We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer and Cold Feet!”
Review of Falcon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mawgan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Falcon Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 St. Mawgan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Cold Feet!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Staying in St. Mawgan over the weekend of 14/15 Sept we enjoyed snack lunch and good beer at a very sunny Falcon Inn at lunchtime on Saturday We returned at the end of the evening to sample some more good beer. And enjoy Cold Feet playing in the pub garden. they were terrific covering Fleetwood Mac, the Doobie Bros and other great favourites. Apparently they will feature at the St Mawgan steam rally next weekend. Great stuff! Shame we won't be there but if we were in the area we would know where to drink and hear good live music!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CirenPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    22
    12
    12
    5
See reviews for
41
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in early September. Excellent rooms , very clean , modern in style with very nice clean bathroom with shower which was spotless. Free wi - fi which worked well but no mobile phone signal ( a blessing to some ) .
Situated within the very quant village with a lovely off road walk to the beach along a public footpath ( take a torch at night ) approx 1 mile with a tea room about half way for a nice cuppa.
Food was excellent and a good range of beers, ciders and wine. Large garden which I imagine gets very busy in high season but it looked very nice and extremely well kept.
All in all a very nice stay but you'll need to get lucky as there are only three rooms.
Almost forgot to mention that the full Cornish breakfast was probably the best one we have had this year during our extensive travels and equals the best ever. Cant get better than that then ! We can thoroughly recommend The Falcon and its friendly staff. We'll never get a room now as it will be full all the time !
Thanks to all at The Falcon.
Martin & Mary Iles

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zygnema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Have visited The Falcon a number of times, with family and friends, and have never been disappointed. There is always a warm welcome, even when busy during the summer months, the menu is varied and very tasty, and there is always a great selection of good ales. With the change to being a Free House last year the beers are varied, but usually from the South West. Can heartily recommend this pub, in this beautiful village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xnij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

St Mawgan is just the most peaceful little village hidden away from the mainstream tourist areas of Cornwall. The Falcon Inn is the hub of the village and just perfect. We have just spent 3 nights there and wished we could have stayed for longer. David and Sarah made us so welcome and their staff were second to none - kind, caring and fun. Our room was excellent as was the food. Their mussels are the best in the West Country if not in the whole of the UK. It was a return visit after 23 years and we cannot wait to get back. Thank you David and Sarah for your kindness and love to Irish Al! M & C x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pserimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Set in a small village, this is a quaint traditional old pub, plenty of parking, friendly and helpful staff, good service with a smile, enjoyable food at reasonable prices, really nice relaxed garden, dog friendly,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We visited with family whilst staying in Mawgan Porth. Food was lovely. Great childrens menu and they can also choose some meals from the adults menu. Lovely garden. It was a lovely walk from our campsite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Have visited in the past and have had good food but tonight was dsappointing. Had the fish and chips. The fish was overcooked and the chips were frozen oven chips. It was very busy in the pub and restaurant and the lady serving seemed a little stressed and short with customers unless they were locals.
A lovely location pity about the service and the food. On the plus side the beer was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard_barker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mawgan
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,187 reviews
3.3 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
136 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Smugglers Inn
The Smugglers Inn
#1 of 1 in Carloggas
89 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trevarrian Lodge
Trevarrian Lodge
#4 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Inn

Property: Falcon Inn
Address: St Mawgan, St. Mawgan TR8 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St. Mawgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mawgan
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcon Inn is a traditional 16th Century freehouse Inn and it is a "proper" pub. There is a warm, welcoming atmosphere when you arrive and we have a selection of real ales available together with a large selection of wines and whiskies. Our food is home-made from locally sourced produce and we believe you get value for your money. If you stay at The Falcon Inn we have 3 en-suite rooms all with free wi-fi and usual facilities that are required for a AA 4 star rated Inn. We would hope that you would like to come and visit us as well as stay with ourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falcon Inn St. Mawgan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing