We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!”
Review of Moorland House

Moorland House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mawgan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorland House
Ranked #3 of 3 St. Mawgan B&B and Inns
Livingston, West Lothian
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We loved this B&B. It was recommended by friends which is usally a good start. Not the easiest place to find, we approached it past the Falcon Inn and turing left at the Village shop - you come to a ford which we looked at and decided not to try it (we used it regularly during our stay, it just looked a bit daunting at first sight!) - you can get to it from the top road too if you don't want to use the ford.

The B&B itself is beautiful. The owners, Andy and "H" have added an extension on to the back of a converted barn. The extension is lovely, it's got underfloor heating in each of the rooms and bathrooms. We stayed in the twin room which is upstairs with its own entrance. You have to go outside to go into the sun room for breakfast but that's no big deal. The sun room is lovely and is there for use by both the rooms (the other room is a double and is entered through the sun room. The sun room has a fish tank sunk into the floor which is lit at night - beautiful.

We were greeted with coffee and homemade flapjacks which were delicious and the flapjacks were also available in the rooms every day which was a nice touch.

Be warned there is no wifi or mobile signal in the hotel so do your research before you get there - or alternatively ask Andy who is a font of local knowledge and will make suggestions for you as to where to go and where to eat. He'll also make reservations if needed too (many restaurants, the good ones anyway, tend to get very busy so best to book if you can). Andy recommended the St Kew Inn when we were up at Tintagel, lovely restaurant, very busy and a bit difficult to find but worth it!

The room we were in was spotless and a very good size. We had a shower room with a lovely big shower.

The B&B is very rural but is well placed to explore. The village inn and shop are a very short stroll away and the shop has a tea room at the back (took them about an hour to serve us two lattes so be warned!).

Would definetely recommend this and would definetely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
saintfield northern ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely B@B. Andy and "H" were very helpful and made us feel most welcome. The setting is great, in a small village with pub serving homely cooked food. The little church had a flower festival on which we went along to.
Very central for visiting many parts of Cornwall. Although our weather wasnt great we made the most of it and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for peace and quiet, good breakfasts and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAMILYSAINTFIELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Lizard
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Having booked early to go to the Michael Caines evening at fifteen Cornwall, we hadn't really considered the pro's & con's of a glass of wine to accompany each (of 6) courses. A last minute plan to stay overnight meant that we both got to go all out... only where to stay? Fortunately for us the bedruthan steps & watergate bay hotel were full otherwise we would never have found this little gem of a B&B. perfectly turned out, clean, friendly & a taxi booked for us too. A pre-prandial G&T (on the house) was the perfect start to our evening. Add to that a very obliging 7am breakfast and we could not fault teh Moorlands B&B - would definatly recommend to anyone on a early fligt out of Newquay or just looking for some where lovely out of the hustle & bustle that is Newquay. Nice One Moorlands (and it's very eco friendly too)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We've just returned from a lovely relaxing 2 nights at Moorland House; great quiet location in St Mawgan, close to Watergate Bay. The accomodation is fabulous, Andy & H very welcoming, great breakfasts! Would definately recommend this Bed & Breakfast - it's the best one we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandATravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed here to be close to restaurant fifteen so location was important but we didn't expect our accommodation to be so special too! Our hosts welcomed us like old friends so we settled into our living room straight away with a wee drink while watching the fish tank (which was set into the living room floor!) Our room was fresh and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast overlooking the beautiful garden. The B&B is in a lovely village 5 mins walk from the local pub. Its not easy to find so stop at the post office to ask for directions (you drive through a fjord to get to the private road). The postmaster makes the marmalade you have at breakfast - V tasty!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0_Kaz_n_Gaz_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic couple of nights staying here. The room was delightful and the extra space to sit in the evening was an added bonus. Andy and H were superb hosts and couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect. The homecooked breakfast ,including eggs from their own hens, was delicious and set us up briliiantly for the day.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strahern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Beautiful B&B, brilliant breakfast and excellent service. Lovely quiet, location close to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmksomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mawgan
1.9 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
3.5 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Merrymoor Inn
The Merrymoor Inn
#2 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland House

Property: Moorland House
Address: Moorland House Rectory Lane, St. Mawgan TR8 4EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St. Mawgan
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mawgan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury self contained eco friendly B and B situated in the heart of the conservation area of St. Mawgan. The deluxe rooms feature egyptian cotton bedding, flat screen TV underfloor heating, homemade biscuits and fresh milk. Breakfasts are served in the guest lounge and feature local produce and eggs from our own chickens. Close to Fifteen at Watergate Bay, Padstow and Newquay. Centrally situated for exploring. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorland House St. Mawgan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing