We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peacefull and relaxing”
Review of Retorrick Mill

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Mawgan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Retorrick Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. Mawgan
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Peacefull and relaxing”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This place is lovely. Its in the middle of nowhere, yet 15 mins walk to the sea / village and 15 mins drive into Newquay - should you fancy a bit of madness! You can camp, stay in a chalet or in a wonderful farm house or cottage. We stayed in a chalet which had everything you needed, and even though it was new year they were lovely and warm. Wilf (Chris) the owner is the most welcoming person ever. He runs his own bar which is perfect for friends and getting to know the others staying on the site. If you want to get away from it all this place is a little piece of heaven for a relaxing weekend. However remember you are in the country side, so don't forget your wellies with the British weather.

Room Tip: Save up your empty egg boxes to take with you for the owner, and you might get half a dozen lovely f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 40scouple14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Totally wonderfull. we were given directions and the owners were more than happy for us to arive very late. we were also given handy hints as to the easyest ways to the beach ect.

the location is beautiful, the site is small and low key. the facilities are basic but that adds to the charm. the farm is abundent with lovely animals.

the surounding area is lovley for walks and the site is a 15 min drive from newquay. we meet a stag group whilst we stayed so groups are welcome. i cant think of a bad word to say 10 out of 10 x

really wondeful

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathrynwillcocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This place is a little piece of magic! It really does offer something for everyone, whether it be with family or friends.
There is a great mix of accommodation ranging from cottages and chalets to camping.
Chris (Wilf) the host makes you feel extremely welcome there is a stream running through and amazing wildlife, which coupled with a cosy and atmospheric bar is a great location for your holiday.
Mawgan Porth beach is only a short walk away and has a fantastic surf school (King Surf) which is run by a great team who also go out of their way to ensure you get the best of experiences.

Thoroughly recommended and each time I go it just gets better!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosiethehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

ive been here about 5 times now and each time it just gets better:)
-perfect for everyone reaaly! theres pigs, sheep and chickens wich you can see and a nice walk too espesialy with the beach and small village just 15 minutes walk away.
theres a bar too with good music and drinks:)
theres always a friendly atmostphere too wich makes it even better:D
i definutly hope to go there again and im sure i will enjoy it just as much as last time, if not more, i would definutly recomend it:) x

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nayjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We camped at Retorrick Mill for four nights during July/August. The site has a fantastic location and is within easy walking distance of Mawgan Porth beach. The toilet and shower facilities are basic but adequate and a little way away from the camping field. The biggest pluses to the site are the warm welcome from the owner, the wonderful bar with a roaring log burner (great for many a nightcap!). We were also lucky enough to spend a wonderful Saturday night listening to a brass band and enjoying a great party atmosphere around the campfire.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chantillylace_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Stayed during December, not the best weather, but an absolutely brilliant time was had by all, Chris, proprieter, must be the most welcoming host i have ever encountered. Accomadation great, atmoshphere superb wether you want a "lively" drink with music around the log burner in the Stable bar, or to just relax beside the stream with a book sitting on the bench strategically placed to do just that, Paradise found, well done Chris, will definately return soon....joneshead

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joneshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We have just came back from holidays in Cornwall, UK. It was wonderful. We have stayed in Retorrick Mill, 15 min walk from Mawgan Porth beach. Retorrick Mill is a small holiday spot, with two cottages to rent, few self-contained chalets and a camping ground. It is hidden in a little, picturesque valley, and as I said walking distance to the ocean. Ideal place for holidays and short breaks.

http://www.retorrickmill.co.uk/

Helpful?
1 Thank evonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mawgan
1.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
8.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retorrick Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retorrick Mill

Property: Retorrick Mill
Address: St. Mawgan TR8 4BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St. Mawgan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. Mawgan
Number of rooms: 265
Also Known As:
Retorrick Mill St. Mawgan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing