are a great couple, extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, the nicest we had in cornwall. The village is quaint with a lovely local shop and pub and not much else. We loved it, highly recommended.

Room Tip: One of the rooms faces onto the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at Moorland House 1st - 3rd June 2012. It was perfection the Bedrooms and Facilities were 1st class, Breakfasts were excellent, and the special little extra touches of homemade treats left in your room every day to enjoy with a cup of tea, coffee or hot chocolate were just Yummy!. They have thought of everything...The setting of the village and Moorland House is just picture perfect. I had my elderly parents with me and they fell in love with the place. Andy and Helen have worked very hard to make their B&B home a haven of rest and tranquility and it has paid off. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Touring around is easy and the people are warm and friendly. I would go back at the drop of a hat. I wish Helen & Andy many years of success in their little piece of heaven. Thanks again for a wonderful time Kathy & Alan Briggs from N.Ireland .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Relaxation was the order of the day and we were offered this in plenty. The accommodation was exquisite, with comfortable and clean rooms. The lounge area had plenty of comfortable seating, a television and radio for your entertainment and the delightful scene over the gardens from within the room. Of course the fish tank, sunken in the floor added to a relaxing environment. The bedroom had plenty of wardrobe and draw space and the fresh and clean King sized bed was really comfortable, resulting in the best night’s sleep. Breakfast provided an excellent start to the day and anything you could possibly want or need was supplied. Helen and Andy are delightful hosts who provided everything we could have hoped for. Homemade treats were left in our room on a daily basis. St. Mawgan is a lovely little village with easy access to both country and costal walks for you to enjoy. A regular bus service is available if you would like to travel further afield without taking your car. We really didn’t want this holiday to end.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mawgan
1.9 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trevarrian Lodge
Trevarrian Lodge
#3 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Smugglers Inn
The Smugglers Inn
#1 of 1 in Carloggas
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
458 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kernow Trek Lodge
Kernow Trek Lodge
#4 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
180 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Merrymoor Inn
The Merrymoor Inn
#2 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland House

Address: Moorland House Rectory Lane, St. Mawgan TR8 4EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St. Mawgan
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mawgan
Price Range: £75 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury self contained eco friendly B and B situated in the heart of the conservation area of St. Mawgan. The deluxe rooms feature egyptian cotton bedding, flat screen TV underfloor heating, homemade biscuits and fresh milk. Breakfasts are served in the guest lounge and feature local produce and eggs from our own chickens. Close to Fifteen at Watergate Bay, Padstow and Newquay. Centrally situated for exploring. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorland House St. Mawgan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing