We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our visit to Moorland House”
Review of Moorland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mawgan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorland House
Ranked #3 of 3 St. Mawgan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I came across Moorland House by accident really when doing a general search for B&B's in Cornwall, it instantly caught my eye. On arrival, it was exactly as the website, even better in fact. Andy & Helen made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and all throughout our stay, we even extended our trip and stayed another night. The rooms are lovely, immaculately looked after, breakfast was homemade including the cereals and everything was very healthy and tasty too.

Andy gave us some great advice on where to go and how to make the most of our visits which made our trip to Cornwall extra special as we discovered places that we would never have found on our own.

The village was very picturesque and away from the hustle and bustle of the main towns, the pub was literally a two minute walk from the B&B and very welcoming with excellent food. All the main attractions and places to visit were also very easily accessible to Moorland House.

It was my first trip to Cornwall, my husband has been several times before, Andy and Helen made the trip extra special and we will be going back, just hope they are not booked! A second wedding anniversary that we will cherish forever.

Thanks Andy and Helen you made us feel more like guests than paying customers.

Liza & Sanjay - Kent

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leese14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2010

This is truly a fantastic bed and breakfast in a great location. The house is absolutely gorgeous. The main double room has an ensuite and patio doors that lead on to a sun room where breakfast is served. This room also has comfy sofas, a 2nd TV and a fantastic view of the garden where you'll spot chickens and pheasants wandering around. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, comfortable and contemporary. It's more like staying in your own luxury apartment than in a bed and breakfast. The owner Andy is fantastic and we were very well looked after. He offered us tips and advice to ensure we made the most of our stay in Cornwall. Moorland House is in a fantastic location. Situated in the lovely little village of St Mawgan, it's beautiful and seems somewhat secluded, yet is only a few minutes drive from Watergate Bay and Newquay. We were very happy to use it as a base and managed to get to St Ives, Falmouth and Lands' End whilst we were there. There's a local pub and village store just a short stroll away. Breakfast is delicious. Served at a time convenient to you, there's plenty on offer. From Granola to a full-English, all tastes are catered for. I particularly recommend the scrambled eggs (courtesy of the chickens in the garden) and smoked salmon served on a bagel with home-made blue cheese sauce. It was always a welcome treat to come home from a hard days of sightseeing to find some freshly baked flapjacks waiting for us in our room. Moorland House is truly five star and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Absolutely wonderful. absoluely "WOW" factor. didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grasslees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed at this superb B&B in September as our niece was married in the local church. I cannot improve on all of the previous recommendations everything about the Moorland House is excellent. Add to that the fabulous village, Roger’s local shop,
the tea room, the Falcon Inn with excellent food and beer and peace and quiet what more could you wish for – the house opposite if I could afford it!! Thank you Andy & Helen it was a pleasure staying “with” you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed at Moorland House early August for a weeks break before moving onto St Ives for our second week. What a super place. We arrived just after mid-day to refreshments and homemade shorbread. We booked both rooms as we are a family of four. Our two children are 11 & 8. We had a fabulous time, very relaxing and Andy and H are such lovely people, well you just have to see for yourselves!
The weather most of the week was glorious and the days it wasn't didn't stop us doing anything. Although the b&b is in a little village and you wouldn't know it was there, you are still only 20 minutes away from Padstow, Newquay. I was so happy that we hadn't booked to stay in Padstow as it was so busy, we were glad to go back to the b&b and sit outside with a glass of wine, away from the hussle and bustle.
Food was superb, anything you wanted for breakfast, lots of selection.
Our children just loved the chickens, eggs freshly laid every morning. The bedrooms and ensuite are lovely and very spacious. We would love to go back and pay them another visit, we had such a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We loved this B&B. It was recommended by friends which is usally a good start. Not the easiest place to find, we approached it past the Falcon Inn and turing left at the Village shop - you come to a ford which we looked at and decided not to try it (we used it regularly during our stay, it just looked a bit daunting at first sight!) - you can get to it from the top road too if you don't want to use the ford.

The B&B itself is beautiful. The owners, Andy and "H" have added an extension on to the back of a converted barn. The extension is lovely, it's got underfloor heating in each of the rooms and bathrooms. We stayed in the twin room which is upstairs with its own entrance. You have to go outside to go into the sun room for breakfast but that's no big deal. The sun room is lovely and is there for use by both the rooms (the other room is a double and is entered through the sun room. The sun room has a fish tank sunk into the floor which is lit at night - beautiful.

We were greeted with coffee and homemade flapjacks which were delicious and the flapjacks were also available in the rooms every day which was a nice touch.

Be warned there is no wifi or mobile signal in the hotel so do your research before you get there - or alternatively ask Andy who is a font of local knowledge and will make suggestions for you as to where to go and where to eat. He'll also make reservations if needed too (many restaurants, the good ones anyway, tend to get very busy so best to book if you can). Andy recommended the St Kew Inn when we were up at Tintagel, lovely restaurant, very busy and a bit difficult to find but worth it!

The room we were in was spotless and a very good size. We had a shower room with a lovely big shower.

The B&B is very rural but is well placed to explore. The village inn and shop are a very short stroll away and the shop has a tea room at the back (took them about an hour to serve us two lattes so be warned!).

Would definetely recommend this and would definetely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely B@B. Andy and "H" were very helpful and made us feel most welcome. The setting is great, in a small village with pub serving homely cooked food. The little church had a flower festival on which we went along to.
Very central for visiting many parts of Cornwall. Although our weather wasnt great we made the most of it and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for peace and quiet, good breakfasts and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAMILYSAINTFIELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Moorland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland House

Address: Moorland House Rectory Lane, St. Mawgan TR8 4EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St. Mawgan
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mawgan
Price Range: £75 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury self contained eco friendly B and B situated in the heart of the conservation area of St. Mawgan. The deluxe rooms feature egyptian cotton bedding, flat screen TV underfloor heating, homemade biscuits and fresh milk. Breakfasts are served in the guest lounge and feature local produce and eggs from our own chickens. Close to Fifteen at Watergate Bay, Padstow and Newquay. Centrally situated for exploring. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorland House St. Mawgan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing