We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First place we stopped after our 7 hour drive!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falcon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mawgan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Falcon Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 St. Mawgan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First place we stopped after our 7 hour drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We've visited the area before and discovered this lovely pub. GReat friendly service and after a long journey, waiting to get on our campsite, we had only one place in mind to go for lunch. We were not disappointed. We were welcomed by the friendly staff and the food was excellent value and good quality. It has a lovely beer garden and a pretty court yard area with flowers and lovely rustic tables.
Highly recommend for a peaceful, quaint village setting with lovely food and great staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    18
    10
    12
    4
See reviews for
37
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

After researching lots of places to eat in and around Newquay, we chose here due to the reviews, but we were left feeling disappointed. The only member of staff who made us feel welcome was apparently new. The only people who appeared to receive a welcome reception were the locals. The restaurant was virtually empty when we arrived about 6pm and when we asked for a table for 3 we were told that we could have a table in in the main part if we finished before 7.30 or could sit in the pub. Meal selections for our 12 yr old were limited so she ended up choosing from the childrens menu which was sufficient. I chose chicken in taragon sauce and was surprised to find that the chicken was the leg and thigh, deep fried and was too tough for either my teeth or knife to get through. There was barely any sauce either so I ended up leaving it. Being typically british, I am not in the habit of complaining, but when the plates were collected I did mention my disappointment. The response I got was "I will mention it to the chef". No further response or apology was offered. I know the standard of the lasagne on the table next to ours was equally low. We felt no need to outstay our welcome and were finished and paid by 7pm. The bill came to £42.50 for 2 mains & 1 childs, and 1 drink each. Had the food or welcome been better we would have had at least a 2nd drink, dessert or coffees and spent a good part of the evening there. We may have caught them on an off day but I honestly felt they couldn't care less about out opinion, presumably as we were just visitors and unlikely to return. We are most definitely going to return to the area, and most definitely choose somewhere else to eat next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theCornix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I spent a short business stay at the hotel but would certainly return for a short break given the chance. The Falcon Inn is a pub with a few rooms, located in St Mawgan, about 5mins from Newquay Airport and 10-15mins drive to the sea. The Village is very quant although I had no time to explore. The room had ensuite (small with shower), double bed, TV with freeview satelitte channels, tea/coffee making, free wifi, all nicely furnished. Very comfortable and just as good as any 4 Star hotel. The Pub downstairs was lovely and the food was varied and good value. I also had a full english breakfast which was made to order.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We went here based on the reviews. It was ok - but thats as far as it goes. If your used to eating food from a Little Chef then you'll think this place the Savoy. For us it was overpriced plastic. Not one piece of cuttlery on the table matched and if they dont care here it probably tells you they dont care elsewhere and thus it showed in the quality of the food.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank k20jmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you are staying in Newquay or the surrounding area, this pub is a must-visit! It is a very quaint little place and is the definition of an ‘English pub’.

The staff are extremely friendly and made a real fuss of our 1 year old daughter. They were also very accommodating of her and provided a high-chair as well as interacting with her – this made our lives much easier!

The food was great – huge portions and very well cooked and presented. There is also a good selection of Cornish real ale which is always most welcome!

I will definitely be re-visiting this pub next time I go to Newquay and would have no issues in highly recommending it.

Please get in touch if you want more information.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hols_and_Meals_Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Hospitable staff, a comfortable room, a good breakfast, plenty of parking space and a good bar. Looking forward to another stay in winter, for the huge open fire.

Room Tip: Front left corner - tiny bathroom but soft bed and so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morganise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were staying in Mawgan Porth over the Jubilee weekend and while exploring the area we came across the Falcon inn in St Mawgan. The village is a typical Pretty English Village located very close to Newquay airport.
We visited the pub 3 times over the weekend, the first 2 visits were just for drinks and then the third we decided to eat as the food coming out the kitchen looked delicious. The pub and restaurant were quite busy but luckily we booked in as they were turning people away. The restaurant had about 8-10 tables and 2 waiters, we were promptly seated and then left unattended for half an hour which was very dissappointing. The older gentlemen waiter (who seated us) seemed to be more interested in a party of 10 which were due to arrive and there was also an over booking situation which made for a stressful atmosphere, the young girl waitress seemed to be working hard on her tables but we were left without menus which was very frustrating. Once we aired our complaints (unfortunately the young girl was on the receiving end for the male waiters bad service) after this she looked after us very well. Once the food was ordered it came out in good time and was delicious. We had the Garlic mushrooms & Whitbait for starters, both were delicious and freshly cooked. For mains we had the Chicken supreme and Steak and Kidney Pie, again both were home cooked, fresh and extremely delcious.
The food isn't the cheapest but it's all home cooked and the setting is wonderful, so it's definately worth the money. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ll_crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mawgan
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrymoor Inn
The Merrymoor Inn
#2 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Smugglers Inn
The Smugglers Inn
#1 of 1 in Carloggas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Inn

Property: Falcon Inn
Address: St Mawgan, St. Mawgan TR8 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St. Mawgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mawgan
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcon Inn is a traditional 16th Century freehouse Inn and it is a "proper" pub. There is a warm, welcoming atmosphere when you arrive and we have a selection of real ales available together with a large selection of wines and whiskies. Our food is home-made from locally sourced produce and we believe you get value for your money. If you stay at The Falcon Inn we have 3 en-suite rooms all with free wi-fi and usual facilities that are required for a AA 4 star rated Inn. We would hope that you would like to come and visit us as well as stay with ourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falcon Inn St. Mawgan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing