We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem of a pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Falcon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mawgan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Falcon Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 St. Mawgan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little gem of a pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We went to St Mawgan to visit the Japanese Gardens and came across this Gem of a country pub. We returned later that evening to enjoy a superb evening meal. The food was excellent, service was second to non, nothing was too much trouble as we had our little Grandson in tow, very child friendly. The price for our party of 8 was good value for money. Would visit again on our next visit to Cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberdenisea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    18
    10
    12
    4
See reviews for
38
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Ate here on a busy Saturday night without a reservation and some big groups already seated. Because of this we were expecting a delay but this was kept to a minimum and the food was excellent and equally so when we returned a few days later.Obviously frequented by a lot of local people which is a good sign. I was strangely surprised however when I heard one customer ask the welcoming landord "Have you ever had a real job ?". He must have been making it look to easy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great meal ! Our group consisted of six adults and five children and every single one of our meals was great. Fairly priced, but fantastic quality. Would highly recommend. Lovely village location too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We have visited this delightful village pub many times and I am pleased to say our visit this week was again top class
Superb attentive service and great quality food The seafood linguine absolutely delicious. The restaurant area is light and well decorated and the Bar area supports a great village pub feel and all for such reasonable prices . The garden is beautiful and so well tended by its owners. Great local brews and attentive staff make this a jewel find in such a picturesque village as St Mawgan

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnno663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This small pub set in a lovely old English village complete with Church is a credit to the area. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The cost of the meal was reasonable. The food on offer albeit limited in choice is of a very high standard. I would call on this little old English Pub again if I am ever over in little Old England again. Oh one other thing the airport with direct links to London is just 1.5 miles away.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewerUSAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is our second visit this year and the food was just as good the second time. Arrived on a wet and windy Sunday eve and had sirloin steak which was cooked exactly as I had ordered it. Very tasty. Nice choice of specials as well. The frangipani tart was lovey but I bet it would have been even nicer warmed up! Pub tucked away in a very pretty hamlet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 447lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week in the village of St Mawgan - if you haven't been before, would highly recommend it. The Falcon Inn is such a warm welcoming local/restaurant, and we made to feel so welcome from our first visit. The bar staff and restaurant staff were very helpful, even sorting out the best place for us to get corning pasties to take home with us! Excellent beers - my husband tried most of them - if not all of them. Food was excellent too, especially the crab and peanut cakes. Will hopefully be back to sample more delights!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braveheart08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mawgan
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Merrymoor Inn
The Merrymoor Inn
#2 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Smugglers Inn
The Smugglers Inn
#1 of 1 in Carloggas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Inn

Property: Falcon Inn
Address: St Mawgan, St. Mawgan TR8 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St. Mawgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mawgan
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcon Inn is a traditional 16th Century freehouse Inn and it is a "proper" pub. There is a warm, welcoming atmosphere when you arrive and we have a selection of real ales available together with a large selection of wines and whiskies. Our food is home-made from locally sourced produce and we believe you get value for your money. If you stay at The Falcon Inn we have 3 en-suite rooms all with free wi-fi and usual facilities that are required for a AA 4 star rated Inn. We would hope that you would like to come and visit us as well as stay with ourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falcon Inn St. Mawgan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing